January 22 Exodus 3-5; Luke 22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Dialogues With God | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Then God told him, “I will be with you. And this will serve as proof that I have sent you:  when you have brought the Israelites out of Egypt, you will return here to worship God at this very mountain.”  Exodus 3:12  (NLT)

So Moses went back to the Lord and protested, “Why have you mistreated your own people like this, Lord?  Why did you send me? Since I gave Pharaoh your message, he has been even more brutal to your people.  You have not even begun to rescue them!”   Exodus 5:22,23 (NLT)

O~ In these verses I see: 1. God gave Moses a promise and proof, but I like how the proof happens after Moses would follow through.  It shows me that the way to hang on to your promises is faith and hopeful expectation, and also that if you said it will happen, then it will happen!  2. Hard times came before the promise took place and it is easy to lose sight of the promise, but I think it is cool that Moses had this dialogue with God, he brought his doubts and questions to you, God.

A~ I need to have my dialogue of doubts and questions with God, not with myself and make other conclusions.  I need to look at promises with faith and hope lenses.  Continue to stay hopeful and wait on God to fulfill his promises.  ❤

P~ Dear Father, you are there, you love me!  Help me to turn these monologues to dialogues with you.  I trust you.

God is Concerned About Me | Kelley Deases

S~ And when they heard that the Lord was concerned about them and had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.  Exodus 4:31 (NIV)

O~ As the Lord had directed, Moses and Aaron assembled the elders of the Israelites, told them how the Lord had appeared to Moses and showed them the miraculous signs the Lord had given them to do.  This out of the ordinary display convinced the Israelite elders the Lord indeed saw them in their slavery and was concerned for their plight.  It was this sense that led them to bow down and worship.  They understood God cared for them.

A~ Isn’t that really all our testimonies stripped down to their core?  Once we have a realization that the God of the Universe is concerned about what happens to us — when we see Him step in and rescue us — we are compelled to be grateful and worship Him in response.

The God I thought I knew as a young person seemed sort of distant and aloof.  His works were a long time ago involving people I had never met.  But when I cried out to Him from a place of desperation and loneliness and pain, I became convinced He saw me and cared for me.  I experienced His presence. I was touched by God’s people who stepped in and showed me His love and compassion. This resulted in a deeper intimacy with this God I now know was concerned about me in my misery (and all the while before and since!)  The same as the Israelites so long ago.

P~ Father, Thank You for demonstrating Your concern for Your people throughout the ages.  When we truly experience that care and concern, we are drawn in and our hearts cannot help but respond in worship.

No Empty Spaces | Robin Laney

S~ Then Satan entered into Judas called Iscariot, who was of the number of the twelve. Luke 22:3 (ESV)

O~ Judas, son of Simon Iscariot, chosen by Jesus as one of the Twelve who followed him for three years, sitting under his teaching, observing and participating in miracles of provision and healing, representing his teacher to the people met during his travels, being trusted with the management of the ministry’s money. As Jesus proclaimed in his last moments with his disciples that one would betray him, no one suspected Judas. Outwardly, no one knew or could have even imagined such a betrayal of their beloved Rabbi. But Jesus knew, even as he called Judas to follow him. Even one who was called by Jesus, sat at his feet for years, and held great responsibility was susceptible to Satan’s influence.

A~ I keep getting drawn back to this one verse. The question keeps running through my mind, “How does one so close to Jesus become overtaken by evil?” As I think through my own thought patterns and actions, I know exactly how it happens. It is in the times when my life is not fully engaged with Christ that I am most vulnerable; when my mind settles on meaningless things or nothing at all, those moments when I just want to sit and stare; when my activities, whatever they might be, lack an overarching Kingdom focus; when I am not walking in His Spirit but under my own power; when I am disconnected from God so that I don’t spend time in prayer or consider Him throughout the day; when I am not in His word daily. There are a few verses that come to mind:

  • Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. James 4:7
  • The Parable of the Unclean Spirits, Matthew 12:43-45
  • Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise,making the best use of the time, becausethe days are evil.Therefore do not be foolish,     but understand whatthe will of the Lord is. Ephesians 5:15-17
  • But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. Galatians 5:16
  • Pray without ceasing, 1 Thessalonians 5:17
  • How cana young man keep his way pure?By guarding it according to your word. With my whole heart I seek you; let me notwander from your        commandments! I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. Psalm 119:9-11

P~ Lord, may my focus always be on You. I pray that in every circumstance that Your ways and Your purposes are in the forefront of my thoughts and that I am obedient in my actions. Lord, fill my mind and heart so that there is no empty space open for the enemy to gain a foothold.

Backwards | Kim Chipman

S~ But among you it will be different. Those who are the greatest among you should take the lowest rank, and the leader should be like a servant. Luke 22:26 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking at the last supper. The disciples began arguing about who would be the greatest among them. This is Jesus’ response to their discussion.

A~ So much in Your kingdom is backwards. This is a reminder I need today. “Greatest” doesn’t look the same in this world as it does to You. “Greatest” should take the lowest rank and SERVE.

P~ Lord, help me to remember – prick my heart when I’m off track – humble servant is my role and goal. This is greatest. For Your glory. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great stuff today!
    I feel like I had a huge break through/aha moment today.
    Luke 22:31-32
    31 “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat; 32 but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.” NASB

    I never noticed this before.. Jesus prayed so that Simon would not betray Him yet the answer to that prayer was NO! So, Jesus prayed that he would come and strengthen his fellow brothers after He came back to belief.

    Two huge things in this passage.
    1. Jesus got a No from God.
    2. He was saying Simon would betray Him and step away for even a moment from his faith but when Simon came back to help others with their faith.

    Wow! Just wow!

Leave a Reply

