January 15 Genesis 37, 38; Psalm 7; Luke 15

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

It’s Okay To Be A Dreamer | Guest Post

S~ “Here comes the dreamer!” They said to each other.  Genesis 37:19a (NIV)

O~ The world doesn’t care much for dreamers.  The world is cruel to those who dream, but those who hold onto their dreams often prevail.  They are the ones who make a difference.  Good or bad, the ones who work to see their dreams fulfilled impact those around them.

A~ God gave me a vision of how He will use me. I must hold onto that dream – and believe He will make it happen.  I must draw nearer to Him and He will draw nearer to me.  He will direct my steps and make my path straight.

P~ Jesus, thank you for dreams.  Thank you for the hope they grant us.  Hope that can only come from you.  I believe you are who you say you are and that you will do what you say you will do.  I love you.  Amen.

You See | Kim Chipman

S~ But the Lord considered it evil for Onan to deny a child to his dead brother. So the Lord took Onan’s life, too. Genesis 38:10 (NLT)

O~ The Lord had taken the life of Er, who He said was a wicked man. Apparently, the law required the brother of a man who died to marry his wife and produce an heir for his brother. Onan was being manipulative to not get Tamar pregnant, the Lord knew what he was doing, so He killed him also.

A~ What strikes me today, again, is that You see. Onan may have been the only person who knew his deception/manipulation. But YOU SEE. You see the depths of my heart – every thought, attitude, motivation, choice. Good and bad. No other people may see…consequences may be delayed…but You are just.

Audience of One.

I. Must. Focus.

P~ I love You! Thank You for Your Word!

You’re in Control | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ End the wickedness of the ungodly, but help all those who obey you.  For you look deep within the mind and heart.  Psalms 7:9 (NLT)

O & A~ This reminds me to pray to you, to not take matters in my own hands, to stay humble before you.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for your word.  I accept, help me accept your will for me.

Not So Righteous | Michelle Myers

S~ I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.” Luke 15:7 (NIV)

O/A~ Is there anyone on earth that is so righteous, that they do not need to repent for ANYTHING?  I can’t imagine that there is.  However, the one sinner I need to stay focused on and actually have the power and ability to control is ME.  If I ever think that I am so righteous, that I do not feel I have anything to repent for, that should be a red flag for me.  It would definitely be a sign that I am not being humble and that I am deceived by the enemy.

P~ Thank you God for Your truth.  Please help me remember to stay focused on me.  Please help me remember that I am just as much of a sinner as the next person.  When I start to judge others, am not humble, or start to think that MY stuff don’t stink as bad as someone else’s stuff; please give the “wake up call” I need to recognize how I am being deceived.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

