January 14 Genesis 34-36; Luke 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Wait on The Lord | Guest Post

S~ Instead, take the lowest place at the foot of the table. Then when your host sees you, he will come and say, ‘Friend, we have a better place for you.’ Then you will be honored in front of all the other guests.”  Luke 14:10 (NLT)

O~ This is the parable that Jesus told them.

A~ I have an incredible opportunity to serve as an intern at my church.  I am not paid through any kind of monetary value, but the reward far exceeds that.  Right now, it is my humble service.  I am working diligently at the tasks which have been given to me.  One day, perhaps (perhaps not), I will be moved up by The Host, when the time is right.  I must not rush things or put myself higher than I am, but instead, quietly serve in this capacity until the time is right – and only God knows when that will be.

P~ Lord, thank you for granting me this opportunity.  Thank you for molding me and teaching me what to say and how to behave.  I love you.  You are my greatest example of love.  May my heart learn to follow after your rhythm.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace in Humility | Michelle Myers

S~ For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted. Luke 14:11 (NIV)

O~ If I don’t keep myself in line, in regards to my own humility, God will.

A~ I have enough experience with You, to know that humility brings me peace.  First, when I am not humble, I end up defending myself.  I end up trying to justify why I did something, even if it was the right thing to do, You don’t want me to have to justify it.  Peace comes when I can just let go of other people’s perceptions, accusations, etc.  Staying humble is not easy, as it often requires me to take the high road and let go of my own will.

P~ Thank you God for Your wisdom.  Help me remember that I need to stay humble, and patiently wait for you to exalt me, if that is Your will.  If it isn’t, than I just need to accept that and let it go.

There is a cost | Nikki Metzger

S ~ But don’t begin until you count the cost. Luke 14:28a (NLT)

O~ Jesus is telling His disciples that there is a cost to following Him and one needs to count it before following Him.  We don’t hear about a cost of following Him, but there is one.

A~ If I count the cost of this life to follow Jesus, would it be worth it?  What would I tell my 15 year old self about the decision she made?  There is no way I could have known what following Jesus would have cost me.  The cost over the last 17 years, have they been worth it?

YES!!  I would tell 15 year old me to pursue Him!  To fight against the path I chose of being a quickly sprouting plant that withers when the sun first comes out.  I think there has been a bigger cost of not following Jesus during certain periods in my life than when I could have been following Him.

P~ Father, how are we to know this cost when we decide to live for You?  Or maybe everyone isn’t just like me and makes decisions in the moment on what they feel like.  Thank You for that day that I chose You, for the season where You drew me back to Yourself!  It’s worth the cost!  I LOVE YOU!

Jesus’s  Seasoning | Joni Tyner

S~ Salt is good for seasoning. But if it loses its flavor, how do you make it salty again?  Flavorless salt is good neither for the soil nor for the manure pile. It is thrown away. Anyone with ears to hear should listen and understand! Luke 14:34-35 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is comparing Christians to salt—if we lose our “saltiness” , our distinctive Christian characteristics, we become worthless,  we lose our witness to the world.

A~ It’s tough to be living in the world but not OF the world.  The culture  and social media seems to give us a new topic daily about someone who has pushed limits that even 10 years ago would have been unheard of.  It is the breeding ground for profanity, violence and sexual freedom without accountability or censorship.  I think every reader is well aware of the battle we face trying to live a life of integrity in a world that promotes living the exact opposite.

My application is to strive to live a life that has Jesus’s seasoning of salt.   It’s taking the narrow, less popular path.  It’s teaching my kids to expect to be ridiculed for being different, that we don’t have to do what everybody else does.  I need to be careful to not come across as self-righteous and judgmental— These actions DO NOT bring people to the Lord!! I also need to be love.

P~ Dear Lord.  Please help me in this area.  I feel so weak, I feel like I’m losing the battle against the world when it comes to my kids.  They are easily pulled from what they know is right! I pray the Holy Spirit pursues them relentlessly and woos them back to the standards of the Bible.  Help me to also live within these boundaries myself –I know me!!!!– I can so easily get pulled into worldly desires.  Please give me discernment on what activities are honoring to you and live-giving and what activities distract me from living the life you desire for me. Please help me with courage and self discipline to eliminate activities that cause me to drift away from you.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

