January 13 Genesis 31-33; Luke 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

You See Me | Kim Chipman

S~ For I have seen how Laban has treated you. Genesis 31:12b (NLT)

O~ Jacob was working for Laban to earn his daughter’s hand in marriage. He worked very hard and took god care of his flocks. Laban kept changing the terms of their agreement, though. God saw. There may have been no one else who knew, but God saw, and Jacob knew that. v7 “but he has cheated me, changing my wages ten times. But God has not allowed him to do me any harm.”

A~ Relationships are hard. Often the only people who really see what happens in them are the people in it. Even they are skewed. Second hand stories are one sided.

“Kim, I have seen how _______ has treated you.”

This is so comforting to me. There is true freedom there. I don’t need to have a fit and prove myself to anyone. I don’t need to gossip and get people on ‘my’ side if someone treats me unfairly. I don’t even need to defend myself to the person who is being unfair/unjust towards me. You are my audience of One. And You see.

v5 …the God of my father has been with me.

You are with me. You see. You also see how I treat others. I am accountable to love well and give grace – often to people who don’t deserve it – but You do that for me and I CERTAINLY don’t deserve it! I’m a hot mess. As much as You see the other person, You see me as well.

P~ Lord, help me to trust Your love for me. You are just, and You see. Help me to remember You are my audience of One. Help me to focus on You and trust You. Help me to love others well and give grace and forgiveness liberally – for Your glory. I love You!

Sometimes Poop Has A Purpose | Guest Post

S~ ‘Sir,’ the man replied, ‘leave it alone for one more year, and I’ll dig around it and fertilize it.  If it bears fruit next year, fine! If not, then cut it down.’  Luke 13:8-9 (NIV)

O~ I remember my friend Nikki writing about this verse, and I remember Pastor Robert Morris from Gateway Church preaching on it, so this thought is not necessarily my own.  To better understand this parable, I did a little research on fruit trees.  Fruit trees have feeder roots that extend out as far in the ground, as wide as the circumference of the foliage on top.  I also learned that a mature tree requires a minimum of 40 leaves to sustain one piece of fruit.  A tree also has sucker shoots and water sprouts – both of which steal the trees nutrients.

Trees are often used in the Bible as a symbol for people (Ps. 1:3 and Jer 17:7-8); as is the reference here.  Jesus, the gardener, intercedes on our behalf – with permission from the Master, of course.  When we are not producing the fruit we were created to produce, God stirs things up.  He digs up the soil and adds manure to it so the tree has the best possible chance to bear fruit.

A~ When I am going through difficult times, most likely I am being prepared to bear more fruit.  As the ground around me is toiled and roots are exposed – I can more clearly identify the sucker shoots and water sprouts – those things in my life that are distracting me, and robbing my attention and energy.

The Gardener knows that manure – crap – helps me to grow.  While God is not the reason for evil, He does allow our exposure to it – sometimes right near the roots – so that we will produce greater fruit for His glory.

P~ Father, You are the Master Gardener.  Thank you for all your careful preparation so that I might have a fruitful life. I love you.  Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. WOW!! I just love the guest post today, what a great way to take something from real life that I understand, (how fertilizer makes plants grow) and realize that God allows the “fertilizer” in our lives to help us grow and mature into the people he wants us to be. I’ll remember this for quite a while!! wink!

Leave a Reply

