January 10 Genesis 25, 26; Psalm 6; Luke 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My 2016 Word:  Intentional | Joni Tyner

S~ Esau said to Jacob, “I’m starved! Give me some of that red stew!”  Genesis 25:30 (NLT)

O~ The twin brothers.  Esau was born first and was entitled to many blessings as the firstborn son. Jacob knew this and used a temporary “crisis” , (Esau was hungry!) to get Esau to relinquish his birthright for a bowl of soup.  Esau impulsively replies, “Look, I’m dying of starvation!, what good is my birthright to me now?”

…and Esau lost his firstborn birthright by lacking intentional purpose.

A~ I read a week or ago about Kim picking a word for 2016.  She went with warrior.  So, I thought,  “this girl always has good ideas, I listened to her when she said to get into God’s Word and read AND journal and my life was measurably blessed through that decision.  I think I’ll try this “one word” thing.

My word is—Intentional.  The opposite of what Esau did.

I want to be intentional with pursuing God.  This will involve continuing to read His Word. Continue to journal.  Seek out opportunities to listen to/read mature leaders through links of messages on line, finding podcasts to listen to when I drive, exercise or when I’m too tired to read the Bible myself.

I desire to have intentional interactions with my people.  My husband. My kids. Friends. I want to intentionally spend time with them, to intentionally speak their love language. I desire to pay attention to them.  Another thing, when I finally get the opportunity to spend time with them, I want to bless them with love and encouragement, not give them a lecture/advice about what I perceive as needing improvement.

Intentional behavior.  This means I want to intentionally eat certain foods and NOT eat other foods through mindless eating.  I want to choose entertainment that builds my mind up. I want to intentionally avoid, turn off shows that cause my brain to wander into thoughts that are far from giving You honor.

Lastly, I desire to be more intentional with my speech.  I can and do speak encouragement to others, but… these good words don’t cancel out the words I occasionally say,– words that are critical, judgmental, complaining, or just plain mean.  This is my biggie!!!

P~ Dear Lord help me to follow through with the year’s word choice.   I don’t know exactly how to do it, but help me.  Thank you for Your grace that covers me when I fail.

Immediate Gratification? | Kim Chipman

S~ “Look, I’m dying of starvation!” said Esau. “What good is my birthright to me now?” Genesis 25:32 (NLT)

O~ Jacob and Esau were twins born to Isaac and Rebecca. God warned that they would always be rivals. In a moment of being hungry Esau gave Jacob his birthright.

A~ Temptation to fill physical desires and pleasures without counting the cost can be expensive. It seems absurd to give away your birthright for a pot of stew. Yet how often do I choose immediate gratification thoughtlessly? I know You ask me to take care of my body yet I indulge and fill cravings while neglecting exercise. Why? Why don’t I choose self control by the power of Your Spirit? Why do I choose my comfort and pleasure? Why, in the moment, do I lose perspective so quickly? Why don’t I choose obedience? I just read about Abraham’s immediate, complete obedience to sacrifice his SON. Yet I justify myself and dodge obedience on issues much less sacrificial.

P~ Lord, give me Your eyes along my journey. Help me to remember Your amazing love for me so I embrace Your guardrails and joyfully choose to obey You. I know Your voice. Please help me to see the way out of temptation that you promise to provide (1 Cor 10:13) and to embrace the life of simplicity You are leading me to so I can be filled by You alone. I love You.

Life of Humility and Obedience | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Do as I say, and stay here in this land.  If you do, I will be with you and bless you.  I will give all this land to you and your descendants, just as I solemnly promised Abraham, your father.  Genesis 26:3  (NLT)

O~ Do as I say…

There’s a small paragraph in my bible that summarizes Genesis 25:19-28:9:  “Isaac inherited everything from his father including God’s promise to make his descendants into a great nation. As a boy, Isaac did not resist as his father prepared to sacrifice him, and as a man, he gladly accepted the wife others chose for him.  Through Isaac, we learn how to let God guide our life and place his will ahead of our own.”

A~ I need to let God be God in my life.

P~ Dear Father, please forgive my disobedience, the times I give into fear instead of trust.  Please help me be obedient.

I am weak | Nikki Metzger

S~ Have compassion on me, Lord, for I am weak.  Heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.  I am sick at heart.  How long, O Lord, until You restore me? Psalm 6:2,3 (NLT)

O/A~ My bones hurt,  my joints ache.  It’s my extra weight and types of food I eat.  I just know it because when I take something out of my diet, I feel better!  I am weak in self control!

P~ Father, have compassion on me, for I am weak.  Heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.  I am sick at heart.  How long, O Lord, until You restore me?

House of Peace | Kelley Deases

S~ When you enter a house, first say, ‘Peace to this house.’ Luke 10:5 (NIV)

O~ These are Jesus’ words.  He is commissioning 72 of his followers to go out and spread the news of the Messiah’s arrival.  He is instructing them what to do when they reach a town and, specifically, when they reach a particular home.  He wants them to gauge whether peaceful, peaceable people reside therein.

A~ When John and I were first married and bought this house together, we had a couple pastors from our church come and pray over and bless it, inside and out.  It was especially John’s desire that this home would host missionaries and Bible study groups and friends from near and far.  In regard to our extroverted natures, John and I share the same ilk.  But he is much better at prioritizing people and their needs, whereas I tend to focus on tasks.  I get all twisted up if the house is not perfectly clean and in order, or even if I’m just not “feeling it” to play hostess at a particular time.  God has brought us Young Life college leaders, a foreign exchange student from Brazil, several amazing Bible study groups and countless cookouts with friends and playdates and sleepovers for the kids.  Wonderful memories.  But, more importantly, we received children of God who got a chance to come into our home and hopefully experience the welcoming love of God through us.

P~ Lord, Give me a vision for what a person of peace and a house of peace should look like, so that I can be hospitable in the way You would have me be to all who come into my space or into our home.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

