January 8 Genesis 20-22; Luke 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

On the Mountain of the Lord | Tara Wiley

S~ Abraham named the place Yahweh-Yireh (which means “the LORD will provide”). To this day, people still use that name as a proverb: “On the mountain of the LORD it will be provided.” Genesis 22:14 NLT

O~ Abraham had just climbed this mountain, laid his son Isaac on the altar, and prepared to kill him as a sacrifice to God. That’s a nice, crisp summary to write. I cannot begin to IMAGINE what living out those words was like! Miraculously, graciously, God provided a ram in a thicket to take Isaac’s place, just in the nick of time. It was for this provision that Abraham named the place, and gave God a name that has been whispered by many a desperate believer over the years – Yahweh-Yireh.

A~  I grew up among Christians who prayed using this name (we said “Jehovah Jireh”), sang songs with this name in it —

Jehovah Jireh

My provider

His grace is sufficient

For me

My God shall supply all my needs

According to His riches in glory

He will give His angels

Charge over me (Don Moen)

But in all these years, and in all these sermons, and in all these discussions of how God provides just what we need just when we need it, how often we forget WHERE and WHEN this provision came: “on the mountain of the Lord…”  In a desperate place. In a moment of complete surrender and total, sacrificial obedience.

The song references another the famous verse “My God shall supply all my needs according to his riches in glory (Philippians 4:19).” The same principle is at work: when we give everything we have to God, He promises to supply our every need (Philippians 4:18). To provide. Not in my comfort, not even for my comfort. No, His perfect, complete, gracious provision happens most amazingly in the moments when I give up any sense of control or ownership of anything. When I step forward in obedience into places where I don’t feel I have what I need to succeed or even survive. I can take great risks because I serve a great, providing God. But how often do I confidently step forward into this truth?

P~ Lord, I want to be more like Abraham. I want to take wild risks for You. Too often my fears and self-protection keep me in a comfortable holding pattern of doing the same things day in and day out. Help me be bold, Lord, because I know that You provide as I sacrifice. You provide as I obey. You provide as I risk everything, give everything, sacrifice everything for You. Thank You for being such a trustworthy Provider.

Calm the Storm, Jesus! – Robin Laney

S~ And they went and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we are perishing!” And he awoke and rebuked the wind and the raging waves, and they ceased, and there was a calm. Luke 8:24 (ESV)

O~ Jesus and his disciples are in a boat together and a storm comes up. Jesus had fallen asleep and the boat was taking on water. They thought they would die and so they yelled to him to wake up and save them. He calmed the storm and they were amazed at his power.

A~ The storms of life are scary and exhausting and sometimes they take our breath away so that we think we might die. Last month, our nephew and his wife had a storm sweep down on them. Their baby was born about three months early and he fought and they have fought for him for four weeks, praying that he would live and thrive. Tragically, this past Sunday, they lost him. I cannot imagine their level of fear as they watched him struggle in his final hours. A friend described that their feelings might be of desperation and suffocation and unbelievably deep pain. I am sure they cried out to Jesus and though I haven’t spoken to them, personally, I know that Jesus is faithful to be there when we call and I pray they felt moments of His peace in the midst of this terrible storm. I pray that they can keep their eyes focused on Him even if it is only their eyes above the waves, even if they feel they might drown, I pray that they sense His calm and His care as He holds them during the coming months and years. He alone has the power to calm the storms of life in our hearts.

P~ Lord, help them! Hold them tightly and give them peace and calm when they feel out of control and grab them out of the waves when they feel they might go under. Jesus, love them well in their suffering. Thank you for the hope we have in You and in that we can look forward to meeting Jaxon one day. We do not grieve as those who have no hope but we still grieve. Bring your peace, Jesus.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

