January 7 Genesis 18,19; Psalm 3; Luke 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Don’t Live in Denial | Kim Chipman

S~ Sarah was afraid, so she denied it, saying, “I didn’t laugh.” But the Lord said, “No, you did laugh.” Genesis 18:15 (NLT)

O~ A messenger from the Lord told Abraham that Sarah would have a son in one year. She laughed silently to herself when she overheard their conversation and God totally called her out on it. He asked Abraham “is anything too hard for the Lord?” Sarah was afraid and denied laughing, but God knew she did and let her know that.

A~ How often do I deny my true feelings out of fear? Even to You? Like You don’t know my heart or something? Shy do I do that? There are times I sense You addressing a heart issue and I respond the way Sarah did…I deny the truth of my heart’s condition. I’m pretty sure You already know so why don’t I just own it and repent?

I cannot change what I do not acknowledge. I will continue to live in bondage, I will not grow to look more like You, if I push You away like that and live in denial.

P~ Lord, help me to desire You more than to choose fear. Help me to be strong and courageous and fight for truth in every corner of my heart. I love You!

Truth | Michelle Myers

S~ Look, I have two daughters who have never slept with a man.  Let me bring them out to you, and you can do what you like with them. Genesis 19:8 (NIV)

O~ Before Sodom and Gomorrah were destroyed, Lot invited two angels to stay the night at his house as guests.  A mob surrounded the house and demanded that Lot send the two angels out, so that they can have sex with them.  Instead, Lot offers up his two daughters.

A~ I really had a hard time wrapping my head around this entire situation.  A mob of men coming to someone’s house to demand sex with his two male guests.  A father offering up his daughters in place of the two men, and giving them the green light to whatever they please with them.  It took a lot of quiet reflecting to hear Your voice and give me some clarity in regards to this one.

First, You reminded me that the Bible is full of examples of sin and evil, as well as righteousness, mercy, and love.  The mob outside of Lot’s house, are part of the reason as to why you destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah.

Second, You reminded me that You never change, and Eve was just as precious to You as Adam.  Society changes, and in some cultures the woman’s role is more align with how You view us.  In other cultures, this has not changed with time, and women being viewed as property still exists.  Although I am not in a culture where I would say that the exploitation of women is absent, and I am pretty sure that there is not a country in this world that could say that, I am blessed that I don’t suffer the same disrespect and abuse that women in other cultures suffer.  I have choices.  I have the privilege of getting an education.  I can work outside the home.  I can drive.  I don’t have to stay married to an abusive man.  The list goes on and on.  Your opinion of Lot offering up his daughters has not changed.  What Lot did was sinful, and more of a cultural sign of the times, than being right with You.

Third, the sin in this entire situation still goes on today.  People are demanding sex and forcing sex from others.  It isn’t a hetero or homo sexual thing.  It is a sinful, evil thing regardless.  Fathers, and even mothers, are still offering up their children for sex.  This has even become a lot more prevalent with the internet.  Sin damages people.  Some people end up suffering the consequences of their own sin, and others end up suffering the consequences of other people’s sin.  It isn’t fair.  It isn’t right.  This is where I have to look toward You, for Your justice.  At some point, I am sure that Lot had to stand in front of You and give an account for the choice he made that day.

Fourth, eventually You will give most of us relationships where we are responsible for someone else, have authority over someone else, etc.  These relationships are gifts from You.  That is a lot of responsibility that You give to us, and it is important that we handle that responsibility with love, grace, mercy, etc.  Lot had a responsibility to protect his daughters.

Fifth, unless people really start to understand that the Bible is not a text book of all that is right in the world, and stories full of good and evil; this situation can be confusing.  Unless people really have a grasp of Your character, it can be confusing.  Abuse of anyone is not Your character.  It is evil.  Unfortunately, there are people in the world, who will use the situation, as an example of why You are either not good, or twist into some justification as to why forced sex or offering up one’s children is pleasing to You.

P~ Thank you God for Your clarity.  I am growing in understanding Your character, and understanding Your ways versus the world’s ways.  I am getting a clearer picture of what is righteous in Your eyes, and what is sinful.  Either one, righteousness or sinfulness, can be twisted and manipulated in the world.  This often keeps people confused about who You are.  When I am struggling, please remind me and help me see the truth about You, Your never changing character, and Your goodness.

Looking at my whole life | Nikki Metzger

S~ As a result, both of Lot’s daughters became pregnant by their own father.  Genesis 19:36 (NLT)

O~ Gross!

A~ Lot tagged along with his grandpa and uncle on their travels.  Lot become very wealthy too, so wealthy, he had to separate from Abraham’s tribe.  Lot chose the most lush area of land, and it was close to Sodom and Gomorrah.  After Abraham and Lot split, Lot was captured by enemy kings and Abraham rescued him and his family.  Lot moved closer and closer to the evil cities and eventually became an important person in the city.

Lot seemed to follow people, chose things to make his life comfortable, and made himself elevated above others.  But his life ends up with him so drunk in a cave that he fathers his grandchildren!!  I wonder if all those decisions and the way Lot chose to live his life led to him being in that cave?  Yes, I think so.  What you sow today, the next day, and this week will be what you reap in the future.

As I think about what I want in the future, I desire a strong marriage, kids who are pursuing Christ in their own relationship, being healthy, growing people’s heart toward God’s, laughing a lot.  All those things I desire for the future, I need to be sewing seeds into that dream today.  So one day I want to be healthy.  That means making healthy decisions today.  One day I want our marriage to be super strong to withstand the test of busy kids leaving home, I need to be investing into my marriage today.

P~ Father, You are so good!  Thank You for allowing me to see Lot’s whole life, not just how awesome he had it in the beginning.  The lesson that greed, power, wealth, self importance can lead to a lonely, dark place where unspeakable things can happen.  Lord, help me to sew into eternal things today.  Things that matter to You!  I LOVE YOU!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

