January 6 Genesis 15,16,17; Luke 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Believe the Lord | Kim Chipman

S~ And Abram believed the Lord, and the Lord counted him as righteous because of his faith. Genesis 15:6 (NLT)

O~ God promised Abraham great reward and many descendants, but he had no children. God promised Him that he would have a son of his own and as many descendants as stars in the sky. And Abraham believed the Lord.

A~ Seems simple enough. But I’m seeing over and over again how this journey of faith is simple (to understand) but not easy (to do) a lot of the time. Simple, not easy.

I mean it’s simple…You tell me things…You are God…I am not…I should just believe You. Why is that not easy? Sometimes it’s just NOT for me. I do believe…help my unbelief! There are things that just look insurmountable as I see them. I can’t understand how, when, if…so I question, delay, disobey, justify…

P~ I want to be counted as righteous because of my faith. Help! Sometimes I struggle. But I love You so much!

The Truth About Blame | Michelle Myers

S~ You are responsible for the wrong I am suffering. Genesis 16:5 (NIV)

O~ God had promised Abram and Sarai a baby.  Sarai became impatient with waiting on God, so she convinced Abram to have sex with her Maidservant, Hagar.  Hagar became pregnant, and started gloating and disrespecting Sarai.  Instead of taking responsibility for her own dumb plan and the consequences of them, she blames Abram.

Side note: I am pretty sure that the kid Abram and Hagar had together, who was named Ishmael, was an alternative school kid. 🙂

A~ I am becoming better at recognizing that the enemy, not people, is responsible for my suffering.  My decisions, just like anyone else’s that I am in relationship with, can be either resisting or assisting the enemy.  It can be frustrating when I am a relationship with someone who doesn’t do a very good job, a majority of the time resisting the enemy, and I end up having to live with the consequences of that.  Especially, when I have really tried to resist the enemy, and do what is right, according to Your word.

During those times, it is confusing to me as to why You would allow that to happen.  It is at those times, I need to make sure that my own patience is in check, and I am not trying to do something ahead of Your timing.  I also know, that if it isn’t in Your timing, it won’t work anyway.  So, my job is to pray, put up the boundaries You show me, and continually check myself to make sure that I am aligned with Your word.

P~ Thank you God for showing me an area of growth, and what I am supposed to be doing, when the suffering seems long and never ending.  It is hard!  It is confusing!  Some days, I struggle to have the strength, and remember that You are working this out for good.  Please help me during those times.

My name change | Nikki Metzger

S~ What’s more, I am changing your name.  It will no longer be Abram.  Instead, you will be called Abraham, for you will be the father of many nations. Genesis 17:5 (NLT)

O~ God is changing the covenant with Abraham and marks it by renaming him and instituting circumcision.  God first called Abram in Genesis 12:2 and said He would make Abram (means exalted father) into a great nation.  Now He calls Abraham (means father of many) the father of MANY nations.  Did you see that slight change?  He was going to be a great nation, now he’s going to be the father of MANY nations.

What happened between Genesis 12:2 and Genesis 17:5?  Abraham slept  with his wife’s servant and tried to get his family started on his own terms.  Big mistake!

A~ God grows His covenant with Abraham from blessing him to be a great nation to the father of MANY nations.  God took Abraham and Sarah’s mistake and made it a blessing.

I just keep thinking of my past mistakes.  So many decisions I made that led me down roads of shame, guilt, regret.  Just living my life in a way to satisfy my own desires.  Oh, the hurt I’ve caused to others…the damage to my heart…

…yet God changed my name, just like He changed Abraham’s.  My new name is daughter of the Most High King!!  That supersedes any other name I have.

P~ Thank You Lord!

Good Fruit | Robin Laney

S~ For no good tree bears bad fruit, nor again does a bad tree bear good fruit, for each tree is known by its own fruit. For figs are not gathered from thornbushes, nor are grapes picked from a bramble bush. The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. Luke 6:43-45 (ESV)

O~ These are Jesus’ words as he teaches about fruit in people’s lives, the parts of us that are visible to God and others through our thoughts, words, deeds, and attitudes.

A~ Oranges come from orange trees and apples from apple trees. An orange growing on an apple tree would be largely suspect. If I came upon one, I would be looking around for cameras and I would be leary of eating it. It’s pretty easy to identify a plant or tree by its fruit. In the same way, if I call myself a Christian but live a life that looks nothing like Christ, it would be pretty easy for people to notice.

The harder thing to do, I think, is to judge the quality of the fruit simply by looking at the outside. It is not a pleasant thing to crack open a peanut that looks just like all of the others, pop it in the mouth and realize, too late, that it is rotten. The nasty taste stays in the mouth a long time and ruins the appetite. The rotten could have come from the same plant as the good one and no one would ever know the difference unless they tasted it. I The Message paraphrases part of this verse as, ” You don’t get wormy apples off a healthy tree….”

Oh, how I have gotten a taste of bad fruit from my tree. It sometimes comes out as words or actions but mostly as attitudes and thoughts. People might not even be able to tell, from the outside, that the fruit is bad but boy, it sure leaves a nasty taste in my mouth. I know instantly, in my Spirit, when I am out of line. Sometimes I fix it right away but, honestly, many times I choose to wallow around in it a bit before getting my act together. The nastiness always grows out of a place of poor health in my heart. When I don’t tend to my heart and my relationship with God, ugliness grows. It is in daily close contact with God through prayer, music, and His Word that my heart can be nurtured and pruned properly so that I produce good fruit.

P~ Father, thank you for Your Spirit who keeps my heart in check, Your Word that reminds me that I need to pay close attention to my walk with You, and Your presence in my life that I hope shows itself as fruit not only beautiful on the outside but healthy on the inside as well.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

