January 5 Genesis 12-14; Luke 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God is fighting for me! | Nikki Metzger

S~ But the Lord sent terrible plagues upon Pharaoh and his household because of Sarai, Abram’s wife.  Genesis 12:17 (NLT)

O ~ Abram lied about his beautiful wife Sarai and said she was his sister.  He was scared that the Egyptians would kill him and take her.  Well, because of this lie, he didn’t die, but the king of Egypt still took her.

A~ No one stood up for Sarai except the Lord.  Her husband lied and let her be taken to save himself.  The people of Egypt didn’t care about her and only valued her beauty. But God interceded and fought for her.  He sent plagues to Pharaoh’s household.  Maybe it’s a precursor to when He sends plagues to Egypt to get His people back?

God fights for His people.  He fought for Sarai, and He fights for me.  Sometimes I get so overwhelmed with life and want to throw my hands in the air to surrender.  I’m doing the fighting.  But the truth is – God fights for me!  I don’t need to fight because He does it for me!

P~ This reminds me of a song that we sing at church, ‘My God is fighting for me always.’ (video HERE)  Thank You for fighting for me!  Thank You for this reminder!  I love You!

Get Up and Go | Tara Wiley

S~ When they had brought their boats to land, they left everything and followed Him. Luke 5:11 NASB

O~ Simon, James, and John had finished an unsuccessful night of fishing when Jesus interrupted their day to borrow Simon’s boat as a speaking platform. Once Jesus finished speaking to the crowds, he instructed Simon and his crew to fish once more, and the results were miraculously different. Simon dropped in worship, they each responded to Jesus’ call, and they immediately abandoned all they had – the catch of their lives which would have brought them wealth; their way of life, habits, and homes; their families – to follow Jesus.

Levi got up, left everything, and followed Jesus.

In the Old Testament reading for today, Abram repeatedly got up and left where he was to follow God’s call.

A~ Following Jesus requires us to move. Out of our comfort zones. Away from complacency. Into a worshipful place of seeking God with a willingness to change every activity of our day to become aligned with His will.

Even in the more mundane seasons of life, following Jesus offers the freshness of new beginnings every single day as I surrender my own agenda to His. I’ve learned to make my plan A with space for Him to interrupt with His perfect plan B. The daily danger lies in me filling that space with foolish inactivity. Going back to these stories reminds me to keep the remembrances of what God has done in the past fresh, as Abram did by building altars, and to keep a worshipful attitude towards Jesus, as Simon did when he humbly dropped to his knees before Him. I want to pause intentionally, listen intently, and move immediately when God urges me.

P~ Lord, as we begin a new year, I am grateful to look back and see what You accomplished in and around me in 2015. I want 2016 to be a year of intentionality, with time built into each day to be available to move as You call me. I’m excited about the financial changes Mo and I are making to create margin for You to use our money for Your glory (and in preparation for entering ministry, with a tighter budget!). As I do the same with my daily life, creating disciplines that allow space for You to move and use me, help me overcome my sinful time-wasting habits. Here I am, Lord; send me – into my family and into my community, using the gifts You have given me.

OFTEN | Kim Chipman

S~ But Jesus often withdrew to the wilderness for prayer. Luke 5:16 (NLT)

O~ The word on Jesus is spreading quickly and “vast crowds came to hear Him preach and to be healed of their diseases”. But Jesus OFTEN withdrew to the wilderness for prayer.

A~ OFTEN is what strikes me today. I have known and noticed that Jesus prays alone, but…OFTEN…

Jesus had vast crowds that wanted things from Him…healing, teaching…I may not have “vast crowds”, but I certainly feel that way at times. Everyone wants/needs something. Cook this, clean that, work here, taxi there…so many things…GOOD THINGS…things I love, but at times it feels overwhelming.

But Jesus often withdrew…

OFTEN

P~ Thank You Jesus for being my perfect example. I want to be more like You. More gentle, more patient, more kind – even when it feels like vast crowds need things from me. Help me to remember to withdraw often to the wilderness for prayer. I love You!

What Did You Expect? | Kelley Deases

S~ Everyone was amazed and gave praise to God. They were filled with awe and said, “We have seen remarkable things today.”  Luke 5:26 (NIV)

O~  These people came out to hear Jesus teach, probably having heard about the amazing things he was proclaiming and the miracles he was performing.  They had come to witness the power of God.  And they were not disappointed, as they witnessed a paralytic man get up off his mat and walk.  The Pharisees and teachers of the law, on the other hand, came out to try to catch Jesus saying something blasphemous or controversial.  Neither were they disappointed, as they heard Jesus purport to forgive this same man’s sins.  It’s all a matter of expectations.

A~  Growing up, even though I was raised going to church, I viewed with a great deal of skepticism anyone I felt was a little over the top with their Jesus talk.  You know those people who tend to over-spiritualize everything?  I would kinda sit back, internally rolling my eyes, and think, “Do you believe this phoniness?”  My attitude said a lot more about my own immature and untested walk with God than it did about the person sharing.  I did not possess the eyes and ears of faith, which could truly see and hear God in another’s account.  But somewhere along the way, God has turned my heart around.  Now I love to hear the heartfelt testimony of a fellow believer and share my own stories in response.  I suppose I have turned into to one of those people! (I’m sure there are some skeptics rolling their eyes at me! No worries. I know that I know that I know.)

P~ Father, Thank You for showing me how You are growing me up in my faith, and for reminding me of the power of the expectations I carry with me to any situation.  Will I tote around my doubt, or will I be open to see You move?

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nikki – I have never even thought of it from Sarai’s point of view before. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

