January 4 Genesis 9,10,11; Luke 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Gossips and Spectators | Michelle Myers

S~ But Shem and Japheth took a garment and laid it across their shoulders; then they walked backward and covered their father’s nakedness.  Their faces were turned the other way so that they would not see their father’s nakedness. Genesis 9:23 (NIV)

O~ Noah had too much to drink, and passed out naked in his tent.  Ham, one of Noah’s sons, did not cover him, but instead, went and gossiped about it to his brothers, Shem and Jepheth.  They went and did the right thing, not only by covering Noah, but also by refusing to be a spectator of his embarrassing circumstances.

A~ Why do some people gossip and exploit others?  All I have to do is stand in the line at the grocery store, to see that it is very much the way our culture operates.  I can’t say that my eyes don’t wonder to the headlines on the covers of the tabloids.  They do.  In fact, the other day I saw where two judges of “The Voice” were not only dating, but having a baby.  I commented to my husband, “They just seem like the oddest couple.”  My husband commented that he didn’t even know they were “a thing”.  Then I questioned in my mind, “Why or how did I even know?”  I don’t read the stories in the tabloids.  I don’t watch tabloid TV shows.  Then it dawned on me, that I only knew because of what I am seeing while waiting in line at the store.  Then I felt You convict me, as I tried to justify where and how my knowledge came about.

I have faced some embarrassing circumstances in my life.  I have had gossips and spectators exploit my pain.  Many of them didn’t have all the facts, or any of the facts.  Their motives were not out of true, authentic concern or love.  It didn’t feel good, and I have had to learn to “be aware of the wolf in sheep’s clothing”.

We are all people.  Divorces, custody battles, health issues, etc. are no less embarrassing or painful for people in the public spotlight.  I don’t need to be a gossip or spectator in their lives, and then justify it; in any way, shape, or form.  So, I will be on guard, and focus my eyes and attention on something else…………..read the gum labels, look at my phone…………whatever it takes to be obedient to You and cover other people in their embarrassing and painful circumstances.

P~ Thank you God for setting me straight in regards to my own sin, and  justifying my behavior.  In a culture that is so easily in “everyone’s business”, I need to be aware of what Your standards are, and make sure I am following them and not the world’s standards.  As always, help me be aware of other people’s motives, and guide me toward truth.

Don’t stop and settle Nikki! | Nikki Metzger

S~ One day Terah took his son Abram, his daughter-in-law Sarai (his son Abram’s wife), and his grandson Lot (his son Haran’s child) and moved away from Ur of the Chaldeans.  He was headed for the land of Canaan, but they stopped at Haran and settled there.  Genesis 11:31 (NLT)

O~ Terah, Abram’s dad, and his family, started heading towards the promised land.  But they stopped and settled before they got there.

A~ I am a stopper and a settler.  I like to stop, get my life settled, get nice and comfy and just be happy.  But what if I stop and settle where I think is good, but I miss the promised land like Terah? What does the promised land look like in my life?  Being healthy, losing weight, treating my body like the Temple of God that it is.  That seems like an impossible goal now.  Because I’ve tried to get healthy, but I always travel down the path of getting healthy, then I stop and settle where I’m at.  I just never get to the promised land.

P~ Father, I know You have a promised land for me in the area of health.  You’ve been calling me here for a long while.  Why do I keep settling, walking in circles, going back to Ur.  Oh Lord….I want to go to the promised land in this area of my life!

The Same Power | Robin Laney

S~ And when the devil had ended every temptation, he departed from him until an opportune time. Luke 4:13 (ESV)

O~ Jesus had just finished 40 days in the wilderness and had deflected every temptation the devil had thrown at him, even at his weakest, by the power of the Holy Spirit, his knowledge of the Father, and I imagine, his sense of purpose.

A~ The temptations are like darts constantly flying at me. Always choices. Self-centered or outward facing. Momentary satisfaction or eternal perspective. Lazy or motivated. Responsibility or procrastination. Driven by emotions or Spirit led. And many more. Sometimes I get it right but many more times I fall to my flesh. I am not sinless like Jesus but I have all of the same tools available to me in fighting off temptations. I have the Holy Spirit living in me to give me a heads up and guide me and His power, should I follow His lead, to help me ward off temptation. I have God’s Word always on my heart, in my head and at my fingertips to be used as a weapon against the enemy. I know who God is, who I am and why I am here. And so, like Jesus, I have power, knowledge, and purpose in my battle against the devil and my flesh and yet I fail daily. It comes down to choices. Each moment is a choice for Him or against Him. A right choice is a victory. A wrong one is a loss and carries consequences, sometimes eternal ones. For those, there is grace and, hopefully, a second chance. My goal is not to be perfect this side of Heaven but to continually strive to be more like my Jesus.

P~ Lord, thank you that You set this example for us and that You equip us with defenses against the enemy who seeks to destroy us. Thank you for the Holy Spirit who lives in us to guide us and teach us and empower us. Thank you for Your Word which is the story of who You are and who we are, a testimony of Your power and love, and a clearly written assignment for our lives. Help me to stay focused on You and Your purposes so as not to be distracted by the things of this world or overcome by my flesh. Let me draw, not from my own strength but from You as my power source to accomplish those things You lay before me. Give me an eternal perspective in even the seemingly small choices. I thank You for Your great Grace when I fail and a new opportunity, each moment, to make a choice for You.

On Mission | Kelley Deases

S~  But he [Jesus] said, “I must preach the good news of the kingdom of God to the other towns also, because that is why I was sent.”  Luke 4:43 (NIV)

O ~  Jesus was very clear in his mission.  At this point in his life as a man, it was to “preach the good news of the kingdom of God.”  His was a whole new message, not of ritual and religiosity, but of how the God of the Universe desires to reach down and touch the hearts of His children; He loves them and wants to teach and guide them.

A~  Those of us on this blog team really have the same focus: to reach out and encourage especially those who may have been sitting in a church pew for years but have not fully experienced a relationship with — a dialog with — God through His living and active Word.  As much as we love the comfort of our own little band of girlfriends who meet and share our lives around God’s Word, confiding what God is revealing to us as we sit with Him on our own each day, God has given us a desire to pass this on to others and still others.  We don’t want to keep this SOAP method, which has led each of us to deeper intimacy with God, and keep it to ourselves.  We are always forming new groups, teaching the SOAP method and equipping people with resources, publishing our personal journal notes on the daily blog, and getting the word out at every opportunity we can.  Like Jesus, we are on a mission to share this great good news we have learned for ourselves!

P~  Jesus, Thank You for Your example of obedience to the Father’s agenda, regularly consulting Him privately and then having the courage to go and to do.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 4, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

