January 3 Genesis 6-8; Luke 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Condition of My Heart | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD saw how great man’s wickedness on the earth had become, and that every inclination of the thoughts of of his heart was only evil all the time.  The LORD was grieved that he had made man on the earth, and his heart was filled with pain. Genesis 6:5-6 (NIV)

O/A~ Knowing that You had a heart filled with pain, helps me know that when I am really, really, hurting; You know how I feel.  My guess is also, that the reasoning behind this pain is probably similar to mine, in that is is the result of someone else’s heart not being right…………selfish, stubborn, hard, ungrateful, unloving, rude, etc.

I don’t want to be someone who causes Your heart pain, so I have to consistently be checking on the condition of my heart.  If it is not right, I have to ask You and rely on You to help me with it. Any relationship is hard to have success in, when one person’s heart is not right.  My relationship with You is no different.  And in any relationship, just like my one with You, all I can do is my part. Unfortunately, unlike You, other people aren’t perfect and no matter how my heart is, their response is not always going to be one with a right heart.

P~ Thank you God for your perfectness, being the one that I can always count and rely on.  Please help me with my heart.  When it is right, help me keep it that way.  When it is not right, help me get it that way.

Just Do It | Kim Chipman

S~ So Noah did everything as the Lord commanded him. Genesis 7:5 (NLT)

O/A~ This is what I would like You to be able to say about me. “Kim did everything as I commanded her.”

Truth is, I don’t exactly. I question. I procrastinate. I do MOST of it (but not everything). I doubt. I think I know better.

HA!

P~ I do believe, but help  my unbelief! Help me to have a humble heart and remember my need for You. Then, help me to just DO it. Just trust and obey. I love You!

The Sighting of Dry Land | Joni Tyner

S~ Noah was now 601 years old. On the first day of the new year, ten and a half months after the flood began, the floodwaters had almost dried up from the earth. Noah lifted back the covering of the boat and saw that the surface of the ground was drying. Two more months went by, and at last the earth way dry! Genesis 8: 13-14.  NLT, (I added the emphasis of showing that God’s timing was slow—at least from a human (my) perspective.)

O~ 1. Noah was an old guy—601 years old.  The Bible tells us in Genesis 6:9 that he was righteous in the sight of God.

2. Noah had to live through the storm that was caused by other people’s sin.

3. This storm was LONG!!!   They were cooped up in the boat for over a year!!!—Think about that.  The same food every day for a year. I wonder if any family members got sea sick?  Oh my… I was miserable on a 3 hour boat ride last year, what would an ENTIRE year feel like?

4. The earth had “almost” dried up—he saw the surface of the ground but STILL HAD TO WAIT for 2 more months.   Again, think about that.  Think about being so ready to get off the ark and then having to wait for 2 more months.

5. The last thought about this passage.  So, finally, after a year of probably being sea sick, sick of caring for the animals 7 days a week from morning til night—with no days off, no overtime pay, no promotion, they got off the ark and what did they do??

Noah had to start life “over”.

He had to begin the huge task of finding a place to live, clearing the land,  building the house, the farmland, their tools, furniture, everything.   This sounds like an incredible amount of work after being on the ark and working nonstop for over a year.  Like, there was no sabbatical for Noah.

A~ God’s Word speaks to us if we take time to read it!!!!!!    I didn’t expect to see a “Word from God” this morning when I decided to have a quick read before heading to work.   I literally got a lump in my throat as I realized, I so needed to understand that-once again, God’s timing is not our timing.

I’ve journaled several times in the past 2 years about our only son and his struggles with addiction and his choosing a different lifestyle from the one he grew up in.  It’s been a long, painful, miserable 7 years.  We’ve been dealing with all the ups and downs and disappointments almost daily with little hope of ever seeing the “dry ground”.

Finally, we are starting to see dry ground.

God’s timing is not my timing, but as I have been imperfectly faithful with His plan, He is slowly, steadily,  showing that our story is not over, that He has our family in His protective hands.

This passage made me realize that even when we “get off the ark” and hit dry land—we won’t walk into a perfect, ready-made life.  We will need to continue to do the hard work of abiding in God and rebuilding what was lost in the storm.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for prompting me to read Your word this morning.  I have a busy day ahead of me at work and I was so tempted to just “relax” and do nothing before going to work.  Because of reading this passage, I feel like You had coffee with me and said, “keep going girl!!!!!—Keep doing the consistent right things!!!!- You are seeing dry land!!! Keep up your strength for the beautiful, (but hard!!) task of rebuilding.   I hear You telling me, “it’s going to be worth it!! My Kingdom is ALWAYS worth the hard work!”.  Thanks for the encouragement Jesus!

The way I live shows repentance | Nikki Metzger

S~ Prove by the way you live that you have repented of your sins and turned to God. Luke 3:8a (NLT)

O~ John is baptizing the people.  He is commanding the people to repent and turn from their sins.  John understands that to be a child of God is more than being a descendant of Abraham.

A~ Prove by the way I live that I’ve repented of my sins and turned back to You.  I haven’t been doing that.  I think I keep showing You all my other good stuff: bible study, work, friendships, sometimes my marriage, sometimes my parenting.  I show You that stuff, so You won’t look at the way I’ve been living in some areas of my life that are filled with sin.

You still see my sin, I can’t hide it by showing You the good stuff.  (Big sigh)

I have not fully repented and turned to God in the area of my body, the Temple of God.  I consistently sin against God and my body by overeating, choosing things that hurt my body instead of things that benefit my body, using food to deal with pains and hurt instead of turning those over to the Lord, and just being lazy and not respecting the body the Lord has blessed me with.

P~ Father my prayer is this….that I can prove by the way I live that I’ve repented of my sins and turned to You in this area of my life!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

