December 31 Revelation 19,20,21,22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Give clear witness for Jesus! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Worship only God.  For the essence of prophecy is to give a clear witness for Jesus. Revelation 19:10b (NLT)

O~ An angel is speaking to John, the author of this book.

A~ The angel instructs John to worship only God.  And all the prophecy is to give a clear picture for Jesus.  Worship God and let all things clearly point to Jesus.

Does my life and every facet, every relationship, clearly point to Jesus?  I doubt it.  I just keep thinking of instruction: to love one another.

Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  Love doesn’t demand it’s own way.  Love is not irritable, it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice, but rejoices when the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7)

I know that God has not gifted me with prophetic words, but I love words and talking.  So what do I do?  I want my family, my co workers, my friends, my extended family, my bros and sis’ in Christ, strangers, to get a clear witness for Jesus in me.  But without words! I think I just need to love them.  God’s definition of love is super hard!  I always forget it and mess it up.

P~ Father, may 2016 be a year of love from me.  May every morning You give me the opportunity to love the people You have put in my life.  Grow my heart in Your type of love!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

I Blew It! | Michelle Myers

S~ The sea gave up the sea gave up the dead that were in it, and death and Hades gave up the dead that were in them, and each person was judged according to what he had done. Revelation 20:13 (NIV)

O~ Each person is 100% accountable and responsible for what they do.  Each person will be judged as an individual.

A~ It has been easy over the last few years to focus on my husband’s choices, behaviors, etc.  Yet, I knew this was hindering my Spiritual growth.  I knew that eventually, I am going to have to stand before God and give an account for my words and actions toward him, and my responses to him. It is the same thing with my mother and children.  It is the same thing for the cranky lady at the grocery store; and the impatient lady who was compulsively honking at me to go at stop sign, when I could not go without getting t-boned by another car and causing an accident.  After a long period of non-stop honking, I got frustrated and up went my middle finger.  Yikes!  Then You reminded me of that little sticker on the back of my van that represents You and this ministry.  I blew it, and had to repent.  On that day, at that time, I blew it; but the more I stay focused on me and my individual relationship with You, the less I blow it.

P~ Thank you God for your mercy and grace.  Please continue to help me stay focused on me and my relationship with You.  The more I do this, the more I glorify You and the more progress I make for Your kingdom.

Humble and Brave | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God and they will be my children.  But the cowards who turn away from me, and unbelievers, and the corrupt, and the murderers, and the immoral, and those who practice witchcraft, and idol worshipers, and all liars—their doom is in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur.  Revelations 21:7,8  (NLT)

O~ The notes in my bible read: “The ‘cowards’ are not those who are fainthearted in their faith or who sometimes doubt or question but those who turn back from following God.  They are not brave enough to stand up for Christ, they are not humble enough to accept his authority over their lives”.

A~ The notes helped me understand the verse a little better and encouraged me some, by helping me to realize that doubting or questioning or even being weak in my faith doesn’t make me a coward, but I still wonder if I am brave enough to stand up for Christ, or do I accept your authority over my life. I want to stand up for Christ, to be humble, to accept your authority over my life.

P~ Dear Father, help me to live this way for you, for me, for others.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 31, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Michelle, thank you for sharing this. I, too, have experienced deep hurt within close family relationships. What I found is that I held my right to hurt feelings so tightly that I could not see past them. Only after years of estrangement was God able to finally get through to me that for the sake of my relationship with God and them and for the sake of not only my salvation but also theirs and all those with whom I have influence, I needed to die completely to myself. That meant giving up all of my hurt, present and past. I had to throw away the scoresheet. When He helped me take that step, I was immediately more focused on my own words and attitudes and behavior than on theirs. I had to pray that God would help me navigate the relationships, by working on my heart. My focus went from victim to participant with an equal part to play in any future conflicts and resolutions. From there forward, I had to assess each difficult interaction based on its own merit instead of trying to sort through it with all of the mess of the past piled on top. It is not easy (impossible without Christ, in fact) and took a willingness to die to myself, a huge work of the Holy Spirit and continuing choices to have an eternal perspective. It’s all about salvation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

