December 30 Revelation 15,16,17,18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A Familiar Heaven-Song, Old and New | Tara Wiley

S~ Great and marvelous are Your deeds, Lord God Almighty. Just and true are Your ways, King of the nations. Who will not fear You, Lord, and bring glory to Your name? For You alone are holy. All nations will come and worship before You, for Your righteous acts have been revealed. Revelation 15:3-4 (NIV)

O~ This is a heaven-song we will all join in, believers standing victorious before the King of Kings.

The NIV note states these phrases are drawn from a collection of Old Testament passages (Psalm 111:2-3, Deuteronomy 32:4, Jeremiah 10:7, Psalm 86:9, Psalm 98:2).

A~ It’s not uncommon to hear Christians say things like, “I don’t know why we need to study the Old Testament.” “I’m under grace, so I don’t need to study the Old Testament — maybe just the stories, or the Psalms.”

Here’s a great reason: you’re learning the lyrics to heaven-songs!

This Old Testament-laced chorus tells me these portions of Scripture are pretty important to God — then, now, and in eternity! There’s so much to the unfolding of God’s character and plan that can only be fully understood with a thorough knowledge of God’s Word from Genesis to Revelation. The layers of symbolism… the revealing of God’s character… the way He orchestrates history… the utter holiness He demonstrates through the laws and requirements… the unbelievable love and grace He offers by allowing us to come boldly to Him through the cross of Christ. To know only the part of His story that begins in the gospels is like seeing a Monet in black and white. The scale, the scope, the glory, the hugeness of redemption is lost without the full picture. It’s a masterpiece that will take eternity to understand… but I love getting the chance to start my study of its full-color glory now.

I’m so grateful for our reading plan that ties it all together, Old and New, in a way that keeps us going and keeps it fresh.

P~ Lord, even after reading Your Word several times from beginning to end, I continue to be astounded at the weaving together of it all. As we near the end of another year, I’m excited to know that You have new insight in store for me as we dig back in at the beginning again. And I love that the words of praise I offer to You for eternity will be both  familiar and brand new. Thank You, Lord, thank You, for the gift of Your Word.

Just God | Robin Laney

S~ They were scorched by the fierce heat, and they cursed the name of God who had power over these plagues. They did not repent and give him glory. Revelation 16:9 (ESV)

O~ The seven bowls of God’s wrath are being poured out on by seven angels. As the plagues are administered, the people suffering from the effects of them recognize God as their punisher but instead of humbling themselves before Him, they shake their fists at Him in rebellion and curse Him.

A~ I have often heard people say that they can’t believe that a loving God would pour out His wrath on innocents who have not heard of Jesus or who don’t have the mental capacity to understand salvation. This particular picture does not seem to me to be a picture of innocents but rather those who have spilled the blood of the people of God. They are people who recognize God yet refuse to give Him honor, people who refuse for whatever reason to turn from their sinful ways. God’s wrath poured out is judgment against their actions and justice applied, as He promised His people.

These people’s hearts have been so hardened against God that they gnaw their tongues in agony even as they use them to curse God, who has the power to save them. When I read this, I thought of the Pharoah of Egypt who, time after time, rebelled against God. God gave him chance after chance after chance to make the right choice and finally hardened his heart resulting in many deaths, including the demise of his very own son. God will do the same with each of us. He is such a patient God and one of kindness, compassion and great mercy. He sent His Son to the cross so that we could be reconciled to Him. He waits and longs for each and every person to turn from their sins and follow Him. At the same time, He is a God of justice and wrath. He will not wait forever and when He is ready, He will dispense judgment on those who refuse to repent and glorify Him.

We don’t know the day or hour that He will choose. The time to take Him seriously is now.

P~ Lord, I want my heart to be soft towards You. I pray that others would turn to You and recognize Your great love for them. I hate to think of anyone I love being counted among those told of in this account. Lord, I know Your heart is for them and You are pursuing them and I pray that they would turn to You and fall into Your arms and come to know Your extravagant, life-changing, saving love.

Who Am I Assisting? | Michelle Myers

S~ They will make war against the Lamb, but the Lamb will overcome them because he is Lord of lords and King of kings–and with him will be his called, chosen, and faithful followers. Revelation 17:14 (NIV)

O~ I know the end.  I know who gets the victory.  How many other wars have been like that?  How many other wars have people entered into, here on earth, and known the outcome of them, while still in them?

A~ Knowing this, should make doing battle easier, and it does; when I am focused on the Spiritual battle and looking at it through my Spiritual eyes.  When I am focused on my flesh and looking at it through my worldly eyes, I blow it.  I am impatient.  I am stubborn.  I am assisting the enemy instead of resisting him.  Which makes no sense, because I already know he loses, so why try and assist him in winning, when his primary purpose is to kill, steal, and destroy?

P~ Thank you God for Your wisdom.  It is sometimes hard to see with my Spiritual eyes, but I am getting better.  Please continue to assist me in this area, so I can stop assisting the enemy. Forgive me, for assisting him, and fighting against You in so many areas of my life.

He’s Got This! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But you, O heaven, rejoice over her fate.  And you also rejoice, O holy people of God and apostles and prophets! For at last God has judged her on your behalf.  Revelations 18:20  (NLT)

O~ God sees and will bring justice.

A & P~  Heavenly Father, please keep my heart humble and tender before you.  Help  me to let go, to forgive knowing that you have got this.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment