December 29 Revelation 10,11,12,13,14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Why now? | Kelley Deases

S~ The time has come for judging the dead, and for rewarding your servants the prophets and your saints and those who reverence your name, both small and great — … Revelation 11:18 (NIV)

O~ Not that I claim to understand it, but, big picture, the Book of Revelation is about how God, in His way and in His time, will dispense judgment and justice on the world He created.  Sometimes we might wonder why He has been patient for so long.  Other times, we imagine these events could occur imminently.  The real danger is in being lulled into a complacency that tends to ignore the end times are coming at all.

A~ Why now?  This is just one of the agonizing questions which must be on the lips of my friends who got news two days before Christmas their 20-year-old son — their miracle baby who was not expected to survive in his early days and after which his mother was warned she could not carry any more babies — was killed in a car accident in which he was a passenger. Why now? He just graduated a year-and-a-half ago from high school with my son, a class of only 33 kids. Why now? He was only a sophomore in college, playing baseball and looking forward to a full life ahead. Why now? He was home on Christmas break, surely anticipating time with his family and friends, a pile of presents, and his favorite meals.  God, why now? God……why?

P~ Father, We cannot begin to fathom the whys or the why nows.  But I am grateful to know he was a young man who knew Your Son.  As do His parents.  This is a family that will be reunited one day in their forever home. But, O Lord, give his mom and dad and two (adopted) younger brothers Your peace and comfort in the meantime.

We will miss you, Marcus E. Haney (1995-2015)

Star Wars battle | Nikki Metzger

S~ And the dragon was angry at the woman and declared war against the rest of her children – all who keep God’s commandments and maintain their testimony for Jesus.  Revelation 12:17 (NLT)

O~ dragon – is the devil, Satan, the one deceiving the WHOLE world.  He declared war against me – one who keeps God’s commandments and maintains my testimony for Jesus.

A~ I just saw the new Star Wars movie.  What an epic battle between good and evil!

I can’t forget that I’m smack dab in the middle of a battle too!  Satan has declared war against me and will not stop ’till I’m ineffective for the Kingdom – when I stop maintaining my testimony for Jesus.

Maybe that’s why Satan leaves so many believers alone – they are saved, but they don’t maintain their testimony for Jesus.

P~ Father, please let me always maintain my testimony for Jesus!  Probably without words.  When I talk it seems, my testimony goes out the door.  Let my quiet life be my testimony!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Warrior UP! |Kim Chipman

S~ And the dragon was angry at the woman and declared war against the rest of her children—all who keep God’s commandments and maintain their testimony for Jesus. Revelation 12:17 (NLT)

O~ The dragon is Satan and he was angry with the woman – the faithful Jews. The rest of her children…that’s all of us…all believers/followers/disciples of Jesus.

A~ Often the battle feels SO real, visceral almost. And the reminder today? IT IS. Satan has declared war against me as long as I maintain my testimony for You. It. Is. ON.

Every year I choose a word, inspired by myoneword.org. I have this thing with failure and expectations and guilt and shame and for awhile the whole “New Year’s Resolution” thing just wasn’t something I could embrace. The challenge here is to focus your year ahead…think of where you want to be going, who you want to be becoming and choose a word to focus yourself. For this coming year (2016) I have chosen my word: WARRIOR.

This verse confirms it for me. What I want to become more of in 2016 is brave, fearless, strong, resilient. What I want less of is fear, timidity, complacency. I want this physically – I’m not getting any younger, I need to exercise regularly and get stronger. But more than anything I want this emotionally and spiritually. Satan has declared war against me, and I don’t want him to win in my life. I know my eternity is secure, I know the war is already won, but I want to be unafraid, intimidated, focused, strong, lead others – to wield the sword of Your Word in my life to destroy the lies that steal my joy and peace. Use that sword to fight off the enemy attack surrounding me and people in my life, in my home, in my community, in my tribe.

P~ Satan, look out. This year I’m going to warrior UP! Lord, help me to stay the course, be strong and courageous in Your mighty power! For Your glory! I love You!

Use Your Spiritual Eyes | Michelle Myers

S~ This calls for patient endurance on the part of the saints who obey God’s commandments and remain faithful to Jesus. Revelation 14:12 (NIV)

O~ The same “This calls for patient endurance on the part of the saint.” was also written in Revelation 13:10 (NIV)

A~ Endurance means that it is a marathon, not a sprint.  I can do almost anything for a short amount of time. Yet the important question is, “Can I endure it for as long as it takes, not being able to see the finish line from where I am standing now?”  The answer to that is NO!  At least, not on my own I can’t.  Yet, with You, I can do anything You have given me to do, because You would not set me up for failure.  Even if it is something that You have given me to do and in the moment, I don’t see the reward in patiently enduring, I know You will work it out for good.  That is where the patience part comes in, because it is not in my timing but yours.

Verse 14:13 says, “Then I heard a voice from heaven say, ‘Write: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.’ ‘Yes,’ says the Spirit, ‘they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.’  That is the finish line.  That is where the reward is.  I may not be able to clearly see it with my physical eyes, so I have to trust in You.  Eventually, my Spirit will receive the reward for the work that it does here on earth, by patiently enduring the trials, obeying God, and remaining faithful to Jesus.

P~ Nothing is ever wasted,when it is done in the Spirit with the right heart, for You.  Thank you for giving me this hope and purpose.  Patiently enduring this life, here on earth, is hard enough.  But enduring a life without a purpose or hope is almost impossible.  Please continue to help me see with my spiritual eyes.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i’m thinking about my one word too.

  2. After Tara wrote about her word a few days ago, I started thinking and praying about a word. One word keeps coming up and it has some many connotations.
    My word for 2016 is Truth.

  3. And…if I needed more confirmation…the day after I wrote this my pastor preached this sermon about the war between the flesh and the Spirit… https://vimeo.com/150117155 I love how God leads me and shows me over and over again!

Leave a Reply

