December 26 Psalm 117; Psalm 119:81-176; 2 John 1; 3 John 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Sacred Mornings | Kelley Deases

S~ I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.  Psalm 119:16 (NIV)

O~ My son is a second-grader at a Christian school.  This year, their theme verse is Psalm 119:9-10: “How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.” Earlier this year, his class memorized this entire passage, verses 9-16, so when I read it today, it was already familiar.  I can hear it in my head in the voice of my 8-year-old.  What a sweet sound that is, and what a blessing to me to know he is learning and memorizing Scripture so it will be “hidden in his heart.”

A~ My son’s school started their Christmas break a few days ago.  And with the holidays upon us, many of our regularly-scheduled activities and obligations have been suspended for a couple weeks.  The temptation is to sleep in and get up with my husband and son.  This means we are talking, making plans, preparing breakfast and getting the day underway.  But then I miss that first thing in the morning quiet house, just me and my coffee and my Bible.  And I have learned about myself that once the day gets going, it is very hard to step out of it and into a quiet retreat with God.  So today, I set the alarm as usual so I could get up before anyone else and spend this time reading, journaling, thinking and praying.  I echo the resolve of the psalmist’s declaration: “I will not neglect your word.”

P~  Father, Thank You for helping me realize this is the routine which gives me the best chance to hear from You.  Help me not resent getting up early, before anyone else is stirring, but to cherish this sacred, quiet time I get to spend in Your presence alone and uninterrupted.

Worn Out | Kim Chipman 

S~ I am worn out waiting for your rescue, but I have put my hope in your word. Psalm 119:81 (NLT)

O/A~ This is how I feel lately. Worn out. Tired. Kind of annoyed. There are times I just feel the spiritual battle so strong, and honestly there are times I just give in to it. I get tired. I give it. I quit fighting. I make bad – but comforting/comfortable choices. Then I feel shame and guilt. Then I make some more comforting but complacent choices. Then I feel bad some more. Worn out, waiting for Your rescue…all the while walking away from You and Your best.

I put my hope in Your Word. Even when I’m in the crazy cycle I choose it. Some days I feel like I need to return to it over and over and over again because I’ve lost focus by lunchtime. I can’t put my hope in my feelings. I can’t put my hope in other people. I can’t but my hope in my health/body/physical comfort. I totally do, though. I have expectations and I get all unraveled when things don’t go the way I think they should. Then I justify being selfish or disobedient to reinstate comfort.

So, today, I choose again. I return. I put my hope in Your Word. Even when I am worn out.

P~ I love You!

KEEP GOING!! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ They almost finished me off, but I refused to abandon your commandments.  In your unfailing love, spare my lie; then I can continue to obey your decrees. Psalms 119:87-88  (NLT)

O~ The enemy wants to finish me off, but Holy Spirit reminds me to continue on.  And I can in his strength.

A~ I get so easily discouraged but these verses remind me to get up, to keep going and trust that He’s making something beautiful out of all of it.

P~ Thank you Father for your Holy Spirit who comforts me and encourages me.  Thank you for your word.  Help me today to keep my eyes off me and on You. ❤

God’s Faithfulness | Joni Tyner

S~ Your faithfulness extends to every generation, as enduring as the earth you created. Psalm 119:90 (NLT)

O~ What a beautiful word picture in Psalm 119. As I thought about the formation of the physical earth, 1,000’s of years ago, I thought about how old it is. I don’t know all the specifics of how rocks and other archaeology finds are dated, but they are old!! It is so cool that I am walking and living on the same earth that was created in Genesis 1:1. This earth we live on has endured everything…floods, earthquakes, fires, plagues, wars, and it is still here…it is still spinning…it is still is our physical home on this side of heaven. Psalm 119 is reminding us that God’s faithfulness is the same, it will endure everything from every generation. Just like the earth hasn’t stopped spinning, God’s won’t stop either. He will ALWAYS be faithful.

A/P~ Dear Lord, thank you for being faithful when I’m not faithful—when I’m not lovable. Thank you for being a constant rock for me. Please continue to pursue me. I want to be found faithful to You. Please bring people into my life that continue to pour encouragement in me so that I don’t ever lose my passion for You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

