December 23 John 15,16,17,18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Obedience Keeps Me Connected | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ I have loved you even as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love. When you obey me, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father and remain in His love. John 15:9, 10 (NLT)

O~ My obedience keeps me connected to Jesus.

A~ I need to be obedient.

P~ Dear Father, help me discern your voice from other voices. Give me courage

Lasting Fruit | Michelle Myers

S~ “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit–fruit that will last.” John 15:16 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is speaking to his disciples about how they need to stay connected to him, so they can do what they were called to do–bear good fruit that will last.  They didn’t call themselves to this purpose, He chose them.

A~ I didn’t come from a family history that got this whole fruit thing and fruit that will last thing.  I didn’t get it myself for many years.  I, along with the rest of my family, focused on materialistic and financial stuff.  I know that You have chosen me, because this is so far from what I planned for myself and You were so far from what I focused on before.

In choosing me and preparing me, which I still don’t always get or understand clearly, You had to weed a few things out of me.  My dependence on and security in possessions and money, was not fruit that would last.  You didn’t heal some relationships, because I had to choose to focus on the ones that produce fruit that would last…my marriage and children.  In doing so, hopefully, some of my family’s damaging pathology that has been passed down from generation to generation will be changed.  More importantly, my children, grandchildren, etc. will hopefully be able to see You and cultivate a relationship with You.  The same goes for my husband.  Some dysfunctional family patterns have plagued his family for generations, and it has to be changed if he is going to bear lasting fruit.

I understand how You have used my childhood experiences, my teaching experiences, and my own struggles with pride, alcohol, selfishness, etc., to help me gain a greater understanding and empathetic nature toward other people, including my husband and my children.  This is something that has not been present in other relationships in my family.  Its absence has often lead to hurts that never heal, divorces, toxic dysfunction, and a life of unhappy bitterness that causes damage.

P~ Thank you God for choosing me.  It isn’t often easy, nor does it always seem fair; but I know that is how you are helping me grow and change, so I can bear lasting fruit.  Please help me remember to stay focused on You, when it is so hard and confusing.

Love…..again! | Nikki Metzger

S~ You didn’t choose Me.  I chose you.  I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using My name.  This is My command: Love each other. John 15:16,17 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking to the disciples.

A~ Oh man!!  I’ve been struggling with parenting.  I keep learning new things from my job –  which I’m being trained in certain parenting skills.  And the training is great.  But I’ve noticed that I’ve taken some of those ideas and used them and my parenting hasn’t felt right – maybe that’s why things haven’t been running like I’d like them at home??

So here Jesus speaks about lasting fruit, fruit that is eternal.  This is what I want in my life and in my kids’ lives.  Good behavior will burn away some day, but a child who is rooted in Christ will change the world and heaven with everlasting fruit.  So that’s what I desire for my kids. And Jesus speaks directly to my heart with this command about parenting and everything else really.  LOVE EACH OTHER.

What is love anyway?  I need to head back to 1 Corinthians 13 for the definition….love is kind, patient, not jealous, not boastful…..

As I parent, everything needs to come from a love each other heart and attitude.  Discipline in love, conversations rooted in love, Privileges rooted in love, time together in love.

P~ Father, thank You!!  You know I was going under with the world’s views of parenting and You gave me this!  Seriously 🙂  You’re a good, good Father!  Let me love my kids on a whole other level, and others too!  That my heart and mind would first go to loving others, and then focus on what needs to happen second.  Thank You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

