December 22 John 12,13,14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Affirmation and Discernment | Tara Wiley

S~ His disciples did not understand these things at first… “This voice came not for me, but for you…” He said these things because he saw His glory… John 12: 16, 30, 41 (NLT)

O~ The time was drawing near for Jesus to fulfill the ultimate goal of His ministry on Earth. The disciples spent every walking, breathing, living moment with Him for three years, soaking up all He said and did — and yet they did not know or understand what was coming.

As Jesus looked ahead, He knew. He understood. In His humanity, He trembled, so He looked up for encouragement, and God not only affirmed Him; He sent an affirmation to all around Him with a thundering approval.

Isaiah also found insight when he looked up. Beholding God’s glory and the resurrected glory of Jesus, he spoke predictions of what was to come. Yet, the fulness of understanding was not even his to know at that point.

A~ You give discernment when we need it. Other times, You call us just to trust You. Regardless of what You let us know ahead of time, there is one constant: when we look Up, we find the affirmation we need to carry on in — or into —  the dark.

This year has been one of amazing trust-building between me and You. I’ve learned to lean in and look up when I don’t have the future laid out in front of me. I’m still learning. And once again, I’m discovering the power of the affirmation that comes when I focus on You in the midst of trouble.

P~ Lord, thank You for bringing encouragement and affirmation when I look to You, even when — especially when — I have no idea what the future holds. You have it all in Your hands, in Your perfect plan, and I can trust You to work all things for good. Thank You for Your precious affirmation.

Parenting | Nikki Metzger

S~ Now My soul is deeply troubled.  Should I pray, ‘Father, save Me from this hour’?  But this is the very reason I came!  Father, bring glory to Your name. John 12:27,28 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking of His arrest and death here.

A~ Now in no way am I comparing what Jesus did for me to my troubles, but Jesus puts perspective on things.

I’m struggling with parenting!  My soul is deeply troubled.  I’m wondering how such illogical and selfish thinking can come from such a little person.  I’m tired of every conversation being a battle and being hurt a million ways with mean comments. As I write that, I probably have some forgiving to do.  I also look at our future life, I don’t want our home to be a battle ground of words.  And I don’t want my kids to modify their behavior to follow the rules we have set – I want their hearts to be changed.

If I know one thing, I know this.  Jesus is the ONLY One who can change hearts!

P~ Father, thank You!  You are the first parent ever.  Grow my heart to bring You glory to Your Name when I parent!  Help me to continually forgive my kids when they hurt me with their words and actions, just like You forgive me.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

FearLESS! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ All those who want to be my disciples must come and follow me, because my servants must be where I am.  John 12: 26 (NLT)

Those who obey my commandments are the ones who love me.  John 14:21a (NLT)

Jesus replied, “ All those who love me will do what I say.”  John 14:23a  (NLT)

O~  Following, doing what Jesus says and loving Jesus all go hand in hand.

A~  I need to follow and obey wherever He leads.

P~  Dear Father, just the thought of possible situations I might find myself in by following you bring me fear.  I don’t want to live this way. I want to follow and obey you. Please give me courage.

A Troubled Spirit | Michelle Myers

S~ After he had said this, Jesus was troubled in spirit and testified, ‘I tell you the truth, one of you is going to betray me.’ His disciples stared at one another, at a loss to know which of them he meant. John 13:21-22 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is predicting his betrayal by Judas.

A~ Jesus’ troubled spirit is what stands out for me here.  I remember before everything came out in regards to my husband and his addiction, I had this overwhelming feeling that something BIG was about to happen.  It wasn’t going to be good.  It would shake the foundation of my marriage and my family.  I had no idea what it was, but I just had this troubled spirit in regards to the future of my marriage and family.  It was quite confusing at times, because personally, I was spiritually healing and growing.

Unlike Jesus, I didn’t have a clear picture of what this mean or what my purpose was in regards to it all.  Yet, this is what I now know:

I can see You way more clearly.

I have a much closer relationship with You.

I have a much more authentic relationship with my husband.

I have a much more authentic relationship with myself.  I am better able to tune out other people’s voices and hear You.  I am able to examine Your purpose for my life in accordance to the character, personality, and strengths You have given to me.

I have a much more realistic view of the world.  It is a freakin’ mess and will be until You come back.

My empathy, understanding, and acceptance of people and their messes (sins) is greater.  I am able to just love them better.

Having this knowledge of the world and people, I am better able to keep myself safe, by putting up appropriate boundaries.

Even when everyday junk does happen, my spirit isn’t so troubled anymore.  So, when something does trouble my spirit, I know that it is from You and it needs to be dealt with.  You have also shown me that my responsibility in dealing with it, only goes so far.  There is only so much I can do, and that is all You expect of me.  We are all responsible for our own choices, and will be held accountable to You.

P~ I am just so thankful for You, Your peace, and Your ability to use the messiness of life and people and turn it around, into something good that results in personal spiritual growth.  I am thankful for the healing that has occurred in my marriage and in my family.  It isn’t always clear amongst the rubble of addiction, but it is there.  Please help me be patient with the process.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh Nikki, I am right there with you. Nothing hurts this momma’s heart more than hateful words from one of my kids.

Leave a Reply

