December 19 John 5,6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Jesus Changes Everything | Joni Tyner

S~ One of the men lying there had been sick for thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him and knew he had been ill for a long time, he asked him, “Would you like to get well?”

“I can’t, sir,”  the sick man said, “for I have no one to put me into the pool when the water bubbles up. Someone else always gets there ahead of me.”

Jesus told him, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk!” John 5:5-8 (NLT)

O~ 38 YEARS.  This man laid near the pool watching other people go ahead of him for 38 years.  This man encountered Jesus and told him that he couldn’t be healed because no one would put him into the pool.  His situation was completely hopeless.  The Creator of the everything—the Creator of the pool he wanted to get into, asked him if he would like to get well and his answer was it was impossible, he said, “I can’t.”  He honestly didn’t believe that his situation could be different.  This man also believed the reason he couldn’t get well was because other people didn’t help him.

My observation is: this man needed Jesus to move him from hopelessness to victory!

A~ As Christmas approaches, it seems that the media highlights many stories of people who are in difficult situations and gives readers/viewers an opportunity to help with Christmas gifts/meals, ect.  I think this is good—we absolutely should be sensitive to the needs of the poor and give generously.  But, even more than they might desire a Christmas gift, they need the Hope of Jesus.  They, like this man, may have given up and felt like they could never-ever overcome their circumstances.  They need to encounter Jesus—He changes everything.

P~ Dear Lord,  You’ve wired me to be compassionate and I often see and feel for the need of others—it is how you gifted me. What I’m not so good at, is being bold with my faith and talking about You. Please help me to always have that be my end-goal.  I don’t want to just provide for a need, but to give people life-changing hope through encountering You.  Dear Lord, please teach me to use my compassion to lead others to You.  I know how You gifted me is unique and will look different than other people, but I want the reason for my giving to always point others to You.

I’m also praying this morning for every reader who feels they have a hopeless situation.  Maybe they feel stuck in their circumstances that never seem to change.  Dear Lord, pursue them relentlessly!!!! Come to where they are.  Maybe they can’t walk and have watched other people go ahead of them for years and years. Infuse their hearts with fresh hope that You change everything.  You are the absolute expert at taking sad, hopeless yuck and making it (usually over a period of time) beautiful.

We All Need You! | Michelle Myers

S~ Then Jesus said to him, “Get up!  Pick up your mat and walk.  At once the man was cured; he picked up his mat and walked.  John 5:8-9 (NIV)

O~ Prior to this, Jesus asked an invalid that had been lying at a pool for thirty-eight years,  if he wanted to get well.  The man replied, “I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred.  While I am trying to get in, someone else goes down ahead of me.”  John 5:7

The first time I heard this scripture was from a TV preacher that I had been watching.  This person described the invalid as someone who was whining and not willing to do their part.  That has been my interpretation since then, but today, a different perspective hit me.  What if the man’s claims were legit?  What if he had been trying with all his might for thirty-eight years to get into that stinkin’ pool and others sabotaged his efforts?  What if You let that happen, so in his utter frustration and years of trying, he was able to see You, bringing him closer to You, and then be able to witness about You and Your greatness.  What if this is a good example of, “It doesn’t matter how long I try, how hard I try, without Jesus, I won’t be able to do it on my own?”

A~ We had counseling today, and it actually went pretty well.  While listening to all of the communication advice, I felt kind of like the man at the well.  By far, most of it was stuff that we had heard before.  What we had heard before, I had tried over the years, and it got no where.  I could feel myself start to get frustrated, so I had to remember to look toward You.  That helped calm me, and I was able to do different and also address my hang-ups with it, concerns about it, etc.

One thing I did differently was not get defensive, but calmly direct my communication toward my husband.  I looked more at the counselor as someone to mediate and get us in the right direction. Doing this, allowed me to hear my husband validate my past efforts, and how they did not work. I was able to hear him validate my concerns going forward.  He said, “I get your concerns.  You see the same black guy sitting next to you that has for so many years, and when you did this before, it didn’t work.  I wasn’t in a place for it to work.  There was nothing that you could have done. I am hoping that my willingness now and my changes will help bring about that security going forward.”

The reality of the situation was that there was nothing more I could do.  You had to do it, and You will have to continue doing it going forward.  The glory belongs to You, and only You, on both our parts.  I couldn’t get him to really deal with his addiction and step up for me, our marriage, or our family.  He couldn’t keep me from leaving.  His voice wasn’t the one I was concerned about when I returned; therefore, it wasn’t him that got me back here.

I usually don’t understand what you are doing in my life.  But I am learning more and more to trust You.  I am learning about my own limitations.  I am learning more about my eternal purpose for being here,…..on earth, in this situation, in this marriage, etc.  And when I don’t understand it, I just need to remember to follow You, because You know what You are doing.

Jesus said in John 6:38, “For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me.”  There it is! It isn’t my life, to serve my own will and purpose, but a life that You gave to me, to serve Your will and purpose.  If I keep getting knocked down, while following You, I have to trust that is Your will and You will bring something good out of it.

P~ Thank you God for Your guidance.  I can’t do this on my own.  I need You. My husband and my kids need You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

