December 16 1 Peter 1,2,3,4,5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Don’t Slip Back! | Joni Tyner

S~ So you must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then.  1 Peter 1:14 (NLT)

O~ Peter, the author of this book–Peter, the disciple who denied Jesus 3 times, is contrasting a life before and after the transformation of Jesus.   I’m wondering if he is doing a bit a self-pep talk here?   He remembers who he used to be,  before Christ changed him. He now wants to be found faithful and live in obedience;  he doesn’t want to slip into his old ways, his attitude of talking about Jesus but fleeing when the pressure sets in.

A~ I used to do things I’m not proud of.  Things that were self-indulgent and selfish.  Activities there were far from what God’s best was for me.  I now know better, I have been called to live a more holy life, to identify myself with Christ.  I want to be found faithful at the end of my life by being obedient to His Word.  Yes, I’ve been forgiven for my past sins, but I shouldn’t keep going back there.  Like Peter, —  I know better than to behave that way.

P~ Dear Lord,  I need You to constantly keep me on track. My mind knows better, yet my fleshy self frequently whispers temptation into my ear. I know if I don’t intentionally seek You, I quickly drift into behavior that doesn’t give Your name glory. I want to do better!!!!  Thank you for the forgiveness that comes with trusting You.  I’m so thankful that I’m a changed person—yes, I’m still a work in progress, but I do desire to live for You.

Holy | Jill Terry

S~ But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.” 1 Peter 1:15-16 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is holy. I am supposed to be holy and to act in a manner that is Christ like. My behavior should shine Jesus for the whole world to see.

A~ Today wasn’t such a good day in the holiness department. I struggle with this aspect of Christian life. I want to be the light of Jesus to all and yet I struggle. I get frustrated and impatient so easily and as soon as it happens I feel bad. Sometimes when I am in a hurry or stressed, I am rude or unfriendly in my interactions with cashiers, drivers, my own family etc. I want to be holy. I want to show Jesus through my every interaction with everyone, yet I continually miss the mark. I try and pray for patience and wisdom on how to deal with these types of interactions more appropriately.My first response should always be prayer, but sometimes my mouth and attitude kicks in first.

I know I am better than I used to be because I am more aware of my need to be more like Him in every single interaction every single day.

P~ Lord, please help me to shine Your light to every person I come in contact with. Let them see You through me. Amen

Focus, or I Blow It | Michelle Myers

S~ Therefore, since Christ suffered in his body, arm yourselves also with the same attitude, because he who has suffered in his body is done with sin. 1 Peter 4:1 (NIV)

O~ Christ suffered physical pain.  I am sure that there also were things that grieved (hurt)  His spirit. Yet, because He stayed focused on His Father and His purpose, He was able to endure it, and not sin.

A~ There have been times when someone has grieved me, hurt me, treated me unfairly, unkindly, etc. and Jesus pops into my head.  I can hear the Holy Spirit telling me what Jesus would do. My emotions get the best of me, and  I blow it.  My first thought usually is, “OMG! How did Jesus do it? This is so freakin’ hard!”  After the dust settles from my UNGODLY reaction, I realize that He did it by staying focused on You.  He couldn’t have done it otherwise, and neither can I.

P~ Thank you God for Your forgiveness.  It REALLY is my heart’s desire to be more Christ like.  I have seen the benefit in it.  I know that when I obey, I know that I have done all I can do, and regardless of the outcome, that is all You require of me.  When emotions are strong, when I am tired, when I am blindsided, when my family is getting on my nerves, etc.; please help me remember that I can’t do it on my own.  I need to keep my focus on You and Your purpose for my life.

Maturing | Kelley Deases

S~ Therefore be clear minded and self-controlled so that you can pray.  1 Peter 4:7b (NIV)

O~ We were discussing in Bible study, which meets in my home once a week, how several of us have a practice of praying with and for our young children in the car just prior to dropping them off for school in the mornings.  That is, unless it has been “one of those mornings.”  You know, where the kids refuse to move and we as moms have to harp and nag and cajole and threaten.  Those mornings where they crumple into a ball of tears because we ran out of their favorite breakfast food…..and then we dissolve into tears over the way our day is shaping up.  On those days, it is near to impossible to eke out a simple prayer before sending them off….or even want to.  This is an all too common refrain for us moms of young kids when we meet together and get honest with one another.  We can only pray, in a calmer moment, for that clear-minded self-control Peter talks about here to prevail the next time we find ourselves in that crazy place.

A~ I have a friend and neighbor whose one son is just days apart in age from my son and they are regular play buddies.  The mom was just commenting to me the other day how she had noticed my son was really starting to “grow up” of late.  She has observed his demeanor being calmer and how he is better able to articulate when he’s having an issue and work toward finding a solution.  I chimed in how I have seen the same.  And one of the biggest strides he has made is in his ability to back himself down when he starts to get all worked up and is headed toward (or even in the throes of) a major meltdown.  Sometimes he catches himself before erupting.  Other times, it may take an hour or even overnight to regain perspective.  But he is developing the ability to exercise a new-found self-control so as to avoid a bad outcome, an angry mom, or a disagreeable consequence.  What a great example of the clear-minded and self-controlled posture Peter urges us to have as we petition our God in prayer.

P~  Jesus, Thank You for letting me witness a real maturity emerging in my young son, and for the spiritual lessons I get to glean as I am in the process of training him up.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 16, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

