December 14 Hebrews 12,13; Jude

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Correction is Proof of His Love For Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  And have you entirely forgotten the encouraging words God spoke to you, his children?  He said, “My child don’t ignore it when the Lord disciplines you, and don’t be discouraged when he corrects you.  For the Lord disciplines those he loves and he punishes those he accepts as his children”.

But God’s discipline is always right and good for us because it means we will share in his holiness.  No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it is painful!  But afterward there will be a quiet harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way.

So take a new grip with your tired hands and stand firm on your shaky legs.  Mark out a straight path for your feet. Then those who follow you though they are weak and lame, will not stumble and fall but will become strong.

Hebrews 12:5,6, 10-13 (NLT)

O~ God’s discipline is good for me, and he disciplines me because he loves me and accepts me as his child..  As I look to God and learn I get strength to stand and keep going and those who follow me though they are weak, will become strong (a promise!).

A~ I need to: 1. Remember that God correcting me and disciplining me is proof of his love for me  2. Ask Him what He is trying to teach me  3. Trust that those who follow me are being affected in a positive way from my choice to do # 1 and 2!

P~  Thank you Father for loving me.  Thank you for your truth and your promises!  I love you too. ❤

Discipline |Jill Terry

S~ Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children. For what children are not disciplined by their father? If you are not disciplined—and everyone undergoes discipline—then you are not legitimate, not true sons and daughters at all. Hebrews 12:7-8 (NIV)

O~ God corrects us and shows us the path He wants us to follow because He loves us.

A~ God is not like the word of faith or the name it and claim it preachers who say that God wants you to be rich and happy. These same preachers proclaim that if you aren’t happy, if your life isn’t easy and/or you are not vastly wealthy then you are not truly a believer. No! This is so wrong. God does not work this way. He wants me to live a life worthy of the sacrifice that Jesus paid for my sins. God wants me to be worthy, to be humble and to love others well. I am called to shine the light of Jesus to non-believers.

Bad things don’t happen because I am not a believer, they happen so I will follow Jesus more fully. I will have to rely on the only One who can help me. I am helpless to help myself. God never said my life would be easy once I became a follower, He only promised He would be with me every step of the way.

P~ Thank you Lord for showing me forgiveness and grace through Jesus. Help me to show the same mercy to others. Amen

70%..More Than Half-Heinie, but Not Perfect | Michelle Myers

S~ Make level paths for your feet, so that the lame may not be disabled, but rather healed. Hebrews 12:13 (NCV)

O~ Leading up to this scripture, the author of Hebrews (who is unknown) is talking about the importance of discipline, how God disciplines us for our good, etc.

A-Discipline in some areas is something that has eluded me.  The discipline to:

— exercise on a regular basis.

— to eat healthy or eat at all, as I have a tendency to skip meals on a regular basis.

— to consistently walk away and let it go, when my kids are being difficult.

— to read the word EVERY morning.

In fact, most areas of discipline I struggle with are areas where my own health and well being are impacted.  When it comes to my family, I don’t lack the discipline to consistently pick the kids up from school, make dinner, or even make sure the apartment is in somewhat suitable condition. Um, that is something to really ponder, and might be why I feel like a mess most days.  I also know that my family as a whole, lacks more discipline than I do.  This can easily disrupt the function and flow of our home.  I have gotten better about not picking up the slack for them,and letting them suffer the consequences.  Yet, it can still drive me nuts.

I think that part of it is, because I use it as an excuse to not deal with the areas that I am not disciplined in.  “I don’t have time for this or that, because they didn’t do what they were supposed to, and I had to do it.”  Let’s face it, it is just a crappy excuse.  If it was that important to me, I would do it regardless.  I wanted a shake from Chick-Fil-A the other day.  I wasn’t going anywhere, but wanted it bad enough I got in my van, drove out of my way, and got me a shake. But, struggle to walk the block to the gym at least 70% of the time.  Come on!

It is never going to be perfect.  And, as a perfectionist, I tend to go to the other extreme, when it isn’t going to be perfect and that is to do nothing.  So, for me personally and in regards to my family and their lack of follow through, You have shown me that 70% is a good number to shoot for.  Except for being in the word.  That I need to shoot for a 100%.  It is that important!  I may not be able to eat my dream breakfast every morning, but if I am hitting 70% it is way better than what I am doing now.  The same thing goes for exercise.  This is also what I need to look for in regards to my marriage.  As long as my husband is sticking to the hard line boundaries I have set, as long as he is doing his part in other areas of follow through that impact the function and flow of the house 70 % of the time (which is realistic for him); he is doing way more than he did prior to me leaving.  And most of the time, he is doing it with the right heart, and a genuine willingness to want to help.  70% may be what is needed for us to create a “level of enough path for our feet”.  And we can look at the good in that, instead of walking away frustrated, with a sense of failing, because we weren’t perfect.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom in regards to some of these areas that I keep getting hung up on.  Help me keep firm boundaries for myself, in regards to myself when it comes to my family. Please help me hold them to realistic expectations, and focus on the good that is going on in me and around me.  My God, I am more like my mother than I even realized.  Please heal this part of me, again!  You did once, and after all the junk we have been through, it came back and much of it, I didn’t even recognize until now.

It’s work | Nikki Metzger

S~ Work at living in peace with everyone, and work at living a holy life…. ~Hebrews 12:14a (NLT)

O~ This is not the lie of work based salvation, this is living a life of following after Jesus.

A~ Living at peace with everyone, mostly the people in my house is work.  Living a holy life, is work, especially in my life.  Yes!!  I agree!  Sometimes I think that because I know and love Jesus that everything is just going to fall into place.  That’s just not true, that’s never a promise to me and Jesus tells me opposite of that in His Word.  Why then do I ever think that life will just be easy and go with the flow all the time?

I’m wondering if I just need a pep talk about the truth of living in peace and living a holy life.  My children are going to fight, my daughter is going to challenge every.single.word that comes out of my mouth, I will have to repeat the table manners to my son six times in one meal.  So, why am I surprised when this happens?  Living at peace with everyone is WORK!!! And living a holy life is work.  It is work.  Such a beautiful work, but none the less….it’s work.  I honestly just don’t like hearing about work since I tend to run on the lazy side of things.  But it’s truth and God’s Word trumps my feelings every single time.

A part of living a holy life includes the things that I put in my mouth.  It’s work to figure that out!  To get to the store, cook healthy foods, meal prep, carve out time in the day for moving my body.  But God calls me to it.  I get to choose to do this work of living a holy life or not.  I also get to choose at living in peace with everyone or not.

P~ Father, thank You for Your Word!

Mercy Passed Along | Robin Laney

S~ Try to help those who argue against you. Be merciful to those who doubt. Save some by snatching them as from the very flames of hell itself. And as for others, help them to find the Lord by being kind to them, but be careful that you yourselves aren’t pulled along into their sins. Hate every trace of their sin while being merciful to them as sinners. Jude 1:22-23 (TLB)

O~ Jude ends his letter calling the Church to persevere, to fight for God’s Truth and, in these verses, gives directive on how to witness to others.

A~ The Gospel. Good News! It’s hard not to share. I want everyone I know and love to know Him like I do, to experience Him like I do, and have the Hope I have. I know what life is like without Him and I have walked with Him for now some 17 years. I want to share that! It seems like it would be so simple. Who wouldn’t want the power of the Holy Spirit? Who wouldn’t want the fruits of the Spirit? Who wouldn’t want to have eternal assurance? Turns out, plenty of people. I was once one of those people. I had so many reasons not to follow Jesus in my first 30 years – lack of exposure to the Gospel, fear of losing life as I knew it, lack of understanding of who God is, discouragement from others, shame, unbelief based on what I had been taught about Creation. Time after time, I put him off and sometimes, flat out, said, “No.”

As I share Jesus with others, He needs to constantly remind me of where I was each time He invited me to know Him. Those reminders are meant to make me sensitive and compassionate to those who doubt, not being overzealous, harsh, condemning, or argumentative. Each of our journeys with God begins with a movement of the Spirit in our hearts. I have to always remember there are no words eloquent or clever enough to save someone. That part is God’s. My part is to be sensitive to His leading, gentle with some and more assertive with others and patient in the process. God alone knows what each heart needs to hear and when. I am to be available and compassionate to each person I meet, sharing the good news in love and concern. I think of a doctor’s oath – First do no harm. In Paul’s letter to the Hebrews (v.12:15), he says, “See to it that no one misses the grace of God.” My sharing needs to be bathed in His grace and wrapped in love, with concern for the precious soul before me.

P~ Oh, Lord, direct my sharing of the Gospel. Give me the words to say and the courage to speak them at the right moments. Help me not to get ahead of You or lag behind in fear. Let my attitude be one of mercy and compassion with the salvation of each soul being the main thing. Keep me from fruitless arguments and an offended heart, knowing it is You that softens the hearts of those You are calling.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love what you shared today , Robin.

  2. Great notes today ladies. I could relate to each and every one of them.

Leave a Reply

