December 12 Hebrews 5,6,7,8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Continue On | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Our great desire is that you will keep right on loving others as long as life lasts, in order to make certain that what you hope for will come true.  Then you will not become spiritually dull or indifferent.  Hebrews 6:11,12 (NLT)

O~ These verses encourage me to be hopeful, to continue on, with prayer, with enthusiasm, with hope.

A~ I need to keep going. Even if I’m in the desert, keep going!

P~ Dear Father, I need your help, I feel dry and not hopeful. But you’re my hope!

Indifferent? LOVE people! | Kim Chipman

S~ Our great desire is that you will keep on loving others as long as life lasts, in order to make certain that what you hope for will come true. Then you will not become spiritually dull and indifferent. Hebrews 6:11-12a (NLT)

O~ Paul is talking in this section of Hebrews about spiritual growth.

A~ Love others to avoid spiritual dullness and indifference. Your 2 primary commands are for me to love You and love others. I can see how this can keep me from spiritual indifference. I usually sit with You in the early morning, in the quiet, in the dark, while my family is still sleeping. It’s much easier to hear your still small voice now. It also doesn’t really put my faith to the test much. If I really hope for spiritual maturity this side of heaven then I need to actually USE the lessons You teach me and APPLY some love on some unlovable people.

It is difficult (if not impossible) to be spiritually indifferent and love my people well. Like really love them. I need your power and strength and promises to do that. I can choose to trust You when I don’t see the fruit of my labor right away. I can choose to love grumpy teenagers and forgive when my feelings are really hurt because of all You have forgiven me. I can choose You, but it’s not easy and I cannot be spiritually indifferent and do it. I need You.

P~ Thank You for Your promises! Loving is hard, but it is so worth it. My selfish pride fights it. Humble me. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

