December 10 2 Timothy 1,2,3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Fan Into Flames | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ This is why I remind you to fan into flames the spiritual gift God gave you when I laid my hands on you.  For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self discipline.  2 Timothy 1:6,7 (NLT)

O~ Paul encouraged Timothy to use the gift God gave him, and reminded him that the Holy Spirit will help him.

A~ This encourages me to do the same.  Sometimes I get caught up seeing how great other’s gifts are that I don’t recognize my own.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for Holy Spirit and the gift you gave me. Help me to fan it into flames and walk in the power of the Holy Spirit..

Power, love, self discipline, sound mind | Nikki Metzger

S~ For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.  2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)

O~ The NKJV reads this verse as: For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

A~ God’s word is ALWAYS true.  Always.  Even if my feelings don’t align with the Word.  If that happens and my feelings or thoughts don’t align with Scripture – I’m wrong.  Scripture wins. I’m putting those versions of 2 Timothy 1:7 together because I love both of them – not sure if I can do that or not, but it’s my application to my life 🙂

Truth is that God has given me a spirit of power, a spirit of love, self-discipline, and a sound mind.  A spirit of fear or timidity are not from God. So how does this gift of power, love, self-discipline, and a sound mind apply in my life?

Power.  The same power that brought Jesus back from the dead.  The same power that hung the stars in the sky.  The same power that changes souls from dead to life.  This power is strong enough to change me and change my body so I’m healthier.

Love.  There is love.  So when I’m hangry or feeling deprived, there is a spirit of love in me that overrides all of those deprived or angry feelings.  That spirit of love trumps all.  So really, there should be no excuse for the world to know I’m eating differently because I’m so crabby!

Self discipline.  God gives ALL believers the ability to be self-disciplined.  Truth…..I am choosing not to follow the Spirit’s leading on this.  Ugh….I can’t write anymore on this right now.

And the gift of a sound mind.  When I go on a crazy eating cycle, I feel like someone takes over me and I just eat and eat.  That’s not from God.  God gives His children a sound mind.  If there was a way to recognize ‘Nikki who raids her pantry and not of a sound mind’ before she appeared, maybe that would help.

P~ Thank You for Your Word and the gifts of power, love, self-discipline, and a sound mind!  Give me strength and wisdom to choose You when challenges come.  I love You so very much!

Use ME! | Kim Chipman

S~ If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work. 2 Timothy 2:21 (NLT)

O~ Paul is encouraging Timothy to work hard for the Lord, to correctly and diligently teach the truth. Part of doing that effectively is not getting involved in foolish arguments and pursuing righteousness.

A~ The desire of my heart is to be used by You. I think I have a strong work ethic, I’m not afraid to work hard, I actually quite enjoy it. I like being productive and getting things done. There is a difference, though, in just doing a lot of work and being used by You. I know this to be true because I have done it both ways. I want to be used by You. I have to keep myself pure and I see that as a lot of heart work. Pure motives. Humble. Remain in You. Fix my thoughts on truth. Repent. Forgive. Obey. Then I will be ready for You to use me.

Oh, how I want that.

P~ Lord, help me to keep my heart pure. Help me see when I’m getting off track quickly. Help me to remain humble. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 10, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

