December 8 1 Timothy 1,2,3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Savior Of Us All | Jill Terry

S~ Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners–of whom I am the worst. 1 Timothy 1:15 (NIV)

O~ Jesus came to save us all not just a predestined few. We are all unworthy and most of us believe we are even more unworthy than Paul. Yet, God sent Jesus to save us all, we just need to accept His grace and forgiveness.

A~ Jesus is for all. Not just the holy and the good, but even me, the worst sinner of the bunch. I have accepted Him as my savior and I need to fully accept that He alone is in charge of my life. He isn’t in charge just when things go well or when they go terribly wrong, but every single second of every single day. He is my Deliverer.

P~ Thank you Jesus for the reminder that You alone are in charge. Amen

Use Me | Kim Chipman

S~ But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners. Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life. 1 Timothy 1:16 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to Timothy. In v15 he says “‘Christ came into the world to save sinners’-and I am the worst of them all.” Paul embraces his past and his weaknesses so that others can realize that Christ is for them, too! They can believe!

A~ This is where being vulnerable and genuine is incredibly vital to sharing faith. In You there is hope because I can’t do it on my own – and I don’t need to!

I’ve been reading “Daring Greatly” by Brene Brown and she talks about vulnerability and living fully connected and wholeheartedly. She talks about vulnerability and living fully connected and wholeheartedly. She talks about how her years of research showed that we all need to choose to feel worthy of love and belonging and connection and we need to have the courage to be genuine and vulnerable to live in connected community.

When I read her research and findings through the lens of sharing my faith I see Paul. I can learn from this. I AM the worst sinner of them all, but You have mercy on me and when I can be vulnerable about that and form safe, genuine relationships then others can see You. You can “use me as a prime example” so others can see You and realize that You are so near, so accessible, so filled with grace. Oh, how my heart desires that others could see You through me!

P~ Lord, I love You so much. I need You. I pray You can use me – please keep me humble so You shine through.

Facebook Slander | Joni Tyner

S~ I urge you, first of all to pray for all people. Ask God to help them, intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity. 1 Timothy 2:1-2  (NLT)

O~ Paul is urging Timothy, as well as us, to pray for ALL people. He specifically instructs us to intercede on their behalf and…what? Give thanks for them.

A~ I enjoy Facebook, I really do.  I have had some of my best bedtime giggles scrolling through my newsfeed as well as seeing encouraging stories of courage and faith.  Lots of good stuff .  and some other stuff too.   I don’t think I can hardly log on without seeing something that is slanderous to another person. It might be about our  president or perhaps a celebrity that is having a current life crisis after engaging into a new level of stupid.  I think every person who has a Facebook account has seen this, in fact it is why my husband refuses to have anything to do with it.

As I read through 1 Timothy this morning, I saw many different scriptures that I could journal about, yet I felt the Holy Spirit prompting me to go back to this particular one.  Am I praying for President Obama on an regular basis?  Or how about the celebrities that make the weekly tabloids?  Honestly, the answer is rarely-to-ever, mostly NO.  This scripture is getting me to rethink who I should be praying and interceding for.

Back to Facebook, I saw this week that Justin Bieber has become a new Christian and I clicked the links to several articles and scanned through them. My goodness were the Christians nasty about his declaration of faith in Jesus!! I couldn’t help wonder, have they prayed for his growth? Have they encouraged him?  They are judging based on his past, (and possibly some current) behavior and doubting the sincerity of what he says.  Now honestly, I have no idea—what-so-ever what Justin’s heart is and what God is going to do with his life, but for goodness sakes, he is just 21.  How is he different from many other college age kids that might use profanity and party a bit too much?  Just like me, his salvation is NOT based on what he does, and he can’t lose his salvation by doing a stupid thing.  I should be praying for Justin and others when I see questionable stories in the news.  God has an amazing plan for his life, (just like all of us) and it probably is going to take time to develop. His faith journey, like all of ours, will likely be filled with ups, downs and backsliding as the Holy Spirit convicts him to embrace more of the characteristics of Christ. Justin is a work in progress,  he doesn’t have less grace and mercy because he is famous.  Jesus died for him too and he gets the same grace as I do when he messes up.

P~ Dear Lord, first off, please forgive me for being that person who picks up a tabloid in the grocery store line.  I have honestly done that 100’s of times as I was bored and waiting my turn.  I  have been “entertained” by seeing slanderous articles of celebrities and I’m sure I’ve occasionally talked about them in conversations with people.  I have never once prayed for anyone on the tabloids that the Holy Spirit would stir their hearts or that marriages would be restored—I guess I thought they got what was coming to them because they are rich and famous.   Please forgive me for being so arrogant and insensitive to the fact that these are real people who have souls and that you desperately love and died for.  I also want to specifically pray for Justin this morning.  Dear Lord use every single interaction he has to unsettle his heart when it doesn’t align with Your will.  I pray he has crazy peace when he reads Your Word, that he has clarity and vision and embraces the purpose that You have given him.  I also pray he has the courage to surround himself with mature believers who can speak truth into his life and encourage him in the midst of his celebrity lifestyle. I pray you use Justin’s life to bring a bold revival in the college youth of today.  How exciting!!!!

Goodbye, Dripping Faucet | Tara Wiley

S~ “If anyone aspires to be an overseer (pastor), he does a noble work…” I Timothy 3:1 HCSB

O~ Paul spends a good chunk of time in I Timothy outlining how a leader in the church should behave, the external demonstrations of an internal, growing faith. It’s a daunting series of lists… only possible through the power of the Holy Spirit.

A~ My husband’s currently in seminary to prepare for full time ministry once his Air Force career is complete in 2 ½ years. That means that right now, he’s working full time, volunteering as a worship leader and more 20+ hours a week, and taking rigorous master’s level courses. At the moment, it’s wearing on him, and the classes (and his attitude about the current one in particular) are suffering.

I’ve been internally (and, ahem, perhaps externally) grumbling about this –not the Godly response. I’ve neglected addressing the level of warfare that is very real as Mo seeks to fulfill a call that several pastors over the years have encouraged him to pursue.

I need to stop grumbling and start praying, using I Timothy 4:14-16 as a guide:

Do not neglect the gift that is in you. It was given to you through prophecy, with the laying on of hands by the council of elders. Practice these things; be committed to them, so that your progress may be evident to all. Pay close attention to your life and your teaching; persevere in these things, for by doing this you will save both yourself and your hearers.”

P~ Lord, I’m convicted that I’ve had a bad attitude lately – that dripping faucet in Proverbs 27:15 comes to mind. Help me instead to be a prayer warrior and servant for my husband. This is a crazy season for him, full of extreme demands, and work is especially stressful this week, too. First, I pray for honor for him – I pray that You’d bless the work of his hands; that he’d find great fulfillment in his work; and that he’d be diligent to do well and be rewarded for his efforts. I pray for his current roles at church, that you would bring strong partners in the worship ministry who would support him; that he’d find deep satisfaction in this work and in mentoring others to lead with him; that he’d know where to step in with other leadership opportunities and when to step back. And, Lord, in the schoolwork- this is a big part of the preparation for the next season of our lives, but Mo really doesn’t enjoy any kind of school, let alone the drudgery of this current course. Lord, would You supernaturally strengthen him to apply diligence, to practice the work You’ve called him to even in the way he tackles class; to be committed, to find satisfaction in his progress; to pay close attention to what You are teaching him; to persevere. I stand against the enemy who would seek to steal, kill, and destroy the work You’re doing in Mo right now. I declare that he is sealed, covered, and protected by the shed blood of Jesus Christ, and has available to him the very power of the resurrection. Strengthen his resolve to remain close to You in prayer, in Your Word, in worship, in daily living. Fill me with strength to be the wife and support he needs right now, and fill the kids with grace to support their dad in this stressful season as well. In Jesus’ name, so be it!

*I wrote out this prayer several days ago in preparation for the blog. The very next day, Mo made time for us to have a sweet time of family devotions and worship around the breakfast table. It so filled all of our tanks, and was a real answer to the unspoken prayer of my need to be filled with some quality family time… and gave me the extra motivation and energy to be gracious and supportive. Thank You, Lord, for this unexpected answer to prayer. AND we got a new volunteer in the worship ministry who has led worship in the past – a real answer to prayer, too! God is good. 🙂

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. the funny this was, when I initially saw the articles and all the Christian comments about Justin Bieber, i was skeptical too. The Holy Spirit just kept bringing it up to me during the week and when I saw this scripture, it was like it was in BOLD type. I was so convicted that about the importance of seeing others through God’s eyes. I think the world has really tainted our vision to become cynical. I thought it interesting that both Jill and Kim wrote about being the “worst sinner” ( they are so NOT!!!:O ) yet of course we give them grace and get a celebrity is judged and condemned by every single sin that gets exploited and probably twisted. We really don’t know what they do with their money in private, perhaps they are secretly giving to Christian organizations, who knows? We really shouldn’t know if they do that, because it is spirital maturity to keep things like that private.

    I never in a MILLON years thought I would be writing a blog about Justin Bieber.

    Oh…the ways and roads that Jesus lead us on!!!

  2. Thanks for this truth Joni!

Leave a Reply

