December 5 Ephesians 5,6; Psalms 119:1-80

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Imitate God All Year | Joni Tyner

S~ Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. Ephesians 5:1 (NLT)

O~ Here we go again.  God is telling us to love.  I’m pretty sure everyone on the blog has written about loving others before. Why?? Because it is ALL OVER THE BIBLE.  This is important to God!

A~ “Imitate God.” – Our responses should be like Him.  Forgive quickly. Tolerate others. Be compassionate. Be generous.  Stop being selfish with ______.

“in everything you do.”—EVERYTHING is EVERYTHING.  Work. Leisure time. Recreation. Finances. Relationships—(ALL relationships, not just the ones you like!!)

“because you are His dear children.”   We are children of the King of Kings. We are loved. We have His inheritance—this should motivate us to response with—

“A life filled with love.”  Again, all we do in our life should be filled with love.  That means shopping, driving, working, etc.

P~ Dear Lord, help me to imitate you more accurately this Christmas season.  I desire it to be my lifestyle, not just Christmas goodwill.  I want to imitate you  the other 11 months of the year too!  Please help me to do this in a way that pleases You.

Holy Spirit | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Don’t act thoughtlessly, but try to understand what the Lord wants you to do.  Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life.  Instead, let the Holy Spirit fill and control you. Ephesians 5:17,18 (NLT)

O~ Part of my bible notes for verse 18: “We should not be concerned with how much of the Holy Spirit we have but with how much of us the Holy Spirit has.  Submit yourself daily to his leading and draw constantly on his power.

A~ These verses show me clearly what is in my power to do: 1. Try to understand what God wants me to do 2. Submit myself to the Holy Spirit’s leading

Like the notes say: it’s not how much of the Holy Spirit I have but how much of me the Holy Spirit has.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for your truth, thank you for Holy Spirit.  Help me listen carefully.

Stand Strong | Jill Terry

S~ Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. Ephesians 6:10-11 (ESV)

O/A~ As Christians, we must be strong in our faith to withstand the attack of the enemy. Last year, I did a precept study on the book of Esther. As part of the study, we were given a picture of what the “armor of God” looked like in biblical times as men prepared to go into battle. The formation the men stood in was designed to completely protect them from their enemy. The armor kept them from harm as long as they stood as one unit instead of by themselves.

turtle

This is true for me. I have found that the more I am immersed in God’s Word and surround myself with other believers, the stronger I am able to stand against the enemy. For far too long, I didn’t have any Jesus girls to be part of my armor. I tried standing alone due to fear of rejection or the fear that nobody would understand my struggles. Once, I surrounded myself with other believers and I heard their stories, I realized we all have struggles and self-doubt. It took me far too long for me too understand that we all need each other and the only way to make it through the battlefield safely is to stand firm with each other as believers.

I know all of this to be true, yet sometimes I still struggle with sharing my life with and my struggles. It seems I forget so fast. I try to go it alone and then God reminds me how much I need them to be part of my armor.

P~ Lord Jesus, Thank you so much for bringing these women in my life to help me stand firm in You. Please don’t let me forget how very much I need them. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. love the picture Jill!

Leave a Reply

