December 3 Romans 13,14,15,16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Personal Responsibility | Kim Chipman

S~ Who are you to condemn someone else’s servants? Their own master will judge whether they stand or fall. And with the Lord’s help, they will stand and receive his approval. Yes, each of us will give a personal account to God. Romans 14:4, 12 (NLT)

O~ Paul is speaking to believers about other believers.

A~ This definitely falls in the simple (to understand) but not easy (to do) category.

Mastering it is a key to freedom like none other. I have enough to worry about to get my own heart straight. I don’t need to waste my time criticizing others. Who am I to do that anyway! They are accountable to You! I am free from their consequences and also free from responsibility for the choices others’ make.

That’s some freedom right there. Just worry about my own junk – that’s quite enough!

P~ Each of us will give a personal account to You. This is both freeing and sobering. Help me to remember how much You hate sin and get my heart right. Help me also to be an encourager, not speak condemnation…it’s not my place! I love You!

Listen to My Conscience | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But if people have doubts about whether they should eat something, they shouldn’t eat it.  They would be condemned for not acting in faith before God.  If you do anything you believe is not right, you are sinning.  Romans 14:23b  (NLT)

O~ The notes in my bible:  “We try to steer clear of actions forbidden by Scripture, of course, but sometimes Scripture is silent.  Then we should follow our consciences. ‘If you do anything you believe is not right’, means that to go against a conviction will leave a person with a guilty or uneasy conscience.  When God shows us that something is wrong for us, we should avoid it.  But we should not look down on other Christians who exercise their freedom in those areas.”

A~ This reminds me to listen to my conscience and that a lot of times what is ok for others might not be ok for me, what’s ok for me might not be for others. I tend to doubt myself in these instances. I can trust God to show me what is right for me and ask him for help when the temptation to look at what others do or not do comes.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for your guidance. Help me to be sensitive to Holy Spirit.

Nut House | Michelle Myers

S~ May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13 (NCV)

O/A~ I need to trust in You, because some days, living with one teenager, one soon to be teenager, and a husband whose thinking patterns and processing has been altered by an addiction; I feel like I live in a nut house.  Trying to figure out where they are coming from, processing their responses or lack of, and working through my own emotions, can sometimes make me feel like I am going nuts. When these things occur, there isn’t a lot of joy or peace.  When this happens, I know that I have let go of my connection to You.  I start to put my trust into people, and that will more than likely result in my joy eventually going out the window and my peace being sucked out of me like a tornado sucks a roof off of a house.  Then, I can easily get into trying to figure things out.  Things that I know from the get go are irrational, illogical, and sometimes just down right insane.  If my joy and peace isn’t gone before the “over thinking” occurs, it surely is after.

P~ Thank you God for the Holy Spirit.  Without Him, this journey would be way harder than it already is.  When my circumstance seem hopeless, and I am on the verge of losing my peace and joy, please remind me that I need to re-connect with You.  Please remind me that I don’t need to be hopeless, because nothing is impossible for You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

