December 2 Romans 9, 10, 11, 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Irrevocable | Michelle Myers

S~ For God’s gifts and his call are irrevocable.  Romans 11:26 (NIV)

O~ According to Webster’s Dictionary, irrevocable means not capable of being changed, impossible to revoke, and unalterable.  It sounds like they are pretty solid and set in stone.

A~ When I am tired and worn down, I spend a lot of time battling with You about my gifts and calling. Some days, it seems too hard.  Most days, I struggle to see my gifts or feel that I am any good at what you have called me to do.  Some days, when I have tried and done all I can, and the results still stink or the people in my life seem so unappreciative or want more than I can give; it feels impossible.

P~ As much as I fight against it at times or struggle to really see it; I am thankful for your stability.  I am thankful that you are irrevocable.  Please help me cling to You, when the people in my life, create chaotic circumstances that leave me feeling like their is nothing stable or dependable in my life.

Take Delight | Kim Chipman

S~ Don’t just pretend to love others. Really love them. Hate what is wrong. Hold tightly to what is good. Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other. Romans 12:9-10 (NLT)

O~ Paul is speaking directly to how we should live. There is a deeper work God wants to do in us than just behaving and doing the right things.

A~ You want my heart. You want me transformed. You don’t just want me to serve others, but to “take delight in honoring each other”. That speaks to the thoughts I’m thinking while I’m doing it and the motivations I have. Don’t just put on a show. Don’t just pretend. Really love. Take delight in honoring each other.

Sometimes my heart gets messed up and I can fall into the role of victim/martyr in my own mind.

P~ Help my heart to serve You by serving others from a genuine place. Help me to be genuine and vulnerable. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

