November 29 1 Thessalonians 4,5; 2 Thessalonians 1,2,3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Will | Kim Chipman

S~ Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NLT)

O/A~ Simple (to understand) but not easy (to do). This has been a theme for me. These verses absolutely fall into this category. The enemy wants to make this think complicated, but it really isn’t. It’s simple. But not easy.

The thing is – I think – that one indicator of spiritual maturity is the choice to do these things…and doing these things is the path to growing in maturity…which comes first the chicken or the egg I do not know. Always, continually, in all circumstances. Fix my thoughts and my heart regardless of the situation or trial…or comfort. Turn toward You. Praise You.

For all the fretting about figuring out the elusive “God’s will for my life” that people fuss about – here it is! THIS is God’s will for you! Whomever you are, this is it! Rejoice, pray and give thanks…repeat.

P~ Lord, thank you for making this journey with You simple. I know Your desire is that no one would be destroyed, but everyone would repent. There is absolutely a battle for my soul raging, but You always provide a way out when I’m tempted. Help me to remember You’ve already won. Help me to remain…apart from You I can do nothing. I love You!

Hold on to the good! | Nikki Metzger

S~ but test everything that is said.  Hold on to what is good. 1 Thessalonians 5:21 (NLT)

O~ Paul is encouraging the church with this advice.  Everything that is said should be tested.  What is said to us, what is said around us, what we say to others, what we allow others to speak into us.  All that is said should be tested.

What is our testing standard for what is said?  Is it my belief system that’s my testing standard?  Is it what CNN or Fox News says?  What my upbringing or what my parents say, is that my testing standard?  Or should my testing standard be what my pastor’s say?  My testing standard needs to be truth, God’s truth.

A~ God, You have worked miracles in my life in regards to what people say!  Thank You for that!  But, my thoughts, words, dialogue that runs through my head about me…do I test that with Your truth?

And what about the holding onto the good stuff?  I know sometimes I keep the negative in my heart and let go of the good words.

I just give myself permission to not take other’s words and my thoughts to become part of who I am or direct my emotions ’till I test those words and thoughts to God’s truth first!  And then – I will just hold onto the good stuff.

P~ God, my thoughts are so important in the direction they take my day!  Help me to test everything that I think, say, hear and to only keep the good stuff!

God’s Encouragement | Michelle Myers

S~ May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word. 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17 (NIV)

O/A~ This was in Paul’s letter to the Thessalonians.  Here he is trying to encourage them, by asking for encouragement for them through Jesus and God.  Encouragement is an important aspect of my journey.  I have spent many of my days discouraged.  However, I have found that there is nothing like YOUR encouragement.  Others can give me an uplifting word.  They can point out the good, as they see it.  They are well meaning.  Just as I am, when I am trying to find words to comfort someone going through difficult circumstances, that I myself, have not had to live through; therefore, have a very limited perspective of.   However, when YOU encourage me, it is different.  I know YOU see me…the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I know YOU know the big picture of my circumstances.  I know, above and beyond, any human, including myself, YOU have the power and ability to change my character and my circumstances.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR encouragement.  As I am having some anxiety about seeing a counselor again with my husband, and trusting in the good that may come as a result of it, I need YOUR encouragement.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

