November 26 Matthew 23,24,25

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Be Ready! | Kim Chipman

S~ So you, too, must keep watch! For you don’t know what day your Lord is coming. Matthew 24:42 (NLT)

O~ This is Jesus speaking. He is teaching about the second coming. He says no one will know when it will happen, and just like in Noah’s day people will just be going about their life until suddenly it will all change.  v44 you must be ready all the time, for the Son of Man will come when least expected.

A~ Recently, in my life, I have seen this to be true. There have been many people in my circle that have died suddenly. Many. People just going about their life until they weren’t anymore. So, am I ready? Am I keeping watch? Complacent? Lazy? Procrastinating? Diligent? Listening? Obedient? I don’t know when You’re coming…or when I’m going…

P~ Lord, help me to see if I’m being lazy and complacent. Or maybe WHERE in my life I am. I’m sure I am in some relationships. Help me hear You and be willing to obey quickly. For Your glory. I love You!

Good and Faithful Parents | Kelley Deases

S~ The man who had received the five talents brought the other five. ‘Master, ‘ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five talents.  See, I have gained five more.’  His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness.’ Matthew 25:20-21 (NIV)

O~ In this parable, one servant was entrusted with a certain sum.  He not only preserved that sum, but, over time, doubled it before returning it to his master.  He made the most of what he was given and was rewarded with even more.

A~ God must surely smile when He sees the generosity of my parents.  He watched them scrimp and save as they plodded through the lean years with young kids, mainly on one (government) income.  They were wise to live within their means and to invest for the future.  Now, in their retirement, they never miss an opportunity to bless not only their family but to seek out and meet needs they see in their church and in their community.  My mother, in particular, who was raised in poverty, does not take for granted the wealth they have built and is highly sensitive to notice needs around her, giving freely of her time, talents, and treasure on every occasion.  She is my example of what it looks like to be a faithful servant of God.

P~ Father, I do not take for granted the blessing I have received in having my parents as my parents.  I love them and the amazing example they have always been of true stewardship.

Work Just for Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The master said, ‘Well done my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities.  Let’s celebrate together!’    Matthew 25:23 (NLT)

O~ This verse and verse 21 both say, ‘ you have been faithful in handling this small amount..’ even though they were entrusted with different amounts.  The notes in my bible read: The master divided the money among his servants according to their abilities.  No one received more or less than he could handle.

A~ This shows me that God has given each of us a job to do that is suited for each of us. So there’s no room for comparison because even though he gave one servant more than the other, when he called them to account he said the same thing to both.  I need to be enthusiastic and do my best with what God has given me and not be concerned with what he gave someone else.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for what you have given me. If I’m not walking in that please lead me back.  I feel like I’m thriving when around my children.  If my focus is not where it needs to be please show me.  Thank you.

Thanksgiving in Motion | Joni Tyner

S~ All the nations will be gathered in his presence, and he will separate the people as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep at his right hand and the goats at his left.   Matthew 25:32-33 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is teaching to His disciples and talking about the final judgment in Heaven.  The majority of today’s reading is about His return and being prepared for that day.

A~ Today is Thanksgiving and I wanted to write a journal about gratitude—except the reading was about Jesus’s return.  Of course I’m grateful to be a child of God…but what I see in today’s scripture is that we need to respond with action to what Jesus has given us.  A truly grateful heart responds with action.  It is more than just a feeling, it is more than just saying thank you.  There is a heartfelt response with genuine  gratitude.  In Matthew 26:34-45, Jesus asks who has given a drink to the thirsty, hospitality to the stranger, kindness to those who are sick and in prison.

So, as I reflect on all He has given me this Thanksgiving, I need to do more than verbalize it over a calorie laden meal, I need to put my gratitude into action and share with others the Good News!!  One day, we all will be judged and He WILL know the difference between those who talked about faith and those who embraced their faith and shared with others.

P~ Dear Lord, please help me to be faithful with what you have given me.  I have been given much, thus I have the responsibility to share with others and lead others to You.  Help me do this, I’m weak in sharing my faith but I know You will excel in my weaknesses.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

