November 23 Matthew 14,15,16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I’m sinking!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him.  “You have so little faith,” Jesus said.  “Why did you doubt Me?” Matthew 14:31 (NLT)

O~ The disciples had been caught in a storm, Jesus walked on water to get to them.  Peter asked if he could walk on the water too.  And he did!!  When he saw the waves he started to sink.  Jesus saved Peter.

A~ So last night, after five days of eating healthy, I failed!  I justified my unhealthy dinner every which way.  I’m feeling a little like Peter, making a step out of the boat with eating healthy and really reading through Scripture with a focus on this area of my life.  And I’m sinking!

Jesus IMMEDIATELY grabbed Peter after Peter asked Him to save him.  And when Jesus speaks, I don’t think it’s condemnation to Peter.  I think Jesus recognizes that little faith Peter had and Jesus knows how powerful and might and strong and reliable that HE is.

It’s just like me – I’m sinking right now.  Do I ask Jesus to save me?  And what about what I believe….do I have little faith that I could ever change?  Do I believe that God could ever make me healthy?

P~ Father, Jesus, please save me!  Jesus, why do I have so little faith?  Why do I doubt You in this area of my life?  I don’t want to!  Please teach me and help me apply what You teach me!  Faith in action in regards to my health…

My Heart | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  For from the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, all other sexual immorality, theft, lying and slander.  Matthew 15:19  (NLT)

O~  My heart is where evil thoughts come from. Proverbs 4:23-25 Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.  Avoid all perverse talk; stay away from corrupt speech. Look straight ahead, and fix your eyes on what lies before you.

A~  My heart, the first to feel the pain, the hurt, the rejection, the sadness…but I can go to God with all this, he understands it and he can help me process it so that my heart does not turn to evil.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for your word, your truth and life. Please show me how to guard my heart. Help me remember to turn to you and process with you. I love you.

Help My Unbelief | Jill Terry

S~ Aware of their discussion, Jesus asked, “You of little faith, why are you talking among yourselves about having no bread? Do you still not understand? Don’t you remember the five loaves for the five thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? Or the seven loaves for the four thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? Matthew 16:8-10 (NIV)

O~ The apostles continued to doubt Jesus regardless of the number of miracles He performed in front of them.

A~ I so often feel like one of the doubting apostles. I so easily forget the many miracles God has performed in my own life. I whine and complain thinking God isn’t listening while neglecting to remember all of the times He was so apparent in my life. I wonder if sometimes He isn’t up in Heaven banging his head against the wall and thinking “ Really Jill? Did you REALLY forget AGAIN?” I just need to change my mindset to an attitude of gratitude.

I heard something recently that really stuck with me, “ Worry is the absence of humility.” When I worry about something that God is in utter control over, I am behaving as if I believe I am more capable than He is in solving my problems. My first response should always be “ It’s in Your hands, Lord.” I need to leave it with Him as well, not pick it up a few hours or days later and worry about it some more. I must fully give it to God and have utter confidence that God is in charge and that God will handle it all.

P~ Thank You Lord for showing me when I struggle that You are always there and always will be. I love You. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

