November 21 Matthew 8,9,10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Personally | Kelley Deases

S~  A man with leprosy came and knelt before him and said, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.”  Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man, “I am willing,” he said, “Be clean!”  Immediately he was cured of his leprosy.  Matthew 8:2-3 (NIV)

O~ This morning I was struck by just how unique every person’s encounter with Jesus is.  Just taking a look the healings alone, people’s approaches to Jesus and his responses to them vary widely.  This particular man, stricken with leprosy and as good as dead in his culture’s view, drew near to Jesus and knelt humbly before him to make his plea.  He affirms Christ’s power and authority by his words.  In answer, Jesus touches the “untouchable” and “unclean” and restores him to health.

A~ The miracle for me today is to know God sees me, knows me intimately, and wants to have a relationship with me that is distinctive just to Him and me.  The way He speaks to me, works in my circumstances, and offers me revelation makes mine a one-of-a-kind testimony.  I love swapping stories with my husband and family and friends about how God is moving as only He can in each of our lives.  He works in ways calculated to speak to our hearts in a deep way and, hopefully, will cause us to want to tell others about it.

P~ Father, Thank You for uniquely calling me, uniquely healing me, and uniquely equipping me to uniquely use me.  For Your glory!

Know Me | Kim Chipman

S~ When Jesus heard this, he said, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do.” Then he added, “Now go and learn the meaning of this Scripture: ‘I want you to show mercy, not offer sacrifices.’ For I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.” Matthew 9:12-13 (NLT)

O~I want you to show love, not offer sacrifices. I want you to know me more than I want burnt offerings.” Hosea 6:6

A~ You want to know me MORE than You want my activities. That’s not to say I can’t do stuff for You, but You really want my heart. I need to remember my need for You. You can grow me when my heart is humble. I think of my own kids…I do want them to do their chores and homework, but MORE than that I want to know them, have a relationship with them, have them do those things because they love me and they love our family and want to contribute to the greater good. Nothing gets me fired up quicker than a harsh attitude of disdain and entitlement. My heart is important to You. My sinful, needy, pride-filled heart.

P~ Help me to continually remember my need for You. Humble me. Pride says “I’ve got this”, but apart from You I can do nothing. I need You. I love You.

Smart as a Snake and Innocent as a Dove | Michelle Myers

S~ When you are arrested, don’t worry about what to say or how to say it.  At that time you will be given the things to say.  It will not really be you speaking, but the the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.  Matthew 10:19-20 (NCV)

O/A~ Jesus is sending out his Apostles to spread The Good News.  He does not paint a pretty picture for them.  He tells them straight up, you will be rejected, beaten, arrested, etc.  He tells them, “Listen, I am sending you out like sheep among wolves.  So, be as smart as snakes and as innocent as doves.”  Matthew 10:16

As I look at the situation in its entirety, and thought about the Apostles, and where their emotions were at, at this point, or even at the points of being rejected, beaten, or arrested, I wondered how they emotionally responded.  Those are some pretty major things to have to endure and keep composure while enduring.  I am sure that as human beings, it wasn’t easy.  I am sure as human beings, it wasn’t something they could have done without YOUR help.

So, where does this apply to my life, because I am probably not going to beaten or arrested for following You, but there are some things that I have to endure that are very difficult.  I know that when I am emotionally charged, I am not “as smart as a snake and as innocent as doves”.  My volume goes up.  My mind goes haywire.  My words can be yucky and just spew from my mouth, before I even realize what I am saying.  My spirit is not at peace.  I am not connected to You.

To be “as smart as a snake” and “innocent as doves”, I need to stay connected to you.  If I don’t, my emotions take over and I can’t hear what You are trying to speak through me.  And here’s the catch, even if I stay emotionally stable, smart, and innocent; people’s responses to me may not be. This has often confused me, because it is not logical or rational.

Yet, You tell me what to do in these situations.  Your Word says, “And if a home or town refuses to welcome you or listen to you, leave that place and shake its dust off your feet.  I tell you the truth, on the Judgment Day it will be better for the towns of Sodom and Gomorrah than for the people of that town.” Matthew 10:14-15

I don’t have to keep trying to explain logic and rationality to them.  I don’t have to let their response get me emotionally charged, causing me to lose my peace and become an emotional mess.  If I am calm, smart, innocent, and connected to You, and using the words You gave me; and they don’t respond well, change their actions, or even want to hear wisdom; I just need to move on with myself.  I can take comfort in knowing that You saw me do my part.  They are accountable to You for doing their part.  That is THEIR choice.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR clarity as to why I feel like I am going around the same mountain in regards to some relationships.  Please help me be as smart as a snake and as innocent as a dove. Please help me stay calm, stable, and connected to You.  Help me “move on with myself” and release the words, actions, and reactions of others to You.  And, please help those that are blind and deceived.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 21, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

