November 17 2 Corinthians 7,8,9,10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Finish what you started | Nikki Metzger

S~ Here is my advice: It would be good for you to finish what you started a year ago. 2 Corinthians 8:10a (NLT)

O~ Paul is talking giving here.  A year ago, this church was really excited about this, and maybe the follow through fizzled out.

A~ God to me about weight loss:  Here is my advice: It would be good for you to finish what you started a year ago. Do I ever finish anything I start?  Losing weight has been a struggle for me my whole adult life.  It’s my next step though.  It’s going to be hard work. I think God is calling me to read through Scripture with weight loss, health in mind.  So I was thinking I’d start at the new year, but it would be good for me to finish what I started a year ago.

P~ Father, I love You!  What did Abram feel like when You told him to leave Haran?  I don’t really want to do the work and I feel like a failure when I try this weight loss thing over and over and fail again and again.  Show me who I really am through this process.  I am not a failure, that’s a lie.  I’m Your daughter and the power that raised Jesus from the dead lives in me!  Grow my heart toward You through this.  I pray in Jesus’ Name!

Help with Lasting Enthusiasm | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Now you should carry this project through to completion just as enthusiastically as you began it.  Give whatever you can according to what you have.  2 Corinthians 8:11 (NLT)

O~ God wants me to give what I can according to what I have.  My enthusiasm should remain as it was at first.

A~ I was enthusiastic to give to and help this person in my life but my enthusiasm and desire to help disappeared in the face of me doing more that I can and the person expecting it.  Now I can go back and complete this with a better understanding of what I am able to provide.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for this. Help me to know what I can help with. Help me to be ok with what I’m able to help with when the need is greater that what I can provide for.

Warrior UP! | Kim Chipman

S~ We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:4 (NLT), 10:5 (NIV)

O/A~ “God’s might weapons” = prayer, faith, hope, love, God’s Word, and the Holy Spirit (Eph 6:13-18)

~knock down strongholds/destroy false arguments = identify Satan’s deceptive lies and replace them with Your truth

~take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ = Every. Thought. I’ve been realizing just how incredibly important and powerful this is. The lies that prevent me from knowing You deeply are many and sneaky and so easy to miss!…things like…This will never change – I will never change – It’s not worth it – It doesn’t matter – It’s too small to make a difference – I can’t impact anything – I’ll never be good enough – I should be ashamed – I can’t share my failures – I AM a failure – God can’t use me – I’m a terrible Mom and my kids are going to need therapy…on and on and on it goes…

These are some of MY lies. I tell myself these things. I can continue thinking them and stay in emotional jail, paralyzed, OR use Your Word and the Holy Spirit’s guiding to destroy/replace them. The dictionary defines a stronghold as “a well fortified place; a fortress”.

So, in my mind I picture a fortress. While it may be safe, you can’t win a war in there. You are insulated, but not even fighting. If I’m going to engage in the battle to WIN I need to come out of the safe, insulated place and FIGHT. I don’t want to just survive life I want a victorious life. The life You died for me to have – life to the full (John 10:10).

So I’m going to warrior UP and fight. Fight using Your Word. Fight using prayer, faith, hope, and love. Fight by inviting the Holy Spirit to rule my heart. Fight by choosing this with EACH THOUGHT. Capture each one and make it obedient to You.  ALL for Your glory. So many will see Your work in me. Imperfect, messy me.

P~ Thank You for the weapons You give me to use in battle! I pray that I use them effectively. So You will be glorified and many come to know You. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

