November 16 2 Corinthians 3,4,5,6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Reflect | Kim Chipman

S~ So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image. 2 Corinthians 3:18 (NLT)

O~ Paul is teaching about the glory (awesomeness) of the new covenant (Jesus). The old covenant was following rules – the Law. The new covenant is life in the Spirit – freedom! Jesus came, lived, died and rose again and ushered in the new covenant then left the Holy Spirit and FREEDOM!

A~ Oh my I’m so thankful for Jesus and the Holy Spirit!

*”So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the flory of the lord…” — the veil is a barrier in our minds to hearing/understanding Your truth. v14 “this veil can be removed only by believing in Christ.” v16 “But whenever someone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.” I wonder if this refers not only to my initial salvation, but also to how we walk through life. At any given time I can be turned toward You – or not. Perhaps the truth gets hindered a bit when my focus is wrong? When I’m turned toward You I can see You and reflect You.

*”and the Lord – who is the Spirit – makes us more and more like Him as we are changed into His glorious image.” This is such a journey, not just a place to arrive. You do the changing within me. And it is a PROCESS, but if I choose to turn to you I WILL look more and more like You. I will be transformed.

P~ Thank You for Your Word – Your truth! Help me to continually turn toward You so I can see and reflect Your glory. I love You!

Suffering | Nikki Metzger

S~ Through suffering, our bodies continue to share in the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies. 2 Corinthians 4:10 (NLT)

O/A~ I’m uncomfortable in saying that I can suffer by choosing healthy foods. Doesn’t that sound horrible? My suffering, or part of it, is choosing healthy things in moderation to eat. While there are people truly starving in our world? Why can’t I get this food thing under control? Why does it even matter? Well, my food battle is definitely a spiritual battle. But I want more. I want victory and I want blessing in this area of my life. And I know that victory and blessing come from the Lord.

I want the life of Jesus to be seen in me. Seriously, if I had to pick any area of my life that looks the least spiritual – it would be my health. Medically, I’m obese. My food choices, lack of discipline do not represent whose kid I am. There is a disconnect between my health and what I believe about My Father.

P~ Father, I desire ALL of me to be ALL about You!

Be Separate | Kelley Deases

S~ ‘Therefore come out from them and be separate,’ says the Lord.  2 Corinthians 6:17 (NIV)

O~  Paul is warning the believers in Corinth not to intermingle the truth of the gospel with other false teaching and doctrines prevailing in the culture.  Our faith, and our lives as we seek to walk out our faith, should look different.  We are called to be separate and apart.  Called out by name to get off the wide highway that leads to destruction and traverse the narrow road which leads to life.  That will mean we are to look different, talk different, and prioritize our lives in a different way than the world looks, talks, and sets priority.

A~  As I write this, I have separated myself from my home, my family, my job and my to-do list.  For a day-and-a-half anyway.  Along with a few friends, I have retreated outside of town to a place akin to a Christ-centered bed and breakfast where we can unplug, spend time alone with Jesus and with good girlfriends, and enjoy some Sabbath rest and refreshment before our re-entry into life back home.  This kind of separation is good for my soul, and I anticipate returning that much more centered as a wife and a mom and a mentor and a disciple of Christ.  I will want to keep with me some of this “separate-ness,” though, when I return, lest I get fully immersed in the ways and worries of the world when it’s over.  In it, not of it, right?

P~  Father, My heart is bursting with joy and gratitude for this separate, sacred time I am allowed with my “sisters” and with You.  Help me to hold on to this sense of maintaining my separation from the world and all its troubles, and clinging to the peace and hope I find in You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 16, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

