November 15 Job 41,42; 2 Corinthians 1,2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Fear of the Lord | Kelley Deases

S~ I know that You can do all things; no plan of Yours can be thwarted. Job 42:2 (NIV)

O~ After hearing the Lord’s audible voice “out of the storm” (Chapter 40) Job is completely humbled and can only utter words acknowledging God’s total power and absolute omnipotence. He no longer demands an audience from God nor seeks to plead his case.

A~ Oftentimes my own approach to God is too casual, too familiar, far short of the fearsome awe He demands from His created. Job completely changes his tune, from a man of many words to a man of very few. This reminds me of just Who it is I am praying to, answering to, and dealing with — The Almighty God, the Alpha and the Omega, ….

P~ Heavenly Father, Please teach me daily to live in the proper state of reverence and awe of You.

Now I Have Seen You | Kim Chipman

S~ I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes. Job 42:5 (NLT)

O~ Job humbled himself before the Lord. After all his suffering, grief, misery, questioning…God revealed Himself and reminded Job (harshly, for 4 entire chapters) just exactly who He is. Job was repentant for questioning God and not trusting Him.

A~ This is a lesson I need to remember also. Job realized he saw You, he saw Your character, he saw Your Sovereignty. I see glimpses of this, too. My heart did only hear about You for a time, but through circumstances, struggles, pain…through seeking you with all my heart I have come to know You. You have provided, comforted and guided me. Just like Job I need to remember who You are and grow in trust of You and Your character on every part of my path. Regardless of my circumstances You never change. Now I know You.

P~ Thank you for Your Word…that I can know you personally and intimately. Help me to choose thoughts that are fixed on Your Truth so that when things don’t make sense I will choose to trust You instead of questioning You. I love You.

My Troubles Can Benefit Others | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ So when we are weighed down with troubles, it is for your benefit and salvation!  For when God comforts us, it is so that we, in turn, can be an encouragement to you.  Then you can patiently endure the same things we suffer.  2 Corinthians 1:6 (NLT)

O~ There is a reason for suffering or struggles (not the only reason, but it is one). Also says ‘when God comforts us..’ So God comforts us in our troubles then we can turn around and comfort others who face similar struggles, so that they may endure. This also shows me that I can look to those who went before me and faced similar struggles as me and learn from them.

A~ I don’t need to be ashamed of my troubles and hide them or feel like why is this happening? I need to turn to God and receive his help, his comfort.  I need to embrace the troubles and run from them or freak out because they’re there, as if troubles aren’t supposed to come my way (ugghh- help me to get this!).  Then I can help others who face similar struggles.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for this perspective on troubles in life.  You know me and know what I need to hear. Help get this from my head to my heart.  Help me not run but embrace troubles and accept your help.  I love you.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

