November 12 Job 37,38; 1 Corinthians 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Power Of God | Joni Tyner

S~ Pay attention to this, Job.

Stop and consider the wonderful miracles of God!

Do you know how God controls the storm

and causes the lightning to flash from His clouds?

Do you understand how He moves the clouds

With wonderful perfection and skill?

When you are sweltering in your clothes

and the south winds dies down and everything is still,

He makes the skies reflect the heat like a bronze mirror.

Can you do that?”  Elihu talking to Job,  Job 37:14-18  (NLT)

O~ Elihu is reminding Job of God’s amazing power, specifically in the mysteries of nature.

A~ I found this scripture interesting  that 1,000’s of years ago, humans were perplexed by storms and why some days get so hot.

Some things never change—I find myself often checking my phone to see what the weather will be. Is there a storm icon for tomorrow?  Will I be sweltering in those fall boots I want to wear?  Who knows?.  There is always a percentage sign behind the storm icon that tells me it might, or might not happen.

Application:  God is in control and we are not.

P~ Dear Father, I enjoyed this reminder this morning.  Why do we often think we are so smart as we use our smart phones and check out what the experts say about ______ on Google?  Humans STILL can’t control the storm clouds or the daily temperature.  You.Are.God. –and nobody else on Earth even comes close.  I am so thankful that You never change.

God’s Conversation | Kelley Deases

S~ Who is this that darkens my counsel with words without knowledge?  Brace yourself like a man; I will question you and you will answer me. Job 38:2-3 (NIV)

O~  Sometimes I can read the same passage of Scripture at different times in my life and read something new each time, maybe specific to my personal circumstance.  But not in this case.  Every time, these words hit me the same way.  Here, when the Lord begins to speak to Job and his friends, I am struck by how God takes charge of the conversation and reframes their arguments  and theological pontifications altogether.  On and on, we have read Job’s assertion of his righteousness and demand for an audience with his Maker. On and on, we have read the theories and debate points of his friends in regard to why this turmoil has befallen Job.  But when God speaks, it is no longer a point/counterpoint forum.  As the Sovereign Lord, He shuts them all down and takes center stage.

A~  I know that I can come boldly before His throne.  Because He desires my time and my heart, I know I can even whine and vent and pontificate with Him.  I can even sit wordlessly in His Presence.  He bids me to come — and find rest, receive comfort, get guidance, and glimpse eternity.  But I should not presume my thoughts, my words, my prayers, are perfectly aligned with God’s heart.  He may want to have a different conversation entirely!

P~  Attune my ears and my heart, God, to the conversation You want to have with me, over and above whatever it is I had wanted to say.

(The picture I have is my 8-year-old son insisting on getting his point across, whether to us as his parents or to his second-grade teacher, when we are telling him, “That doesn’t matter right now.  We just need you to listen and obey.  That’s all.”)

Adoration | Nikki Metzger

S~ From Job 38 (NLT), from God to Job:

“Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?” vs. 38a

“Have you ever commanded the morning to appear and caused the dawn to rise in the east?” vs. 12

Who gives intuition to the heart and instinct to the mind?  vs. 36

O~ God is challenging Job with things that He does daily or has done.  This chapter is good for my heart!

A~  Who am I?  Really?  When comparing my accomplishments and goodness with God’s….one has to  laugh.  Yet, in my heart and mind, I’ve been living my life (or parts of my life) where I’ve been in charge.

My pride has snuck in and put me back in the driver’s seat.  And it seems like when that happens:  I’m crabby if things don’t go my way, I complain, I am more vocal (not in a good way) to my family, I’m less thankful, there’s an undercurrent of things ‘not being good enough’, the laughing stops, and on and on and on when my pride fills my heart.

Prayer changes things.  I once hart a pastor talk about four points of prayer and used ACTS to help you remember.

A – Adoration (of God)

C – Confession (of my sin)

T – Thankfulness

S – Supplication (Prayer requests)

Sometimes, most times, in prayer I will just jump to my needs or prayer requests that someone gives me.  But when I start my prayers with adoration of of who God is….my prayer time is transformed!  I think when I start with adoration of the Lord in my heart, I’m reminded (comforted, feel secure) that God is in charge of ALL things.  Job 38 is an AWESOME chapter of bringing me back to adoration.  It realigns me in the proper order of things: God is God, and I’m not!

P~ Thank You!!

Unique and Personal | Kim Chipman

S~ There are different kinds of spiritual gifts, but the same Spirit is the source of them all. There are different kinds of service, but we serve the same Lord. God works in different ways, but it is the same God who does the work in all of us. 1 Corinthians 12:4-6 (NLT)

O~ Paul is teaching about spiritual gifts.

A~ This is SO important for me to remember. I tend to buy lies about spiritual gifts…

*I’ll never be good enough (LIE)

*I can’t be used by God until I’m better at XYZ (LIE)

*I don’t measure up to people around me (LIE)

*I’ve really got XYZ all together (LIE)

*Everyone should be able to do XYZ because it’s not that difficult (LIE)

*Their giftedness in XYZ indicates a superior level of spiritual maturity/humility/whatever…so I’m obviously failing (LIE)

All lies. All deception. The truth? There are different gifts and different kinds of service, but they are all from You. None is more important than the other. We each need to use our gifts so we can help each other. Comparing gifts is ridiculous and counter productive. It leads to pride – either I think more highly of myself than I ought, or I try to do something that I’m not good at and You didn’t ask me to do. Which, by the way, leaves a vacancy in MY assignment. Either way I’m not using what You gave me to glorify You and carry out the plans You have for ME.

v 7 says “A spiritual gift is given to each of us so we can help each other.” Not to compare. To help.

P~ Thank You for this reminder! You are so personal, and we are all unique, and I love that about You. We are all unique and You have and assignment for each of us. Help me to use my gifts well and quit comparing. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

