November 8 Job 33; 1 Corinthians 1,2,3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Perfect Parallels | Tara Wiley

S~ May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace. — I Corinthians 1:3 (NLT)

But to those called by God to Salvation…Christ is the power of God and the wisdom of God. — I Corinthians 1:24 (NLT)

O~ As I worked through today’s readings, both of these Scriptures stood out, so I copied both of them down – and was surprised to see a cool parallel between the grace and peace of 1:3 and the power and wisdom of 1:24:

1:3                              1:24

Grace –>                    Power

Peace –>                    Wisdom

We receive grace through the powerful death-defying, sin-erasing salvation of Jesus Christ. (I Corinthians 1:18: The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God.)

We receive peace when we pursue and act on the wisdom of God (James 3:17: The wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and the fruit of good deeds. It shows not favoritism and is always sincere. And those who are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of righteousness.)

A~ Grace from Power. Peace from Wisdom. I want that.

P~ Lord, Your Word is so fascinating to me. I love discovering these little parallels I haven’t noticed before. Thank You for Your Powerful Grace. Thank You for giving me Your Wise pathway to Peace. Help me to live in light of these truths today.

Faith In God’s Power | Michelle Myers

S~ This was so that you faith would be in God’s power and not in human wisdom. 1 Corinthians 2:5 (NCV)

O~ I am supposed to rely on God.  I am supposed to trust God.

A~ I am a mess today, and I know that much of it comes from me trying to figure out, fix, manage, and control things that are beyond my capacity.  I am worried about my oldest daughter.  I am frustrated with her.  But, most of all, I am at a loss as to what to do to help her.  So, after a rough night; I woke up this morning realizing that all I, personally, can do is love her through this.  That means remain patient with her when she is asking for my help, but then not listening to me or arguing with me as to why that doesn’t work.  That means not get frustrated with her when she asks for my help and I give it to her, and she isn’t following through on her part.  That means shutting up when all of this occurs, and just being present with her in her pain.

The rest is up to You.  We are seeking help for her through a therapist and her pediatrician.  I have presented her with alternative options, so she doesn’t feel trapped or stuck in a situation she finds hopeless.  I have to trust that You will work through these other people to help her.  I have to trust that You will give my husband and I, what we need to help her through this rough patch.

P~ Thank you God for the resources You have provided for us, so we are able to get the help we need.  Please help me remember that You are the only one who sees the big picture, and therefore I need to listen to and trust in Your guidance.  I pray that if something doesn’t seem right with the people we have chosen for help, that You guide us in the right direction, toward the right people.  I pray that You give my husband and I what we need to just love her, regardless of her difficult and confusing moods, attitude, and behavior.  Please make our love and acceptance for her, apparent to her.  Please heal her mind of all the negative thoughts.  Please show her the truth, so she can discount all the lies that the enemy is dumping in her head.

Great Comfort | Jill Terry

S ~ However, as it is written: “What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived” — the things God has prepared for those who love him — 1 Corinthians 2:9 (NIV)

O~ My study Bible says we are all able to derive great comfort from this verse as it foretells our glorious future with Jesus.

A~ There is absolutely no way for me to know how wondrous Heaven truly is, my human mind cannot possibly comprehend its glory.

Life gets hard, very hard but I have the assurance that the troubles of this world are only temporary. The Bible promises great rewards for those who love Jesus and proclaim His name. Ever since my mom passed away, I keep trying to imagine what Heaven is like and what it will be like to see her again. This song just offers such comfort for my grief.

P~ Thank you Jesus for Your promises of a glorious afterlife and for the peace of knowing Mom is with You. Amen

A Firm Foundation | Joni Tyner

S~ I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it,  but it was God who made it grow. It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow. The one who plants and the one who waters work together with the same purpose, and both will be rewarded for their own hard work.   1 Corinthians 3:6-8 (NLT)

O~ Paul is telling the Corinthians that although he initially brought the Good News to them, is was Apollos who “watered” the seed—Apollos helped the believers by encouraging and teaching and mentoring.  Paul is emphasizing  it isn’t anyone person in the faith journey that gets “credit” for the growth of a believer.  It is God’s timing and purpose.

A~ The longer I am a believer, the more I see this scripture being true.  There have been different key people who have poured into my spiritual growth over the past 30 years. These people played an important role in my faith journey but it was the Holy Spirit that caused the growth.

I have seen evidence of this scripture in my kids’ lives.  We were faithful to take our children to church from the time they were infants.  We have imperfectly modeled our Christian faith through striving to live with integrity, humility and faith in Jesus. The seeds of their Christian faith were planted, nurtured, and fertilized in our home.  Now, others are going to come along and water and grow their faith…that’s okay!!! That is often how God grows people.  We were faithful and did what God asked of us—now we need to trust Him to continue the good work that was started.

…and I KNOW He will!

P~ Dear Lord, once again, thank you for Your Word.  I absolutely sobbed when I found this scripture a couple of years ago.  My kids faith journey isn’t my sole responsibility, it is You choosing them and growing them and I rest in peace knowing that.

I pray the seeds have a strong root system and they stand firm through the storms of life.

Humility | Kim Chipman

S~ Stop deceiving yourselves. If you think you are wise by this world’s standards, you need to become a fool to be truly wise. 1 Corinthians 3:18 (NLT)

O~ Paul is talking about the wisdom of the world and of Christ. We will be judged for what we do and we all together are the Temple of God and belong to Christ. Wisdom in how we live, however, is more about humbling ourselves before God.

A~ Stop deceiving yourselves.

This is what pierces my heart today. Stop deceiving yourselves.

I need to become a fool to be truly wise. What does that look like? Probably admitting I don’t have it all together. Coming to You with open hands and heart – HUMBLE before You. Pride says, “I’ve got this” but becoming a fool does not.

Stop deceiving yourselves.

What am I deceiving myself about, Lord? Show me where I’m off track. What lies am I believing that don’t align with Your truth? Help me to see.

My heart’s desire is for my life to bring You glory. v13 says that on judgement day fire will reveal if my work has any value. I do not want to deceive myself in to a place where I am chasing the wrong things, living a life that does not have value to You.

P~ Help me to humble myself so I am not believing lies…so I am not deceived. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

