November 7 Job 31,32; Galatians 5,6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Breath of The Almighty | Kim Chipman

S~ But there is a spirit within people, the breath of the Almighty within them, that makes them intelligent. Job 32:8 (NLT)

O~ A young man, Elihu, spoke out to Job. He was angry with what had been going on. He addressed the fact that he was young and “sometimes the elders are not wise”.

A~ Oh, how TRUE this is! Age, in and of itself, does not mean wisdom. I’ve often said that I thought I’d be wiser by this age. Honestly, I don’t feel like I know what I’m doing. At. All.

Remembering where true wisdom comes from is crucial. It does not come from more schooling or credentials or travel or experiences or age. I must be pursuing You through all these things to become wiser.

John 16:13 “When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own but will tell you what he has heard. He will tell you about the future.” This is Your Holy Spirit…the Spirit within me that can make me wise. I must quiet my heart so I can hear His whisper. I must choose to listen so I can walk in Your wisdom.

P~ THANK YOU for the gift of the Holy Spirit and Your precious Word. I can’t do this without You. I love You!

My Mouth…..Again! | Michelle Myers

S~ No, I too will speak and tell what I know. I am full of words, and the spirit in me causes me to speak. I am like wine that has been bottled up; I am ready to burst like a new leather wine bag. I must speak so I will feel relief; I must open my mouth and answer. Job 32:17-20 (NCV)

O~ “But when Elihu saw that the three men had nothing more to say, he became angry.” Job 32:5 (NCV) Usually, when I am angry, it is not the right time to speak.

A~ You have really, I mean REALLY, been working on my mouth lately. I can easily be a Elihu when I am upset. After my emotions have calmed down and the dust settles, there is damage control that I must do and regret that I have to work through. A few things that stick out to me, in the above scripture are:

“tell what I know”–I have to be careful and stay humble. Many times, I don’t know as much as I think I do. I am also realizing how easy it is for the enemy to deceive me into thinking that I know more than I really do or that I know more about someone’s true motives.

“I am full of words”–I can talk and talk. I can be like Paul, when he talked a man to death. I am finding that it is not so much the quantity of words, but the quality of them that have more of an impact. Are they Spirit lead? Do they have a good purpose? Do they lift up or tear down? Are they words in regards to something I have some true, life knowledge about, or are they just something I have book knowledge of or merely an opinion about?

“The spirit in me causes me to speak.”–It may not necessarily be the Holy Spirit. If what I am saying doesn’t align with God—His truth, His Character, etc.; then it probably is the enemy working through me. If this is the case, it will end with someone being wounded and me having to deal with guilt and condemnation. That is not God.

The whole bottled up, wine bag bursting thing can totally be me, when I am frustrated or angry. I had to reach out for prayers this weekend, as I was trying so hard, not to respond to my husband during a conflict. I had to meditate on Your word. I had to write You a letter, so I could get it out in a safe, reasonable, non-damaging way. And, when emotions on both our parts had calmed down, we were able to work through our differences in a dignified way.

“I must speak, so I will feel relief”–Um, aren’t they there to comfort Job, not relieve themselves? But, who am I to judge Elihu? There have been plenty of times, I have opened my mouth out of frustration and anger, to relieve myself. I am beginning to understand, how selfish this really is, and how much damage it does to the people that I love. And, to make it worse, You have shown me that I often feel justified in doing it. I may have valid reasons for being frustrated and angry, but am never justified when my mouth has been used as a weapon to hurt someone.

I fail ALL. THE. TIME., but the more I remain connected to You and am willing to suffer through doing it Your way; the easier it gets, the more victory I have, the more I see Your goodness, and the less damage there is to manage afterwards. Either way, I am going to feel pain, be uncomfortable, etc. I can feel it in the flesh, give into it, spew a bunch of junk (which may just be words that have good intentions, but really no value, because I really have no true knowledge of the situation or circumstances), and relieve my flesh of the pressure that builds up. This usually hurts other’s and me spiritually. Or, I can suffer through the pain of doing it Your way and in Your timing; and there is no damage done to anyone’s spirit.

P~ Thank you God for Your wisdom. Please help me stay connected to You, so I know when You are telling me to shut it.

Love equation…..I love math! | Nikki Metzger

S~ What is important is faith expressing itself in love. Galatians 5:6b (NLT)

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.  ~ 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NLT)

O~ Love = patient, kind, not jealous, not boastful, not proud, not rude, not demanding own way, not irritable, keeps no record of wrongs, rejoices when truth wins, never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures.

So if you take the definition of love found in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 and substitute into Galatians 5:6b, you get this!

What is important is faith expressing itself by being patient, kind, not jealous, not boastful, not proud, not rude, not demanding own way, not irritable, keeps no record of wrongs, rejoices when truth wins, never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures.

A~ Sometimes I don’t know how to show God’s love in difficult situations or relationships.  Paul gives me this equation.  My faith is demonstrated through love.

I know three things last forever: faith, hope, and love.  And the greatest of these is love.

P~ Father, give me courage to live out my faith by expressing it in love!

**  I LOVE READING GOD’S WORD DAILY FOR MY HEART!!  12 hours after I wrote this, my husband and I were on opposite sides of a topic, both of us were pretty passionate about our sides.  God, let me remember the definition of love from earlier in the day and I realized that in our argument my faith was not being expressed in love.  God’s Word did this!!  I was able to step back from the argument and see what was most important….and it was not me demanding my own way in the situation.  You guys, God is amazing!!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s cool Nikki! Thanks for that verse comparison.

Leave a Reply

