November 4 Job 26,27; Mark 15,16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Amazing, Awesome, Incomprehensible, Indescribable | Kim Chipman

S~  These are just the beginning of all that he does, merely a whisper of his power. Who, then, can comprehend the thunder of his power? Job 26:14 (NLT)

O~ Job is recalling all that You are, Your power. You “hang the earth on nothing” even!

A~ Sometimes, when I really stop to think on it (instead of taking it for granted), I am in awe of You.

You are unbelievably, incomprehensibly powerful, sovereign…all encompassing. I can’t even wrap my head around Your magnitude. Everything exists and is set into motion by You. Every. Thing.

You are also unbelievably, incomprehensibly intimate. You know and care about my every thought, struggle, desire, hurt and joy. You work all things together for my good. (and, back to the magnitude…You do this for EVERY soul that is and ever was and ever will be.) You see me. you love me. You reveal Yourself to me in personal, detailed ways.

Blows. My. Mind.

All of it.

P~ Thank You! I love You!

God Glimpses | Kelley Deases

S~ And these are but the outer fringe of his works; how faint the whisper we hear of him!  Who then can understand the thunder of his power?  Job 26:14 (NIV)

O~  Job is acknowledging the unfathomable breadth and depth of God’s might, and at the same time, our miniscule grasp of what it all means.  In our arrogance and power plays and self-importance and selfish ambition, this is a notion we should consider more often.

A~  God has revealed Himself to me in some pretty amazing ways.  I recall one time, probably thirteen years ago now, when I was in terrible distress.  My ex-husband had just informed me he had gotten a young woman pregnant and so he planned to marry her. I was greatly concerned (and turns out, I had good reason…) over the unstable situation to which my young son would be subjected.  On this cold, winter’s day, I was out shoveling snow in my driveway and kind of crying and venting and praying to God beneath the roar of the wind and the layers of coats and scarves.  I questioned why God would subject me and my little boy to the unwise antics of his father, which were rarely in the best interest of our son.  Just then I felt what I can only describe as the sensation of being submerged in a warm pool of water.  A peace came over me and what came to my mind and my heart was, “If God is for me, who can stand against me?” It was like He was assuring me of His Presence to help me carry on.

I treasure this, and countless other, testimonies He has given me personally and that I have heard from others over the years.  But yet I know I have only glimpsed just a tiny sliver of His true power and glory!

P~ Father, I am so grateful for these glimpses of You and would never discount what You have shown me and taught me through them.  But I do realize that my spiritual eyes are weak and my understanding is limited, so I can’t begin to fully grasp Your Greatness.  Nevertheless, I will be content in the looking.

Remembering the All-Powerful Creator: A Vital Part of my Spiritual Emergency Kit | Tara Wiley

S~ These are just the beginning of all that he does, merely a whisper of his power. Who, then, can comprehend the thunder of his power? Job 26:14

O~ Just when Job seemed totally overwhelmed by his own tragedy, he turns his eyes to God and is overwhelmed by the enormity of Who he encounters.

A~ Sometimes, when all we seem to have in our hands is a bowl of broken pieces, the best thing to do is turn to the Creator and remember His power. Yes, all around us is brokenness. But above and behind and beneath and beyond us is an all-powerful, all-personal God who set this world into motion and will one day set all things right again.

When I am overwhelmed, the best thing I can do is meditate on God’s character. One of my favorite ways to do this is through worship. Just this week, I came across a powerful video (oh, the visual imagery is truly stunning) I have chosen to place in my spiritual emergency kit for those inevitable overwhelm-moments. (This fits alongside my SOAP box of crisis Scriptures, favorite worship playlist, and secret hide-out spot in my home – other items that fit in that category: my phone-a-friend option; time outdoors; and a NAP!).

P~ Thank You, God, for the gift of Creation. It points me to You, and helps me get re-centered on truth as I meditate on Your character. You are all-powerful. When I’m feeling weak, this is a potent encouragement to me.

Courage | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ An honored member of the high council, Joseph of Arimathea (who was waiting for the Kingdom of God to come), gathered his courage and went to Pilate to ask for Jesus’ body. Mark 15:43 (NLT)

O~ This verse says that Joseph gathered his courage, implying he was afraid.

A~ There are things in my life that I turn away from out of fear. I need to gather my courage. I need discernment.

P~ Dear Holy Spirit, please give me discernment to know when to gather my courage and when to turn away.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

