November 2 Job 23,24; Mark 11,12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you!

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Way God has for Me | Tara Wiley

S~ Yet He knows the way with me (HCSB literal translation); when He has tested me, I will emerge as pure gold.

O~ He knows...

He sees. He is aware. He pays attention. And in His sovereignty, He has groomed this way to perfectly refine me.

When He has tested me…

Ethan and I just finished a brief but thorough review of the End of Time. One event is the judgment of believers before God, where our deeds will be tried as in a furnace:

1 Corinthians 3:12-15 (ESV)

Now if anyone builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw— each one’s work will become manifest, for the Day will disclose it, because it will be revealed by fire, and the fire will test what sort of work each one has done. If the work that anyone has built on the foundation survives, he will receive a reward. If anyone’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss, though he himself will be saved, but only as through fire.

All the stubble will disappear but the good will come out as gold. Beautifully refined. I want a treasure trove to lay at Jesus’ feet!

A~ Some days I feel so inadequate for this God-life. I look at Facebook and read Christian articles and think – am I doing enough? Giving enough? Volunteering enough? Sharing Christ enough? Guilt creeps in and I worry… and am tempted to avoid God just like Adam and Eve did in the garden. (THAT is clue number one that this is not a God-driven conviction but an assault of the enemy to draw me away from Him!)

Then I remember: He has called me to do the good works He prepared beforehand for me to do (Ephesians 2:10). Not Jen Hatmaker’s or Francis Chan’s or Ann Voskamp’s  or my friends’ good works. Just the ones in front of me. These amazing God-followers can serve to remind me of His ways, and to check myself to see if I’m being obedient to God’s call – but I am not to be them.

I am to love my neighbor as myself – the ones God places in my path in this season, using the story He has placed in my life to reflect His glory. This way I am on: He knows it. He is using it to refine me. It’s up to me to take the gifts He has given me, especially the ones wrapped in pain, to build on the foundation He has laid in my life through the gift of His Son.

I just looked back at the context of the verses from I Corinthians and was surprised to see that just a few verses before, Paul was addressing the very issue I feel roiling in my spirit – people were comparing different people’s ministries, and it was becoming a source of division and jealousy. Paul pointed out that he and this other leader, Apollos, had different callings and were being obedient to what God was moving them to do. They were not the same. They weren’t supposed to be the same!

When I try to do more just because someone else is doing something I’m not, I am being disobedient to God’s call on my life. As I continue to submit to Him, draw near to Him, pray and study His Word, God will reveal what He wants me to do. Then: I must be obedient.

P~ Oh Lord! I want to come forth as pure, shining, gold. I truly do want to have a treasure trove of brilliant jewels to lay at Your feet on that Day. Not because I want glory, but because I want You to be glorified. Help me be obedient to what You have called me to. Nothing more, nothing less. Forgive me for the times I allow the enemy to get a foothold in my life through paralyzing guilt. You are gracious, God. You are good. Any conviction You bring leads to fruit. Let me be sensitive and moldable to You and You alone. Thank You for knowing the way I take. Every moment of my life has meaning because it can be used by You. Help me be a good steward of all You have given me.

First Things First | Kelley Deases

S~ I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread,  Job 23:12b (NIV)

O~  A good friend and pastor once told me that in her seminary program, the students were required to spend their devotion time with the Lord before eating anything.  I’m not sure I agree with that legalistic regimen, or even the idea of mandated time with God per the terms set forth by school administrators, but, be that as it may, the policy does underscore giving priority to hearing from God over (and before) doing our own thing.  Most of us could stand to go a couple hours (or even days?) without a meal, but we should not go a day without seeking connection with our Maker and Lover of our Souls.

A~  I shouldn’t go a day without sitting at His feet.  But I do. It’s been a few days as I sit here now.  And isn’t it me always trying to share with and encourage others to be in The Word on a consistent basis?  Aren’t I always saying how life changing it is  when we take that time, still our hearts, and listen to His voice and what He’s trying to reveal to us?  I don’t want to be legalistic or get caught up in shame or condemnation.  I just want to be able to say, in all sincerity, as Job did, that “I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.”  But, all too often, my agenda for the day, my scurrying around the house, my distracted thoughts, my daily bread, takes precedence over partaking in the Bread of Life.

P~  Father, Maybe you brought my pastor friend’s experience to mind today as something I should embrace to hone my spiritual discipline of spending daily time in Your Word.  Bread over bread….time with Jesus before my bowl of cereal!

At the Feet of Jesus | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.  Mark 11:25  (NLT)

O~ Forgiveness of my sins seems somehow connected to me forgiving others. I think a reason for this is that whatever thoughts I might have about others’ sins seems to be my thoughts toward myself (forgiving or judging). At the feet of Jesus I am forgiven, I didn’t do anything to deserve it, but he gave it to me anyway. We all need it.

A~ I need to forgive others, and accept God’s forgiveness to me.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for Jesus.  Thank you for your mercy. I choose to forgive___. I also choose to accept your forgiveness to me  ((thank you))

Forgiveness | Kim Chipman

S~ But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too. Mark 11:25 (NLT)

O~ This is Jesus speaking. He is talking about having faith when praying. Then He reminds to forgive any grudge.

A~ Forgiveness. You don’t say ‘forgive if they are sorry’ or ‘forgive if they are going to try to do better’ or ‘forgive if they care about your feelings and have compassion’…forgive IF…nothing.

Forgive to restore communion with You. Forgive so my heart is pure and right. Forgive so I will feel Your forgiveness. Forgive so my heart will not be in bondage, but it will be FREE.

Forgive.

Not dependent on anything the other person says, does, or feels. Just for my relationship with You.

P~ I love You!

First Forgive | Nikki Metzger

S~ But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too. Mark 11:25 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking about our faith and forgiveness.

A~ I’ve committed to praying for my husband everyday before I crawl out of bed.  As the days have gone on…my prayers have seemed empty and rote.  They didn’t start out that way though. Then God lets me really see this Scripture…when you are praying, FIRST forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against.

Oh boy!  The man who I’ve been praying for…well I’ve been holding grudges against him in my heart. He didn’t parent the way I thought he should have, he went and watched tv instead of doing dishes, he hurt my feelings by blowing off an important conversation, he never answers the phone when I call, he yells too much at youth sports games.

Each thing, not a big deal.  I can handle it.  But when those tiny hurts keep adding up in my heart – a grudge builds and then I start to see him as all those ways he has messed up.  And then I can’t pray for him because I’m not FIRST forgiving him!

P~ Father, please forgive my unforgiveness!  Please help me to forgive anyone I’m holding a grudge against so You will forgive my sins too!  Thank You for Your Son and this upside down plan of saving the world one soul at a time!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “When you realize that your mind has wandered away from Me, don’t be alarmed or surprised. You live in a world that has been rigged to distract you. Each time you plow your way through the massive distractions to communicate with Me, you achieve a victory. Rejoice in these tiny triumphs, and they will increasingly light up your days.” -Jesus Calling, Nov 1

  2. Distractions/discipline is a HUGE issue for me also. I’ve started not touching my phone until I’ve sat in the Word. I actually leave it next to my bed when I get up so it isn’t even calling my name. It helps a lot! I don’t do it perfectly, but it really has helped. The struggle is real…and frustrating…but I’m fighting it!

  3. Kelley,
    Thanks k you for your honesty this morning! I too have been struggling with self-discipline, and it is so encouraging to know I am not alone. Thank you, to ALL of you, for your daily devotion and the “realness” you reveal in your posts! May God pour out His abundant blessing upon you!
    Love you all!

Leave a Reply

