October 31 Job 22; Mark 7,8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Empathy | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ For example, you must have lent money to your friend and then kept the clothing he gave you as pledge.  Yes, you stripped him to the bone.  You must have refused water for the thirsty and food for the hungry.  After all, you think the land belongs to the powerful and that those who are privileged have a right to it!  You must have send widows away without helping them and crushed the strength of orphans.  That is why you are surrounded with sudden fears.  Job 22: 6-10 (NLT)

O~ These are the words Eliphaz (Job’s friend) spoke to Job in regards to why he is suffering.

A~ I feel bad for Job here.  These words were not true about Job, and this came from a friend, someone who knows (or supposed to know) Job.  I have been here and I also have been in Eliphaz’s place, judging, where what I should do is pray, ask God for wisdom and empathize with the person.

P~ Dear Father, help me with relationships.  Help me to love in your strength.

Lies in truth | Nikki Metzger

S~ Submit to God, and you will have peace; then things will go well for you.  If you return to the Almighty, you will be restored – so clean up your life. Job 22: 21, 23 (NLT)

O~ This is part of Job’s friend’s reply back to him as he is suffering.  They, Job and his three friends, are having a philosophical discussion about who God is and His character.

A~ As I’m REALLY reading through Job, maybe for the first time, I am seeing lies mixed in occasionally with truth – that’s dangerous stuff there.  When truth and lies mix – it’s difficult to untangle.  That is why it’s SO important to know truth!!

These two lies in these verses, I’ve believed but could never achieve, so I wondered if I wasn’t good enough.  Things will go well for you if you submit to God is lie #1.  In John 16:33, Jesus says, ‘Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows.’ Lie #2 says to clean up your life for restoration to the Almighty.  Jesus says He wants the weary and ones who carry heavy burdens come to Him in Matthew 11:28.

P~ Father, help me to recognize lies in my life that I’m believing as truth.

What I Do and Do Not Understand | Michelle Myers

S~ Then Jesus said to them, ‘Don’t you understand yet?’ Mark 8:21 (NCV)

O~ Jesus warns His disciples about the Pharisees and their wrong teaching.  He tells them to “Beware the yeast of the Pharisees”.  His followers thought maybe he was talking about them forgetting to bring more than one loaf of bread with them in the boat.  Knowing what they are talking about, Jesus points out that the amount of bread doesn’t matter, because He just performed a miracle by feeding thousands with a few loaves of bread.  It was obvious to Him, that they were still not seeing or hearing in the spiritual sense.  They were still struggling to see what is beyond their worldly senses and right in front of them.

A~ I heard these words this morning, as we were discussing taking our van in for a weird squeaking noise it has been making, and anxiety started to creep in.  What I understand, is that there is a lot that I don’t understand in regards to You and Your ways.  What I do know, is that with ALL the junk I have been through, You have never not taken care of me.  Sometimes I miss this, when You have not take care of me the way I wanted or the world told me You would if I did things a certain way.  I have had to learn to be satisfied and trust in what You give me. “All the people ate and were satisfied.” Mark 8:8 (NCV)  When I am not, I miss out on what You have done for me, and I lose my joy.

What I understand, is that when I have listened to people, who say that if I do this or that, and present the options as a 100%, black and white solution to an issue or situation; it doesn’t work out the way they said it should.  It used to confuse and frustrate me.  Now, I realize that they are people and whether their intentions are good or bad, they don’t have ALL the answers.  In many cases they are making up their own, unwritten laws and presenting them as 100%, black and white answers. “These people show honor to me with words, but their hearts are far from me.  Their worship of me is worthless.  The things they teach are nothing but human rules.” Isaiah 29:3 (NCV)

What I do understand, is the thing about reading the Bible and being a human being interpreting it, is that everyone interprets it differently; according to their backgrounds, past experiences, perceptions, etc.  That alone leaves a lot of grey area.  Plus, for every one “law” someone takes a firm stance on, there is another place in the Bible that contradicts it.  So, yesterday, as we were asked the question in Life Group, “Who currently is the greatest influence in your life?”, I had to say YOU.  Other people pointed to their spouses, mothers, and fathers; and to honest (You already know this.), I felt  a little awkward in saying it was YOU, but it is the truth.  I can go to other people for some guidance, clarity, and a different perspective, but ultimately, I have to sit with You.  I have to sit and listen to what You are saying to me, and what You are giving me peace about, in regards to the person You made me and the circumstances You have given to me.  And many times, this contradicts what people or the world says I should do, but it works for me, my life, and I have peace with it.

P~ God, I am so thankful for my relationship with You.  There is a lot that I don’t understand about You, but I know that what is more important than understanding, is clearly hearing Your voice.  So, please continue to help me see when I am entering the messy wilderness of confusion and frustration, by trying to understand what is beyond my understanding, and clearly hear Your voice in all the chatter, and then help me give up my will and surrender to Yours.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 31, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Luisa! That struck me so much today! I always turn to “people who should know” when I have a question. I just need to automatically turn to God for clarification. I so needed this today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

