October 29 Job 20; Mark 3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Work in Our Lives | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ When his family heard what was happening, they tried to take him home with them.  “He’s out of his mind,” they said.  Mark 3:21  (NLT)

O~ The crowds began to gather and Jesus and his disciples couldn’t even find time to eat (vs 20b).  So his family tried to take him away.  What God is asking me to do might not always make sense to others and what he’s asking others to do might not always make sense to me.

A~ I can be supportive of what God is doing in other’s lives.

P~ Dear Father, help me to be supportive to people in my life with what you’re asking them to do and I also ask that you would help those closest to me to be supportive of me.  And even if that doesn’t happen, give us each the courage to do what you are asking each of us to do.

Good Things | Michelle Myers

S~ Then they grow and produce fruit—sometimes thirty times more, sometimes sixty times more, and sometimes a hundred times more. Mark 4:20 (NCV)

O/A~ My Bible notes say, “To produce fruit means to have in you life the good things God wants.”  Oh, maybe that is why I sometimes have a hard time being content and seeing the fruit in something.  It is about the good things YOU want for me, not necessarily the good things I want for myself.  It is all about YOU and YOUR economy, which many times, in my limited human capacity and worldly view point, is hard to understand or totally contradicts what the world says is good for me, important, or matters.

P~ Thank you God for your faithfulness, when things don’t make sense or are hard to see.  I am getting better at seeing YOU in the middle of them.  Many times, this is after the dust has settled, and I am able to reflect back.  I also understand that this is how You are getting me to see and comprehend, the big picture of what is beyond this world and this current life.  I understand that this is how you are growing my trust in YOU, and increasing my faith.  In the moment, I really don’t like the confusion and discomfort, but eventually, I am thankful for it and the growth that occurred because of it.  Please just continue to work on me.

LISTEN | Kim Chipman

S~ Then he added, “Pay close attention to what you hear. The closer you listen, the more understanding you will be given—and you will receive even more. To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given. But for those who are not listening, even what little understanding they have will be taken away from them.” Mark 4:24-25 (NLT)

O~ Jesus has just told the parable of the 4 soils. The seeds are God’s Word and the different soils are the different conditions of our hearts.

A~ Here’s what sticks out to me. First, God’s Word in my life isn’t like magic or like flipping the switch to make everything easy. When farmers plant seeds it takes time for fruit to be produced. But the seeds I plan (thoughts of truth/God’s Word? thoughts of junk TV, gossip, negativity?) and the soil I plant it in (humble? justifying? self seeking? prideful?) matter.

I know people who have gone to church for years…decades!…and never change. They may be saved from hell when they die, but their lives do not tell of Jesus. Jesus is saying here…pay close attention to what you hear. Listen and you will understand even more. Like probably I need to listen for ME, not for my husband, my kids, my friends…listen for my heart and my life and my choices so I am transformed into Your image…so I have more understanding.

Pay close attention. The closer you listen, the more understanding you will be given, Kim. Pay close attention.

P~ My heart’s desire is to know You more. Thank You for this precious promise that if I listen I will understand even more. I have seen this since I have been reading the Bible on a regular basis. When I started I hardly understood anything at all, but as I continue seeking I see more of You. I may not understand a lot right now in my journey but if I LISTEN then I will. I love You!

A promise Jesus gives | Nikki Metzger

S~ To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given.  But for those who are not listening, even what little understanding they have will be taken away from them. Jesus in Mark 4:25 (NLT)

O~ We get another glimpse into the Kingdom with this verse.  God has no favorites, but some will have more understanding than others.  And we know from Scripture, some will have more responsibility than others too.

A~ What a promise from Jesus!  To those who listen to Him, they will get more understanding!  The flip side to that promise is that the one’s who don’t listen, even what understanding they have, will be taken away. I do want understanding of spiritual things, so I need to listen!  I need to know Jesus and spend time with Him to gain understanding.  And He promises me understanding!  I also need to understand that no one but me can decide what I listen to!

My dad gets really into the political election and candidates.  He is passionate about it, meaning it comes up in every conversation and email this time of year.  Ugh!  It drives me crazy, but I have to admit, he is much better about this now than he used to be.

But for me, I don’t really care about politics.  At all!  I don’t listen to all the commercials, debates, etc.  But that’s my choice of what I listen to or don’t listen to.  If someone forced me to listen or be a part of the political stuff, I would, but my heart wouldn’t be in it like my dad’s.

The same concept for spiritual things:  I cannot force anyone to listen to Jesus’ teaching so they grow their understanding.  Each person has to decide for themselves on if they will listen to Jesus’ teaching or not.  But if they do decide to listen, Jesus promises more understanding!

P~ Father, thank You for this reminder that every single person gets to choose what they listen to.  Listening to You and Jesus has MUCH benefit.  For my loved ones who don’t listen to You…help me to let that go and just love them.  And please Lord, let my kid’s hearts desire to listen to You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!  Amen!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

