October 26 Job 17; Acts 24,25,26

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Go away for now! | Nikki Metzger

S~ As he reasoned with them about righteousness and self control and the coming of judgement, Felix became frightened.  “Go away for now,” he replied.  “When it is more convenient, I’ll call for you again.” Acts 24:25 (NLT)

O~ Paul and Felix, the governor, are discussing faith in Jesus Christ.  Paul and Felix would talk often.  Felix was not a believer, I’m not sure if he ever became one or not.

A~ I think fear is common when people first hear about Jesus.  But still something inside a person can’t forget about Him.  They want to know more and more.  You can see this in Paul and Felix’s relationship and conversations.

Paul didn’t pull any punches when talking with Felix!  They discussed self control, judgement, and righteousness.  I would have probably stuck with grace, mercy, peace that passes understanding 🙂

I’m encouraged from this discussion of Paul and Felix.  I can have hard discussions with others and maintain friendships!  I don’t need to be “selling” Jesus every time we talk, He will work all that out in time!

P~ Father, thank You!  I pray in advance for my feelings when someone tells me to, “Go away for now” after we are discussing faith and Jesus.  Thank You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

On Trial | Kim Chipman

S~ Now I am on trial because of my hope in the fulfillment of God’s promise made to our ancestors. Acts 26:6 (NLT)

O~ This is Paul speaking. He is on trial for being in a “cult” and causing trouble, basically.

A~ If I were on trial for my faith and hope would there be enough evidence to convict me? Do I genuinely live like it is real? Not just talk about it but actually make decisions and DO things as if it has to be real or I wouldn’t live this way?

P~ Help me to choose well, help me to see where I need to be trusting more deeply. Help me to choose each attitude, action, and thought rooted in You. I love You! Help me to represent You well. If I were on trial for my faith…I pray my life would speak for itself!

Don’t Fear, be Real | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Acts 26:9-29 (NLT)

O~ Paul saved from a mob, ends up as a prisoner and is now sharing his testimony with King Agrippa.  Paul used whatever circumstance he found himself in to share Christ.

A~ What I see here and throughout Paul’s life is he did not get hung up with his circumstances.  I want to not get hung up with my circumstances and stay stuck there, but to look beyond and ask God what I can do or say here that will bring others to Christ.

P~  Dear Father, please give me boldness and help me to rise above my circumstances and see what you are doing here so I can work with you!

#toliveisChristtodieisgain

More Like Jesus | Jill Terry

S~ And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place, Acts 17:26 (ESV)

O/A~ God did it all. He determined every single person who would ever walk on this earth, when they would walk, where they would live and the amount of days in their life. This verse shows that Earth and the people on it are not some big cosmic accident, but a well thought out and planned event. God even predetermined which part of the world we all would live in. It is so fascinating and awe inspiring to me that God knew the days of my life before I was even conceived. The enormous scope of God’s handiwork and prior planning is almost unfathomable to me.

Not only did God plan it out ahead of time, He made us all from one man. We are all connected, we are all related. We are all God’s children. Yet, there is so much hate in the world. Hate stemming from a person’s color, gender, religious beliefs, sexual identity etc…

I don’t understand hate or meanness being directed at someone just because of who they are, what color their skin may be or who they choose to date. It makes utterly no sense to me. My son is gay and agnostic and my neighbor is a retired African American cop; none one of these attributes should give others a reason to hate them. How does the color of a person’s skin, a profession or sexual identity give anyone the right to hate, belittle or condemn someone? Yet, even from Christians, both my son and neighbor deal with scorn and ridicule. There is no excuse for any of it especially from those who claim to love Jesus!

I try very hard not to judge or condemn someone for who they are or what they believe. I do not always succeed but I try.
I decided long ago, that anything “outside of the Christian norm” was between that person and God. It is my duty to show Jesus to the world, not by hate or condemnation but by love and acceptance. I may be the only Christian some people may encounter and I want to shine the light of Jesus in every interaction I have with others. I want others to look at me and my life and say, “I want what Jill has” not say “Can you believe she calls herself a Christian? Look at how judgmental she is!”

If I live my life as a witness to the goodness of God and the glory of Jesus, hopefully someday, someone will become a follower of Christ because they want what I have, a true relationship with Jesus.

P~ Dear Jesus, help me be your light in a world that too often chooses hate over love. Help me not judge others. Let me show your love always. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

