October 19 Job 5; Psalms 108; Acts 10,11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Always Faithful | Jill Terry

S~ But as for me, I would seek God, And I would place my cause before God; Who does great and unsearchable things, Wonders without number. Job 5:8-9 (NASB)

O~ My study Bible says that all three of Jobs friends made the error of believing that all of the calamity in his life was due to his sin. Blame cannot always be assigned to sin in a person’s life. Sometimes, things just happen regardless of how good or bad a person is. But, God is so much bigger than all of it! He performs unfathomable miracles and wonders that I can hardly grasp.

A~ Everybody has problems. Every single one of us. Nobody is blessed with a trouble free life. Everyone’s issues may be different, but they are still heartbreaking to the person going through the rough times.

The last few weeks have been devastating to me. I almost lost my way, but the one thing that kept me going and helped me turn the corner is SOAP. I really do not know how I would have handled all of this without the Word of God speaking directly to my heart. I quit reading the daily sections and just stuck myself into a daily Psalm and Proverb. I highlighted and prayed but did not journal. But, just like this verse from Job, I searched for God and found His glory in the pages of my Bible.

I learned a few things too. God is good. God is powerful. God’s love is without end. God is with me through it all.

P~ Thank you Lord for showing yourself to me through my grief. I love you. Amen

The Battle of Parenting | Kelley Deases

S~ Give us aid against the enemy, for the help of man is worthless.  With God we will gain the victory, and he will trample down our enemies.  Psalm 108:12-13 (NIV)

O~  I prayed before I began reading this morning that God would give me a word for my circumstance. That circumstance, at least yesterday, involved a mouthy and defiant child, who, three times over in a single day, brought me to near exasperation with his out and out refusal to obey the simplest of requests.  I know I need God’s guidance in parenting my son as much if not more than in any other area of my life.

A~ I can understand why our little family would face spiritual attack.  John and I have a strong and happy marriage, communicating well on the finances, the house, the schedule, and just our goings on.  We are processing well through the ups and downs.  We are both ministry-minded, seeking every opportunity to follow hard after Jesus to those places in which He is calling us to serve.  Our little boy enjoys the great blessing of living in an intact, Christian home with a mommy and daddy who are both fully engaged in his mental, physical and spiritual development.  He has the privilege of attending a Christian school where he is learning Scripture along with his academics.  Plus, I am not currently working outside the home so I can be fully available to my husband and my child.  But it just saps the joy right out of this idyllic scene when he behaves in a way that is so ugly and out of control.

So, again, I come to this — my only help is in the Lord.  It is only in seeking Him I will find aid and renew my steadfast spirit.  Only God knows the beginning from the end, and can use even these small-scale struggles to draw us closer and come to realize our utter dependence on an all-knowing and fully compassionate God.

P~ Father, I will turn to You for my help, our help, as we do our best to parent this child.  You gave him to us and us to him in Your infinite wisdom.  Give us the patience and strength to respond well, even when we are tested.  Use even this to accomplish Your purposes for our family and Your glory!

God Wins! | Robin Laney

S~ With God we will gain victory, and he will trample down our enemies. Psalm 108:13 (NIV)

O~ A song of David proclaiming that there is victory in God’s strength.

A~ Tonight, I saw victory in the midst of really hard life circumstances. I sat at a table with 6 ladies, most of whom I did not know before tonight, each from different churches. Such struggles were shared – battles for life itself, disability, discouragement, fear, and weariness, among others. I know these ladies have all prayed to God for healing and victory over themselves and have had others pray for them as well and, while they may not have experienced delivery from their hardships yet, tonight there was Victory in the middle of the pain. God brought us together for two hours, seated us at the same table, and arranged for us to share our struggles with one another. It was the coolest thing to watch 7 women willing to share so openly with strangers and to see how well God had orchestrated the seating arrangement so that those who came to the event maybe feeling alone in a fight found others who were battling similar enemies. His Truth was proclaimed through tears and, in that, there is Victory. We are never alone. God is constantly watching out for us and surrounding us with love and support and encouragement and faith and hope.

P~ Lord, thank you that You pay such close attention to detail. Thank You that You see our struggles and hear our prayers and that in Your wisdom You arrange for us to receive comfort and encouragement even from strangers. Thank You that You bind together the hearts of believers so quickly that in a matter of hours we grow from strangers to sisters. Thank You for victory in the midst of trials.

The Whole Story | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But when Peter arrived back in Jerusalem, some of the Jewish believers criticized him.  “You entered the home of Gentiles and even ate with them!” they said.   Acts 11:2,3 (NLT)

O~ The Jewish believers were correct in what they said, Peter did enter the home of Gentiles and he did eat with them, but they didn’t know the whole story.  They didn’t know that the Holy Spirit orchestrated it all.

A~ What I learn from this is 1. People wont always know the whole story, so don’t be quick to take offense when someone criticizes me—they might just need more information. 2. Tell people the story what God has shown me.  My reaction is usually if that’s what they think, then let them…I don’t have to explain myself.  But maybe instead I can look at this as, I don’t need to explain myself, but this could be an opportunity for me to share about what God is showing me in my life. 3. Not to be quick to judge a situation without first knowing the whole story.

P~ Dear Father, please help me in this area, I tend to get quickly offended and then shut down.  But it’s in my thoughts.  What I can do is replace the thought “I don’t need to explain myself” with “this is an opportunity to share what God is showing me to do in my life.”

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

