October 18 Job 3,4; Acts 8,9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Life Just Sucks Sometimes | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Curse it for its failure to shut my mother’s womb, for letting me be born to all this trouble.  Job 3:10  (NLT)

O~ Job was sitting among friends and sharing how miserable he was.  He wished he had not been born.

A~ This reminds me just how hard life can be sometimes.  This story of Job’s life is in the bible, which tells me that God was aware and there, while he went through this.  He is aware of my life and what I go through and because Jesus came and lives in me, I can draw strength from him to face whatever life throws my way.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for giving me life, even though there were many times I have had the same thought and felt as Job did. Thank you for Jesus.  Thank you for loving me.  Thank you for going through life with me.

GO and MAKE | Kim Chipman

S~ Saul was one of the witnesses, and he agreed completely with the killing of Stephen. A great wave of persecution began that day, sweeping over the church in Jerusalem; and all the believers except the apostles were scattered through the regions of Judea and Samaria. But the believers who were scattered preached the Good News about Jesus wherever they went. Acts 8:1, 4 (NLT)

O~ This all reminds me of the verse Genesis 50:20 “You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.”

Saul, and all those persecuting Christians, intended to harm them. They killed some, specifically Stephen here, and the rest were scattered. God used that for good! Many more were reached for the gospel message because of it.

A~ I wonder if I get too comfortable in my safe circle of friends that I don’t GO enough. You ask me to GO and MAKE disciples (Matt 28:19), not SIT and MARINATE. I know I need my peeps to process life with, but do I need to be more intentional about branching out? Not staying too cozy but draw people in to the fold? Stay personally sharpened but not complacent?

I feel like part of what I struggle with here is that there are expectations at times that I cannot meet. I cannot be intimately involved with EVERYone that crosses my path. I don’t have adequate time or emotional reserve to be that to too many.

P~ Lord, show me! Show me who You need me to invest in deeply. Help me to trust You and serve You alone. I know I can’t save the world, and I don’t need to because You already did, but help me to use everything You give me to GO and MAKE disciples that you can scatter around to reach even more. Help me know HOW. I love You!

My time | Nikki Metzger

S~ When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord snatched Philip away.  The eunuch never saw him again but went on his way rejoicing. Acts 8:39 (NLT)

O~ Philip had just shared the Good News to an Ethiopian eunuch.  He believed and was baptized, and that eunuch changed a country.  Philip and the eunuch didn’t spend a lot of time together.  God needed Philip somewhere else so the Holy Spirit just took him there.

A~ Sometimes I wonder if I should be spending more time with others.  I’m really starting to believe that the work/life balance thing is a lie.

My whole entire life is Christ’s.  It’s all His, and my work is not separated from parenting is not separated from being married is not separated from going and making disciples. But sometimes I feel like I need to go and have coffee or sit with someone.  Maybe I should.  Maybe I shouldn’t.  Maybe the Holy Spirit needs to be directing me on how I should be spending my time?  I’m sure the eunuch would have LOVED to chat with Philip after he was baptized, but God needed Philip in a different  town telling others about Jesus.

But I bet Philip and the eunuch met up in heaven and had great conversation and time to talk!  Maybe same with me?  All those people I want to sit and have coffee with, it’s good stuff, but not the stuff God has planned for me.  I can catch up with them in heaven!  If I let God direct my time, the things He has for me will happen.

P~ Father, sometimes I fret about this.  Time, treasure, talent…they are Yours.  I want my time to reflect what is in my heart.  Teach me to number my days so that I may grow in Your wisdom.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Nikki, THIS is my current struggle. There are not enough hours in the day! Spirit lead me…

  2. Oh, Luisa, some days the title of your post today, is my theme. Yes, life does just suck sometimes, and thank you for being open and honest about it.

Leave a Reply

