October 14 Nehemiah 11,12; Psalms 1; Acts 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Prayer for my kids | Nikki Metzger

S~ They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do. Psalm 1:3 (NLT)

O~ This verse describes one who delights in the Word of God.  People with deep roots of faith do seem different than ones who don’t have that deeply rooted faith.

A~ I love to pray Psalm 1 over my kids.  How prayers have changed for my kids as I have changed and grown up in the Lord!  There is now nothing more that I want for them than to know and love Jesus and have intimate relationship with Him.

We have shifted into a new season in my home.  My kids are stepping into more independence, but also, different attitudes are coming out. There is more time in the bedroom, more loud music, more eye rolls, more shaking of the head in disgust at me.  Where are my energetic little kids?  They are transforming into dramatic, emotional teens right before my eyes! But I want to walk through this season of them growing into teens well, to have it bear fruit!!

P~ Father, oh my!  Pre-teens….may mine be like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Let their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.  In Jesus’ Name I pray!  Amen!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on October 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I so enjoy the perspective of the different beautiful contributors to the SOAP notes each day. They cause me to see from different views the same Word of the same God who loves us and to understand deeper using a different viewpoint.
    This morning, I was at first very disappointed to open the SOAP notes to find only one there ! What !! ?? But then as I read the notes, I realized all I needed was one. That was enough. Along with a friend, I have started a Thursday bible study at TriPoint Coffee Shop in downtown Papillion that meet, share and pray from 10 – 12:00. We meet because we have a mutual burden on our hearts for the schools, administration, all staff, safety from without and within and for our own children and grandchildren. We pray scripture and insert the names/ needs as we take turns in prayer. This scripture is all I needed to bring with me tomorrow as it reminded me that we are praying today for fruit that will come as the trees mature and grow. Our prayers are causing the roots of our children and grandchildren to grow deeper by the riverbank of God’s word for strength, nourishment, protection, direction and love. We are tending to God’s orchard of trees in praying for all children in the school system. Our prayers may even be transplanting some small sapplings from dry desert areas onto the riverbank of water they need to become who God created them to be in His world.
    One note. One scripture. Thank you, Lord, for giving me just one scripture to drink in deeply this day for in your wisdom you know that is all I need. You truly are the God that provides and I love you.
    Thank you to all the Discover One Thing contributors for your faithful, listening spirits that help to grow many hearts to understand more deeply the precious Word of God.

Leave a Reply

