October 9 Nehemiah 1,2; Psalms 133,134; Luke 22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Communication inside your head | Nikki Metzger

S~ The king asked, “Well, how can I help you?”  With a prayer to the God of Heaven, I replied… ~Nehemiah 2:4 (NLT)

O~ Did you catch that?  Nehemiah is talking to the king outworldly, but inside his head, he was talking to the God of heaven.  A second conversation is happening.

Nehemiah is terrified about speaking to the king, so he asks his Father for help.  But this wasn’t Nehemiah’s  first time praying for this request.  Days before Nehemiah made the actual request to the king, he spent days fasting and praying to the Lord.

A~ This is not a guilt question – just an observation about my discipline.  When devastating news hits, do I hit the floor in prayer and fasting before I go to outwardly resources to solve/help/assist in the problem?

P~ Father, I saw War Room, the movie about prayer.  Prayer changes things!  Grow in me a heart to pray!  I LOVE YOU!

Exchange Lies For Your Truth | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ There he told them, “Pray that you will not be overcome by temptation.”  Luke 22:40 (NLT)

O~ Temptations are going to be part of life, but Jesus reminds me here to pray to not be overcome by temptation.

A~  I have been struggling with constant chatter in my head and the conversations cause anxiety.  I’ve been catching myself and turning it to God and trusting he will give me wisdom and guidance for what’s ahead.  I can also pray what Jesus told his disciples long ago—that I will not be overcome by temptation.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for your love. For sending Jesus ❤  I pray that I would not be overcome by temptations to dwell on these thoughts but instead that I would think on what is good, what is right, honorable and praiseworthy. And that I would not be overcome by the temptation of thinking my battle is against flesh and blood, that the truth is it isn’t against flesh and blood. That you have not given me a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind.  That I can stay level-headed because you help me.

Get Up and PRAY! | Kim Chipman

S~ “Why are you sleeping?” he asked them. “Get up and pray, so that you will not give in to temptation.” Luke 22:46 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is agnoizing in the garden, praying to His Father. He is about to be arrested and He knows the suffering ahead. The disciples went with Him, but before He went off alone to pray He instructed them, “Pray that you will not give into temptation.” When Jesus returned from praying they were asleep, but again His instructions were, “get up and pray, so that you will not give in to temptation”.

A~ I have not been sleeping well lately. I’m T-I-R-E-D. I go to bed as usual, but I wake up often and by 4:30 I’m wide awake and just get up. I’m tired, but wide awake. It is so. incredibly. annoying. I was telling a good friend of mine about it and she suggested I ask You why You are getting me up. I’ve gotten away from asking why…but it seemed like an ok idea, worth a shot. I mean, I’m awake anyways.

So while I was reading this leapt off the page at me.

Why are you sleeping??

Get up and pray.

So you will not give in to temptation.

Temptation towards what? I don’t know. Anything that takes me away from You I’d guess. Temptation to sin, distraction, complacency, untruth…who knows. I know praying changes me and my heart and You’re getting me up to do it.

P~ Lord, help me! Show me! I’m tired, but if You are waking me up to pray then I’ll pray. Help me to not be distracted. I love You!

Truth is Truth | Robin Laney

S~ “If you are the Christ,” they said, “tell us.” Jesus answered, “If I tell you, you will not believe me, and if I asked you, you would not answer. But from now on, the Son of Man will be seated at the right hand of the mighty God.” Luke 22:67-69 (NIV)

O~ Jesus had been arrested the night before and the next morning was led in front of the chief priests and teachers of the law. They questioned his identity and Jesus, quite matter-of-factly, stated that his words wouldn’t make any difference to them. They would not believe him but that wouldn’t change the fact that he was the Son of God.

A~ This scene amazes me and makes me wonder if, had I been present, I too would have denied Christ. The people he stood before were learned Jews. They knew what the Scriptures told of the Messiah to come. They had heard about and maybe even seen the miracles Jesus had done. They admitted that he spoke with authority and they, themselves, were involved in the fulfillment of the very prophecies they knew by heart. Yet, they had no clue.

Here we are today and Jesus is not walking among us in human form. We have only the accounts of the Bible and the testimonies of many who have come before us and more who follow him now. How much harder is it for us to believe? Many do not or will not believe that he is the Christ, our Savior. No matter what historical evidence is shown, what amazing life change has occurred in people, or what incredible miracles happen, those who choose not to believe cannot or will not see him as the Son of God. While their unbelief or choice not to follow Jesus greatly affects both their present and their eternity, it doesn’t change Jesus’ identity, his authority, or where he is seated.

P~ Father, thank You that my eyes have been opened and my heart has trained on You. Thank You for the gift of the sacrifice of Your Son for my salvation. Lord, I pray that all those I know and love will see the full Truth of who You are and will choose to follow You with their whole hearts. I pray that the hearts of many will be softened and will come to know You well. Lord, I pray for courage and boldness in sharing the Good News with as many as I can. Lord, pour out Your Spirit in these days!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 9, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

