October 6 Esther 9,10; Luke 19

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Use It Well | Kim Chipman

S~ ‘Yes,’ the king replied, ‘and to those who use well what they are given, even more will be given. But from those who do nothing, even what little they have will be taken away. Luke 19:26 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is telling this story of a nobleman who was called away to be crowned king and then return. He gave 3 of his servants money to invest while he was gone. When he returned he checked to see what their profits were. 2 met made substantial profit. 1 man did nothing but hide it and keep it safe. He returned the money, but made no profit/gain.

A~ You have given me many things that I want to use well. Money, yes, I need to be a good steward of that. Lately I feel I’m being especially challenged to spend my TIME wisely. Time is a gift I can invest wisely or waste, just like money. I’m in a very busy season right now, and there are SO MANY “good” things I want to do! There are simply not enough hours in the day for me to do them ALL. On the heels of a number of sudden deaths of people in my world, I am reminded of how important it is to be intentional with my time. Just a few days ago a young pastor’s wife in our area, mother to 3 young children, did not wake up. Just didn’t wake up. Taken to heaven. 6 months ago today my sweetie pie nephew Parker went to heaven…he was 6 years old. Our days are not guaranteed, they are gifts…each day, each moment…gifts.

I love this quote by Erma Bombeck:

when-i-stand-before-god

This is the desire of my heart. The thing is that I don’t know when that will be. It could be today! I need to live my days with this in mind. I need to make choices to invest in eternal things. In people. In relationships – with You first, then with others.

P~ Help me to love well and draw many close to You. Really, the point of everything is a relationship with You. Thank You for helping me remember this today. Help me to do it, show me how. I love You!

 

Hang on Every Word |  Tara Wiley

S~ … all the people hung on every word (Jesus) said. Luke 18:48 NLT

… all the people were captivated by what they heard. Luke 18:48 HCSB

O~ They hung on every word. They were captivated by His teaching. Jesus spoke in such a way that people just couldn’t get enough – and they listened closely to every word.

A~ So, I love to read what Jesus said and did. I truly love the Bible from cover to cover. Every time I read it, I learn something new – about God, about myself, about the world, about the way I should think and live. But I’ll be honest: reading the gospels sometimes hurts. I’d rather skim over some of Jesus’ words and get to the stuff that’s easier to apply. It stings to read His words and realize I haven’t been acting or thinking like Him in some areas. Satan loves to let this get to me, to discourage me and fill my mind with defeatist thoughts. He comes along to steal, kill and destroy the abundant life Jesus is calling me to live (John 10:10). So I have to stand firm, take every thought captive, and remember to allow Jesus’ tender work of making me more like Him take place, not from a place of panic and guilt, but from a place of tender receptivity to His loving discipline. Every good and perfect gift comes from Him (James 1). Even the hard, convicting teachings are a gift, an invitation to a better life. I just need to surrender this stubborn heart and let Him have His way.

P~ Lord, it’s easier to hang onto every easy word You say. The ones of comfort and peace and love and grace and mercy and compassion. Then I read the hard stuff about giving until it hurts, about being diligent to fully use all the gifts You’ve given me, about refusing to make worship anything other than a place of total focus on You… and I want to turn away. My flesh says it’s easier to just give in to whatever desire comes to the surface – usually, the desires for comfort and control. But Your way is different, and it is better. So, forgive me for giving into the temptation to skim over Your words and even turn away, because I doubt Your goodness in them. I know that although my mind doesn’t say that, my actions do, when I read my Bible plan assignment but then refuse to SOAP it out because it might sting to address the areas in my life that need to change. Help me respond with a humble heart. Help me live out my life in a way that makes me more like You each day. Help me to hang onto every word and let it change my life, one choice at a time.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 6, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

