October 5 Esther 3,4,5,6,7,8; Luke 18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

If You Keep Quiet… | Kim Chipman

S~ If you keep quiet at a time like this, deliverance and relief for the Jews will arise from some other place, but you and your relatives will die. Who knows if perhaps you were made queen for just such a time as this? Esther 4:14 (NLT)

O~ Esther was queen to king Xerxes. Esther was a Jew, but king Xerxes did not know that. The king allowed a decree and plan to kill all Jews in the Persian Empire. Because Esther was the queen she had some influence and it was time – such a time as this – and she was positioned to save her people.

A~ I am here. For such a time as this. I see people all around me hurting, lost, searching, and hungry for more. They may find deliverance and relief someplace else, but I know You have called me to show people in my life the one thing that matters.

There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her. Luke 10:42 (NLT)

As I sit here today I’m having a bit of an emotional meltdown inside. My oldest son just went to homecoming, the next in line is growing up, too…and the twins are 11. ELEVEN! These are my people. I love, love, love my kids so much. I know I have to release them to make their own choices, and sometimes that is easy to do. Other days, trusting You with my kids is excruciating. I want to gather them all in and keep them in our nest. They can get hurt out there, make terrible choices…oh, how I love them! This parenting thing is not for wimps. It’s hard.

As I process this new teen/tween stage…at least process this wave of panic and fear…as I try to continually choose You and choose trust…and as I remember what You have been showing me…simplify…the goal is SIMPLE, just not easy. My ONE goal is to have my kids follow You with all their hearts. I don’t get to control or even influence every decision they make. They need to own their lives and their hearts. I am here. For such a time as this. To pour into them the importance of the one thing that really matters. Simple, just not easy. Sit at Jesus’ feet. Listen to Him. Pursue Him. Everything else will follow…

P~ Oh Lord, my heart is a mess today! Each wave of fear I’m choosing to give to You. Show me how to lead my kids to You. That is why I am here, for such a time as this, just one thing is worth being concerned about…If I keep quiet they will find a way from some other place…I love You!

Lose My Heart to You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart. Luke 18:1  (NKJV)

O~  Jesus thinks we should pray always and not lose heart.
Lose heart—despair, become discouraged.
Synonyms: abandon, be hopeless, despond, give way, lose faith, resign
Antonyms: anticipate, expect, have faith, hope, wish for

Jesus gives us what to do when we feel hopeless, discouraged or despair…prayer! When I pray, I am trusting God with it, whatever it may be.

A~ When I find myself losing heart (feeling discouraged, hopeless) I need to turn to God in prayer and trust him with it.  Trust that he will give me wisdom when I ask, trust that he is working in the situation, trust that he loves me and wants what is best for me.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for the reminder to not despair when unexpected things come up but instead to remember you’re right there with me, just a whisper away.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

