October 4 Esther 1,2; Psalms 150; Luke 17

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Increase my faith! | Nikki Metzger

S~ The apostles said to the Lord, “Show us how to increase our faith.” Luke 17:5 (NLT)

O~ Jesus just presented His disciples with something pretty difficult – forgiving someone who keeps wronging you.  Even the disciples know how difficult that is.  So they ask how to do it.  How to have enough faith to do it.

Jesus’ response to increase faith is not three easy steps, which is what I would like.  Jesus’ response is two part in how to increase faith, found in Luke 17:6-10.

The first part to increase faith is acknowledging even a teeny, tiny bit of faith can produce miracles.  So, you believe that Jesus is your Savior?  Great!  You have a bit of faith – you can move mountains!

The second part of growing faith is an attitude of humility.  Deep humility and respect for our Creator and King.

A~ When I obey God, I should say, I am an unworthy servant who has simply done my duty.  It’s true!  Jesus says.  Who am I to be a part of His Kingdom?  He picked me from the beginning of time – not for my glory, but His!

In my head, I know this, but when I obey God, I want a party.  It’s so arrogant and ugly, I know.  But does the Master thank the servant for doing what she was told to do?  No.  It’s not the way of things.  There is hierarchy in the Kingdom of God.  I am not above Jesus.

P~ Father thank You for Your Word!

Grateful Heart | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ One of them, when he saw he was healed, came back to Jesus shouting, “Praise God, I’m healed!”  He fell face down on the ground thanking him for what he had done. Luke 17:15,16 (NLT)

O~ Ten lepers cry out to Jesus for mercy and he tells them to show themselves to the priests, as they go, all were healed! Only one returns to thank Jesus and give praise to God.

A~ I need to be thankful and aware of what you do in my life.

P~ Dear Father, please keep my heart humble and tender to you.

Lose My Life | Kim Chipman

S~ If you cling to your life, you will lose it, and if you let your life go, you will save it. Luke 17:33 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is talking about when He will return again.

A~ I’ve often thought about what this looks like…to lose my life, or cling to it. Jesus is talking about life being ‘business as usual’ up until the moment He comes. There won’t be time to tidy my life up quick.

Recently there have been a number of people I know – or friends of friends – that have died suddenly. I mean SUDDENLY. ‘Business as usual’ right up until the moment they were gone. No time to get their affairs in order. Here one moment and gone the next without any warning whatsoever. Totally unexpected and shocking.

This makes me take my life and my days much more seriously. I feel like this verse is telling me to live my life for You. Every day, every moment. For You. If I pursue personal pleasure or gain or fame I am going to miss the point. When You are coming back or taking me home I never know. So today…do I take each thought captive?…do I love when it is really hard?…do I forgive when they don’t deserve it and release the situation in trust?…am I willing to have my schedule interrupted (with a trusting attitude)?…am I choosing to trust You with my kids (ugh! so HARD!)…am I choosing to think on truth when my emotions are a hot MESS?

P~ Lord, help me to live intentionally, not taking ANYthing for granted, living and loving like You, not looking back but pressing forward to the very end. Even when my feelings are screaming lies. Help me to choose truth that is hidden in my heart. For Your glory. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on October 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

