October 3 Ezra 5,6; Psalm 138; Luke 16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Special scripture on my heart today: Being His Hands and Feet | Joni Tyner

S~ “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,

for he has anointed me to bring Good News to the poor.

He has sent me to proclaim that captives will be released,

that the blind will see,

that the oppressed will be set free,

And the time of the LORD’s favor has come.  Luke 4:18-19 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking to a crowd in the synagogue in his hometown village of Nazareth.  He was quoting Isaiah 61:1.

A~ I am in the process of preparing my heart for my first mission trip on October 3 that will provide medical and surgical care to the poorest people of the Dominican Republic. I am traveling with a team of approximately 30 doctors, nurses, and miscellaneous medical support volunteers from Boys Town Hospital as well as other local hospitals.  As I have been reflecting about this opportunity, I felt led to share a few thoughts about my heart’s journey to saying “yes” to this trip.

First off, I love Jesus and I want others to know Him like I do!.  This includes people in my circle of influence as well as strangers I have yet to meet.  I will have many opportunities to build relationships with the other medical staff as we share the common bond of helping the people of the Dominican Republic. I will have opportunities to pray and interact with our pediatric patients and their parents.

Second, I believe God has gifted me with the purpose of using my gifts of compassion and loving others through the occupation of being a nurse.  He is why I am good at being a nurse;  Iwant to be available and use my gifts to serve others.

Lastly, there is a great need in the Dominican Republic for medical care.  God has laid on my heart to make a tangible difference in people’s lives and I feel like this a way to do just that! People will not ever know Jesus is someone doesn’t go!!!  I feel so honored and blessed to finally be on the front lines of the mission field.

I’m really excited about this opportunity!  I would like to ask readers, who are led, to pray for me the week of Oct 3-10th.  Specifically, pray that I am receptive to the opportunities before me as I build relationships and have opportunities to share my faith with others.  I would also appreciate prayer that the work we do makes a difference in every single person’s life.  As a medical team we desire wisdom and strength to endure the challenges that come with doing surgery in a 3rd world country.  Thank you for allowing me to share this exciting opportunity, I look forward to writing a journal entry when I get back!! ~J

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for this opportunity that I have been given.  I pray that You guide my words and actions.  I desire to be a strong reflection of You, that other’s would see there is intentional purpose to my joy.  I love You and seek to give You glory.

In the Midst of Trouble | Kelley Deases

S~  When I called, you answered me; you made me bold and stouthearted. … Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life; … Psalm 138:3,7a (NIV)

O~ I have been called strong.  To my parents, I am the confident and over-achieving firstborn.  To my husband, I am able to keep the household, the meals, the schedule, and the finances running with ease.  To my kids, I am up to the task, whether that is homework help, late-night fevers (isn’t that when it always happens?), skinned knees, or broken hearts.  To my girlfriends, I am the social butterfly who is comfortable in my own skin.  So often, though, in the quiet and the dark, I don’t feel strong at all.  Some days I feel ill-equipped just to make it through the day.

David’s heartcry in Psalm 138 reminds me I don’t have to be strong because God is.  When I call, He meets me and assures me, “There, there, my beloved.  You do not have to have it all together. Just go in the direction I am going.  I will give you what you need to accomplish what I have called you to do.”  He will make me bold and stouthearted (defined as “brave and resolute; dauntless”).

A~  The last couple days have weighed heavy.  As David put it, “I walk in the midst of trouble.”  Friends of ours, a family, is experiencing wave upon wave of chaos and pain.  Last night, as prayer partner at kids’ church, I actually had kids lining up to share their heart hurts.  And by the end of the evening, my heart hurt, too.  Also my husband is sick, which puts a little more weight on my shoulders with all we have going on right now.  But I observe, along with David, that the Lord has preserved my life.  So as long as I am still on this side of heaven, there is more for me to do and to endure.  More aptly, there is more He can do through me when I offer up a willing heart.

P~ Abba Father, You know better than me how this world can be a hard, harsh place.  Jesus endured infinitely worse than my worst day.  But just as You had a purpose and a plan behind Your Son’s suffering, I believe You can use mine.  If my heart remains tender and raw, if I acknowledge how weak and powerless I really am, You can use me even as I walk in the midst of trouble.

Peach Preserves | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Though I am surrounded by troubles, you will preserve me against the anger of my enemies.  You will clench your fists against my angry enemies!  Your power will save me.  Psalms 138:7 (NLT)

O~ God is fighting for me and against my enemies.  He preserves me.

A~ I had been stressing over a conversation I needed to have with a person about things I would not be able to do anymore for them. I had been feeling led to be honest with what I was no longer willing and able to do. It was much easier to do what the person needed or wanted, and then they would not be angry.  I was not looking forward to the conversation, did not want to face conflict. After much prayer, hesitation, worries, losing sleep and more prayer and guidance, I went forward, and was honest.  The person did get upset and became irrational.  I was able to remain calm but firm with what I was able to do (you preserved me like a peach in that conversation).  The person did call later and without apologies, accepted what I had said.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for helping me through this tough situation.  Thank you for your guidance and wisdom.  Thank you for the courage to say what I needed to say.  Thank you for the sleep that has returned to me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Joni! We love you so much! Prayers as you do His work!

Leave a Reply

