September 30 Zechariah 7,8,9; Luke 13

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Coming King!! | Joni Tyner

S~ Rejoice, O people of Zion!

Shout in triumph, o people of Jerusalem!

Look, your king is coming to you.

He is righteous and victorious,

Yet he is humble, riding on a donkey—riding on

A donkey’s colt.  Zechariah 9:9  (NLT)

O~ This scripture is predicting the triumph entry of Jesus into Jerusalem—more than 500 years before it happened!

A~ This scripture wows me.  It gives validity to the Bible.  I can be assured that God will fulfill His promises.  Just as the scripture was fulfilled and actually happened, so will other events, including the second coming of Christ.  I can TRUST the Bible.  I may not know the exact time table about events that are yet to happen, but if God says it in His word, I can believe it to be true.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for this passage that helps me see that You have a perfect plan—that you are trustworthy. Thank you for coming and choosing me.

Produce Fruit | Kim Chipman

S~ The gardener answered, ‘Sir, give it one more chance. Leave it another year, and I’ll give it special attention and plenty of fertilizer. Luke 13:8 (NLT)

O~ The Parable of the Barren Fig Tree…Jesus is telling this story. A man had planted a fig tree but it wasn’t producing fruit so he told his gardener to cut it down. The gardener wanted to give it some TLC and another chance. I’m a little uncertain about what the cutting down is about, and this is one parable that you don’t explain for us. It even seems a little unfinished. Does the tree produce fruit? Does the man allow the gardener to leave it and give it special attention? We don’t know…

A~ I have 2 different things come to mind here.

  1. There are things I pour myself into that don’t always produce fruit. Either not enough fruit, not any fruit, or not quickly enough. I think of ministry, of my kids, of people, of relationships…people mainly. Sometimes things with people takes an awfully long time to be fruitful. Perhaps those people/relationships need a little special attention and fertilizer? Prayer perhaps? Patience? Grace?
  2. I am a fig tree. I can’t produce fruit if I don’t take care of myself. All of us as believers are fruit trees actually – all trees capable of producing fruit. Your Word is like our fertilizer to produce fruit! The fruit of Your Spirit! I don’t want to be a barren tree, I want to produce fruit for You, not just take up space in the garden.

The take away for me today is that to produce fruit in my life and in my relationships I need to care for them…special attention and plenty of fertilizer. Your Word and prayer are essential for my soul to be healthy and my life to produce the fruit of Your Spirit.

P~ I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

